We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and Great Host”
Review of Monte Terras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Terras
Ranked #2 of 7 Tilaran B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2014

this was a gem. the views were great and it was accessible to the prime tourist locations within 1.5 hours. Kees is a welcoming host and served excellent Breakfasts. the dinner cooked by Kees and Griselda for a small fee was great. Kees gives excellent tips and also invited me to have a beer at his place. we arrived on christmas eve and Kees was kind to invite us to the party.
the Garden is lovely and is full of all kinds of birds including the Tucans. I would go anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijaygOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 39 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Kee's and Griselda have created a special little place here on lake arenal. The view is amazing and the service excellent. Kee's made cook to order breakfasts and the view while dinning in the "rancho" is awesome.

The location made it easy to go around the lake to hot springs and the volcano and close enough to make a day trip to the beach. Kee's provided dinner and tourist recommendations which were spot on.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank spatially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kees_voogd, Owner at Monte Terras, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our B&B. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Pure vida, Kees and Griselda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The owner Kees Voogd and his wife were a very pleasant surprise as we ran across their location. Kees could not be any more welcoming and the view of lake Arenal was amazing. Monte Terra's has four cabins in a bed and breakfast setup that fit our needs perfectly. If you are visiting the Arenal area of central Costa Rica you should stop and visit the Voogd's.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrtully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Monte Terras was a huge surprise for being such value for money. The accommodation was great: the food and service was excellent: and the views were even better. Being a part of a 14 man (and women) trekking group, the gardens and the general welcome by Kees (the owner) and his three dogs could not have been better. After a long journey through the jungles, and up the volcanoes of Nicaragua, Monte Terras defiantly came in as our paradise haven; even for the short time we were there. We all would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling near to Tilaran; or like us heading to La Fortuna, be it camping, or as a little one night B&B; what a place indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timjwlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle verblijven hebben zicht op de tuin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wim694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frankvandeven2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rafavillegas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tilaran hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
#3 of 7 in Tilaran
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliconia Hall
Heliconia Hall
#5 of 7 in Tilaran
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Terras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Terras

Address: Mtrs Past the College Of Tronadora 300, Tilaran 50801, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tilaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tilaran
Price Range: $67 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monte Terras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Terras Costa Rica/Tilaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing