We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly lake Arenal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
Ranked #1 of 7 Tilaran B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014

While the hotel itself might not be in the best of its shape, their friendly and helpful staff will make you feel very welcomed.
The own a nice brewer machine where they experiment with good and fresh flavors taken from their own orchard.
There is a 6ft pool with a spa adjacent to it, where they also offer massages. A skatepark (dont know why yet) and obviously the activities of the season in the lake (windsurf, standup paddle, etc)
Close by town offer the best of fresh fruits and art craft.
PS: I do recommend a very local and humble "soda" called La Macha...best local typical food I have tasted...after my mom`s that is. It is 10 min away from the hotel, towards nuevo arenal

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the lake, just a couple of bucks more
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxCvMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel here, but we did make it a point to make a stop here for some beer tasting and to take in the view of Lake Arenal. We were treated to delicious IPA and pale ale, which we spoiled Americans were elated to find in a land of light beer. The offerings aren't expansive as far as the house brewed beer is concerned, but they were all excellent. Food is served here as well, though we didn't stop long enough for a meal as we were initially distracted by and had to visit the obscure skate park that sits on the hill above the hotel/brewery. If you're looking for a beer related souvenir from CR that isn't Imperial, the brewery sells shirts for purchase.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

From the moment we got there, JP, the owner, was warm and welcoming and invited us to the bar. We sampled their beers from their brewery, a delicious pale ale and a brown ale. We have quite a few! Dinner was delicious with food and veggies all fresh from their farm. There was live music to enjoy in the early evening, and a great overall vibe.

The rooms were decent. Water temp is a little screwy at times and the WiFi didn't work great in our room.

Room Tip: Closer to the bar area might have better Wifi, not sure. We didn't ask as we only stayed one nig...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRimaJomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lake Arenal Hotel has great vibes. I found this place by happenstance as I was on my way to do some volunteer work in Costa Rica and liked it so much I decided to return. As you walk through the downstairs entrance, you walk by the brewing vats and a foosball table. Making your way up the stairs, there is a pool table and bar with friendly bi-lingual staff. During our stay, there were also a couple people playing acoustic guitar in a chill out common area near the bar. We both ordered the eggplant dish and thought it was excellent. The view over the lake is gorgeous. They offer two types of beer; a pale ale and a nut brown and are happy to let you sample both. There is talk of a seasonal beer but there was no seasonal tapped during our stay. I typically go for the pale ales; However, in my opinion the nut brown is the better of the two. The room was clean and spacious. There was a view overlooking the garden outside the room. We would definitely recommend staying at Lake Arenal Hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cody954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

perfect spot for relaxing. incredible view. very nice and funny staff. the location and the complex are absolutely perfect. the rooms are ok. food ok. not very rich breakfast. i highly recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: lake view worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheSebastiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

One of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed. Unbelievably friendly staff who treat their guests like family. Amazing windsurfing available through Tom, a great instructor who knows the lake as well as anyone. My friend and I were supposed to just be passing through but ended up staying for 10 days. Plenty of activities available throughout the day followed by delicious food and beer with a great view of the lake and a much more pleasant temperature than the coast. Do not miss this hidden gem, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We found this lovely place by accident, stayed for a meal and a chat, and returned for a stay 3 days later. It is simply lovely, the kind of place you want to go back to. The rooms are well, roomy, the water steaming, the pool and views wonderful, but the hosts and the ambiance are stupendous! Great visit!

Room Tip: the lake view rooms with hammocks are wonderful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meredithonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilaran
12.9 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
808 reviews
19.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,469 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel La Pacifica
Hotel La Pacifica
#1 of 3 in Canas
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 13 in Nuevo Arenal
83 reviews
16.8 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,500 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
#3 of 7 in Tilaran
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery

Address: Km. 30, Route 142, 8 km from Tilaran to Nuevo Arenal. | PO Box: 92-5710, Tilaran 5710, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lago Arenal & Microcervecería)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tilaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tilaran
Price Range: $33 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is the crown jewel of a 15-acre organic farm and world-renowned green-energy education center in Northern Costa Rica. With dramatic red-ochre pillars and colorful walls adorned with hand-painted frescos, the 21-room hotel overlooks hundreds of acres of Costa Rica's protected jungle and the rainbow shores of beautiful Lake Arenal. Our closest neighbors are toucans and parrots, howler monkeys, sloths, armadillos and occasionally, wild cats such as the Puma Jaguarondi. Also home to Costa Rica's first microbrewery, Lake Arenal Hotel serves farm-fresh food at its on-site restaurant, La Huerta, with an international menu. Come enjoy the relaxed ambience, delicious food and what many of our customers say is the "best beer in Costa Rica" produced on-site by Lake Arenal Brewery. A tennis court, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fully-equipped classroom are just some of the hotel's amenities. Two flat-screen TVs in the bar/restaurant and free high-speed wifi throughout the facilities make your stay at Lake Arenal Hotel modern and comfortable. Just one-and-a-half hours from Liberia Airport and three hours from the San Jose Airport, Lake Arenal Hotel offers a wide variety of on-site activities and day-tours, including waterfall hikes, horseback riding, sailing trips, kite-boarding lessons, river rafting, zip-lining, rappelling and day-trips to the nearby volcanoes and hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery Costa Rica/Tilaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing