We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and beautiful adventure!!!!”

Viento Fresco Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Cool Breeze Waterfall Tour
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tilaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Admire the strong of the nature and explore five beutiful waterfalls in the middle of the forest sunrounded by vegetation and different animals. Enjoy one hour walking in the forest with a nice view to Nicoya Gulf, Cerro San José and Cerro Pelado.The names of the waterfalls are as follow: Serena River (102 fts, Hidden (66 fts and 2 caves, Rainbow (247 fts, Slide (312 fts, The Rock (49,21 fts).
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional and beautiful adventure!!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I chose to visit four of the five waterfalls and enjoyed every minute. It started out with a nature hike on trails through the mountains and forests admiring the different animals, insects, and plants Costa Rica has to offer. At each waterfall, our guide took pictures (as well as the horseback ride) and the last waterfall, we took a refreshing dip in the lagoon. After our dip in the last waterfall, horses were waiting to take us back to the restaurant for lunch. The lunch was phenomenal and plentiful by the way!!! The guide, horses, and the dog, "Palamo", were all very helpful and entertaining. We stayed in Playa Flamingo which was about 2 1/2 hours away, but his trip was well worth the ride. Tip, having 4WD will help the drive be less treacherous. Once you are closer to the site, the roads are unpaved and very rocky.

Thomas

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    13
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing! Adventure of a lifetime!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were lucky enough to hear about Viento Frescos after speaking with a local at the only micro-brewery in Costa Rica. Viento Frecos is breathtakingly beautiful! I have never been lucky enough to see anything like it! We went on a guided tour just me, my boyfriend and Orlando our guide---and his dog Paloma! The steep hike down to the first 3 waterfalls is absolutely worth it! We were blown away with the beauty and power of nature. Orlando was an amazing guide taking time to point out flora and fauna to us as we hiked down the side of the mountain. We saw the Resurrection Flower, learned about ficus trees, saw frogs and snakes and the coolest adaptation from leaf cutter ants all because he took the time to show us these things. And then we got to the third of 5 waterfalls--Rainbow. A 75 meter beauty that spills into a lagoon for swimming. Orlando took the time to take our camera and get pics of the 2 of us that we never would have gotten had it not been for Orlando!!!!

Then, after a short break for mountain spring water, we got back on our feet---me in my flip flops since my tennis shoes were stollen our first day in the country!---to "The Slide." This was my favorite fall. The hike did seem a bit more treacherous than the first 3 but so worth the effort. The view absolutely took my breath away, and so do the photos!

We then trekked back to the lagoon and went for a dip while Orlando worked his camera magic and got several pics of us swimming in the lagoon, and waving to the camera while in the fall itself! This was an adventure of a lifetime. Thank you Alex at the micro brewery for telling us all about this fabulous place, and an even more special thank you to Orlando. You made a wonderful sightseeing trip into the adventur of a lifetime that we will not soon forget!

We opted to ride horseback to the top, which since it began raining as soon as we mounted our horses I could tell then and there was the best decision we made! We would still be there in Viento Frescos if we tried to hike back up!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hike was just right, the staff was very helpful, and the view was gorgeous!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gisela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Well worth the visit. All the falls are beautiful and different, and there is lots of wildlife. The road in is suitable for 4WD only, and the trail is all downhill (uphill coming back). Trail and entire site is very well maintained, but due to steepness not suitable for the infirm. Safe for children, but very young may get tired on the way back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkandIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny2001
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, but you must have 4 wheel drive”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We ate at their road side restaurant before going down into this private park. Good typical cheap road side food. These waterfalls require a hike down a steep but safe trail, there are some seats for rest stops on the way. We only hiked to the first 3 falls, all are beautiful. The third falls was the best, you can get into the water and walk right up to the cascading water, it actually has a sand floor so easy to do! The water is falling far to hard to get into the actual cascade, the wind that blows towards you from the crashing water warns you of the danger. Nice grassy area to sit on and picnic or enjoy the falls at the thirf falls. Well worth the hike down, the drive into the parking is hairing raising! Decent parking at the end of the road. Could be impossible in the rainy season! A great stop on the way from Arenal, La Fortuna to Monte Verde if you are rounding Lake Arenal, bad roads in the area, but by this time you are used to the bumpy stuff!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fanny2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viento Fresco Waterfall also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Viento Fresco Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing