We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chirripo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Isidro de El General
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chirripo
Llanarmon DC, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The staff at Hotel Chirripo is helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms are well looked after and clean. The hotel is now in the process of remodeling and the rooms look fabulous!
The city of San Isidro is a great place to stop over before heading for Costa Rica's Pacific coast, the Dominical area or when wanting to climb the highest peak in Central America. On Thursday mornings there is a large, colorful farmer's market in San Isidro and it is a good place to talk to locals and international residents. Costa Rican's are certainly wonderful people!

Mary Lou
USA

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
1
10
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were a bit wary about staying here after reading other reviews, but were very pleasantly surprised. Our private room was small but very clean and looked as though it had been refurbished recently: the bathroom was equally clean and the shower was safe (a rarity in Costa Rica!). It's also very central - the bus station is a 2 minute walk away, which was very useful for our early start - and there are loads of restaurants and cheap eats within a minute of the hotel. Highyl recommended for overnight stays.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in San Isidro and found the Hotel Chirripo to be excellent value for money - it was clean, comfortable and the staff were so super friendly and helpful - I was made to feel very welcome. I requested a quiet room and that is what I was given, although the hotel was pretty quiet throughout anyway even though it is in the centre of town - it was Also it was great to have the chance to brew a fresh cup of coffee in the coffee maker in my room in the morning! Although I'm not sure if every room has that facility....
If you are looking for somewhere simple to spend a night or two that is very handy for the centre of town and has very friendly and helpful staff and a price that won't break the bank then I can really recommend Hotel Chirripo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Arrived by bus and was shown to the hotel by a fellow traveler who asked why I chose it. I said I heard it's clean and cheap. It is. In that respect it was fine . A private room with multiple baths down the hall was $14. The bed was a queen and ok, ceiling fan , tv, internet. Loud yelling late at night by Ticos staying here. Same at 5 in the morning. Normal for these people who have little if any manners. The restaurant was moderately priced toward the lower side of the scale. The food was ok but unimaginative. The place is a hangout for expats, many of whom represent the "Ugly American" image perfectly. An atractve lady chatted me up and was procuring clients of a sordid nature for her niece. I was cautioned not to go into the park after dark and to watch for pickpockets at the bus station by people at the restaurant. Also was told the town is overun with Columbian drug types and thieves of every variety and very dangerous at night. Witnessed an altercation in front of the outside dining room requiring police intervention and threats of violence. Will never go back to the hotel, which is in the center of town across from the park and should be a good location in most towns.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Isidro de El General hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stumbled into town without a place to stay. Not finding any hostels, I decided to pay for a room. I was delighted that they had a room for $14 with a shared bath. I just paid the same at costa rica backpackers in san jose and was elated to get a private room with a fan and cable tv!! The front desk was very nice and gave me advise on my next stop.. Location is unbeatable as u are right on the main plaza and evrrything is very close. Come to this town if u are looking to see what real tico life is all about, minus the tourists.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondenathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Good location , quiet, wifi, no h2o . Get in,get out. We found the hotel zima nearby with all the amenities including a pool,and river behind property. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cost a little more but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaynKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Paid about 18$ for a single room, with a/c, cable tv, wireless internet and private bathroom. (shared bathroom would be 12$). The hotel is located at the central square, and the bar/restaurant which belongs to the hotel is a local exapt hangout. The room was basic but clean, and the value for that price is probably unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JensHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro de El General
46.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zima
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zima
#4 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#7 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
45.7 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#2 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.0 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chirripo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chirripo

Property: Hotel Chirripo
Address: On Calle 1, between Avenida 2 and 4, faces Parque Central, San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Isidro de El General
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in San Isidro de El General
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Hotel Chirripo Costa Rica/San Isidro De El General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing