We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, beautiful view, superior staff - a real gem!”
Review of La Princesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Princesa Hotel
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here only one night on our way south. We wished we could have stayed longer after arriving. The most notable aspect of this hotel is how clean it is. Not a spot of dirt anywhere to be found. The owner is wonderful and very friendly. The room was very large and had a great view of the valley. There were lots of birds to look at in the garden. The bed was comfortable and the shower was large and excellent. There was a dining table in the room where we ate take-out. There were comfortable chairs on the balcony to watch the sunset. The decor is a bit sparse, but it was so clean I could hardly call this a fault. It's just a few minutes up the hill from San Isidro and it's definitely worth the short trip. There is some road noise, but it quieted down at night. Although it had wifi, we forgot to get the password, so we really couldn't test it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftravmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

PROS:
Rooms and grounds were immaculate
Large room
Great shower
Comfortable bed
Very good view

CONS:
Located next to major road - lots of trucks with compression brakes go by - very loud
Decor in room iffy
Table needed replacement

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumowondertoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I were so happy to find this little gem in San Isidro, finally getting away from all the touristy beach stuff and inflated prices of the Osa Peninsula.
Billy, the owner has an immaculatly clean and comfortable room with a great view of the San Isidro Valley. His place also overlooks his gardens that have many birds to include some Toucans. The only negative is the truck noise from the hiway below but the price is right and so is the view.
What is alo great is that if we want to head to the beach, it is about a 40 minute drive over the mountain, which is a great drive and very scenic if you don't want to stay at Dominical. Or head the other way further into the mountains for more great views and bird wathcing. san Isidro is a great little town to check out as well.
Thanks Billy! We'll be back

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We spent a total of 6 weeks in Costa Rica and La Princessa was the best place we stayed at (we stayed mid level or budget places). Billy and his as well as his daughter were extremely helpful and accommodating. For example, his daughter called some of her friends to find out if the Fudebiol reserve was worth visiting (it was) . The setting is gorgeous with a lovely view over San Isidro - you can see the main square and church from the rooms. I liked to sit outside in the mornings because you can see a family of 6 toucans fly across the yard, as well as parrots and lots of other birds. Billy would brew coffee in the morning for all the guests which was a nice bonus. The only bad thing is that you can hear the road noise, but thankfully there isn't much of that at night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomaszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La número 4, o cualquiera en el segundo piso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank WALTER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vistas increibles desde el interior de la habitación
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cvjameos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro del General
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zima
Best Western Hotel Zima
#3 of 6 in San Isidro del General
60 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#6 of 6 in San Isidro del General
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
PZ Country Club Hotel & Spa
PZ Country Club Hotel & Spa
#9 of 15 in San Isidro del General
1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lucky's Hotel y Casino
Lucky's Hotel y Casino
#2 of 11 in San Isidro del General
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Princesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Princesa Hotel

Address: San Rafael Norte, San Isidro del General, San Isidro del General District, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Perez Zeledon > San Isidro del General District > San Isidro del General
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro del General
Price Range: $60 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Princesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Princesa Hotel Costa Rica/San Isidro Del General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing