We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price”
Review of Hotel Chirripo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Isidro del General
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chirripo
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is pretty basic, but a good value for the price. Different sized rooms are available with or without bathroom. I stayed in a double with bathroom in the hallway. Decent size room, with a cable TV, and the bathrooms were pretty clean. Nothing luxurious, but a good getaway if you live in rural Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcross01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay for the budget traveler on their way to or from anywhere in Southern Costa Rica. Hotel Chirripo is centrally located near shops and services in San Isidro, bus station, and roads out of town. However, it was surprisingly quiet as it is set off the street and in a solid building. The staff went out of their way to provide helpful tourist information. The restaurant downstairs is nice and the breakfast buffet is very generous. I have stated there on three different trips and would do so again.

Room Tip: Show up early in the day so there is more selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived in Perez Zeledon without any place to stay, not knowing anything of the city. Our decision was finally made, as we saw that on of the probably best located hotels in town fitted perfectly to our small budget: 13500 colones for the cheapest twin, which made about 27 dollars for two. The hotel has everything you need, it's very clean, wifi is fast enough for skyping and they have a restaurant downstairs that serves brilliant comida típica.

As the Hotel Chirripó appeared quite basic in the beginning, it turned out to be a special place though, just because of the staff working there. The receptionist helped us heaps organizing a fascinating trip to the Cerro Chirripó, which definitely wouldn't have happened without his help; they gave us loads of travel advice and made possible a unique view into tico lifestyle. At the end of our stay, we felt like home. There's probably just one answer on the friendliness of that hotel's staff: ¡Pura vida!

I strongly recommend that place!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, and I'm glad I did. I chose a private room with shared bathrooms. The room, bathrooms, and whole hotel are all very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. I will pop in here again if my travels take me through San Isidro!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lybsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Recently in Perez Zeledon on business, I chose this hotel because of it's excellent location (faces the Parque Central) and Gated Parking with Security Cameras. The entrance is a little hidden and reception is down a hall, behind window barrier. I was offered my choice of two rooms--one small, clean and neat with a fan, the other larger with A/C and three beds--but kind of weird back corridor location..so I chose the smaller room just off the lobby.. The fan was enough to make the room comfortable and I slept well. The Staff was very accommodating and offered to give me a coupon for my breakfast at a nearby restaurant. The Hotel Chirripo Restaurant is going through a complete remodel and will be out of commission for a period of time. This wasn't convenient, but I enjoyed exploring the downtown area for a breakfast alternative. See Kafe de la Casa. If you want basic, inexpensive accommodations in the middle of town, this is the place!

Room Tip: I asked to see the different room types and was promptly and enthusiastically given a tour of the av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Right on the central parque, Hotel Chirripo has freiendly and helpful staff, bright and spotless rooms, with large bathrooms, some with balconies. Sheets are pure white cotton, crisply ironed, pillows are soft. I only wished that the town was more intersting, so that I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but those at the front have balconies, and the street noise quietens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Slept here 1 night. The hotel is located in the (not so pretty) center of San Isidro, very close to the bus station.

I took the renovated room without airco and with private bath. The room was really nice and clean. It was very welcome after spend some days in shared bathrooms and dorms.

The people were very nice and spoke english very well.

Room Tip: I stayed in the renovated room with private bath and fan, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda188632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Isidro del General hotels
0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#6 of 6 in San Isidro del General
63 reviews
46.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zima
Best Western Hotel Zima
#3 of 6 in San Isidro del General
60 reviews
53.2 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 mi away
La Princesa Hotel
La Princesa Hotel
#3 of 15 in San Isidro del General
33 reviews
26.5 mi away
Mirador Valle del General
Mirador Valle del General
#1 of 11 in San Isidro del General
44 reviews
47.2 mi away
Bosque del Tolomuco
Bosque del Tolomuco
#1 of 15 in San Isidro del General
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chirripo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chirripo

Address: On Calle 1, between Avenida 2 and 4, faces Parque Central, San Isidro del General, San Isidro del General District, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Perez Zeledon > San Isidro del General District > San Isidro del General
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in San Isidro del General
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Hotel Chirripo Costa Rica/San Isidro Del General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing