We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$499
$374
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosque del Tolomuco(San Isidro del General)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thunderbird Hotel(San Isidro del General)
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador Valle del General(San Isidro del General)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Princesa Hotel(San Isidro del General)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
9
11
22
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
11
22
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushi menugreat poolhot tubthe main highwayone nightgymmountains
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 66 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We exchanged through RCI - the only resort available in Costa Rica at the time. The welcome and service from the staff was excellent and the RCI representative was very helpful and informative (although prices had increased from what he said at a couple of attractions).
The rooms were very clean with two double beds and the bathroom was very modern with plenty of hot water - not always in Costa Rica!
We enjoyed a morning by the pool and it was interesting to see the local families enjoying the facilities. My husband even used the gym.
The restaurant was really excellent and we didn't bother eating anywhere else at night. The milkshakes by the pool are great too.
We loved the journey to the Pacific coast - passing through tiny communities and the rain forest. Ok the road does have a lot of bends but you are crossing the mountains! The scenery is absolutely spectacular.
The only downside was the noise of traffic from the road - it wasn't terrible, you got used to it - but I am sure if they fitted double glazing you wouldn't hear it at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We used an RCI exchange for this hotel. Definitely not a 4 star by Time Share standards BUT, the staff was great. Rooms were very clean with A/C and fridge. The restaurant was excellent with two menus every night.. Right in the middle of town about 3 hours south of San Juan airport. Great hub to do all your excursions from. Juan Biso from RCI really helped us with our activities and he was right on on every one of them. Free WIFI

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wineeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel was a great place for us to spend our honeymoon. Its close to so many attractions and the staff was so nice. The food was so good that we didnt want to eat anywhere else. Our host, Juan Bisso from RCI was awesome. He arranged for our personal transportation to and from the airport with a guide. The drive is about 3 hours and it was really a pleasure to be schooled about the country on that long drive. The guide even stopped at a local restaurant and had lunch with us, it was great. Mr. Bisso set up all of our places to venture with our own vehicle. We really liked that means of transportation because we were in control of our own time. Our hotel room was clean and we felt safe there. We are planning another trip in 2012 with our children and we are going to stay again at Hotel del sur. Reviews can be givin by many sorts of people, but if your normal americans like us, you`ll love this hotel. Sincerely, Loren & Leah Witsoe.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Loren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I booked this hotel from RCI as a Wydham owner, but I realized I made a mistake after the front desk staff told me it only costs about $70 US a night to stay there! Oh well...

Before our trip, there were only 4 reviews of this hotel, and 3 were not positive. We were pleasantly surprised. My husband and I visited Costa Rica for 8 days and we stayed in this hotel 4 nights out of the 8, since we traveled all over the country.

The Pros:
-Excellent and tasty food at the restaurant (we did not try the sushi, but everything else was excellent, including the cocktails, you must try their Pina Coladas!
-Though we didn't swim in the pool, it is a large pool and well maintained.
-The property is not located in a tourist area and so we observed many locals attend meetings there and use the gym, casino, other facilities.
-The hotel is well maintained, and clean and our rooms were also very clean, albeit the tiny ants in the bathroom, but they can't be helped.
-While I'm on the ant subject, do not drop any food crumbs on the floor, table, or else they will be all over it!!!
-had I known they had a newer wing, I would have requested it, so make sure you do.
- we stayed in room #220 overlooking the courtyard. A/c worked just fine.
- the only night we heard noice was Thursday night, Karaoke night, but we were so exhausted from our travels, they didn't bother us. The noise wasn't too loud anyway.
-Everyone was very nice to us, and spoke English! and Juan (the RCI guy) didnt try to sell us anything, which we appreciated!!
-General location is near gas stations, lots of local places to eat, do make sure you stop by a local panaderia and get some sweet bread con queso in the middle! Yummy!

Cons:
-The rooms,furniture, definitely need updating, but the beds, linens were comfortable. The pillows not so much, but we made do.
-The bathroom is definitely in need of updating, I'd say that was the worst part of the room, there was mold on the ceiling, and our toilet did clog once, but they fixed it right away, so no major plumbing problems.
-The lighting around the property is also not the best. Not very much lighting in, around the pool, public areas...
-Lighting in the room also not the best.

Overall, I'd say we had a nice time in the hotel, we ate dinner a couple times, and had breakfast once in their restaurant, which is def. worth trying. I will say that if you are an RCI member, or Wydham owner, it is not worth it to do an exchange, better off paying cash. It's affordable. Save your points for a nicer property!

Room Tip: Wish we had known, ask for the newer wing.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank geminiinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hotel del Sur is a large hotel on the PanAm highway. It has a great pool --the largest we saw of any hotel pool and it's well-maintained. It's also well-used as the complex also includes a country club for local people which provides some interesting people-watching.

Our room was in the newer wing and was clean, modern and well-designed. Very comfortable beds and sheets. We were on the end of a wing so had a very quiet view over a rear yard. Other rooms overlook a courtyard and might be noisier. It was only noisy one night for us when there was an outdoor karoake party by the pool but staff had offered to move us earlier that day in anticipation of the noise and it was our choice to stay put and hum along.

The service was consistently excellent and several staff spoke English well.

The restaurant is good and we ventured to try the Japanese menu there one night which was very good, albeit unusual!

The parking is on-site with a large parking lot with 24 hour security.

Room Tip: try to get room in new wing
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chicasperditatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews