We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Patan (Lalitpur)
from $260.00
More Info
from $58.80
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
7
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7
10
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018

This is one of the Durbar Square temples that was somewhat damaged, though not terribly compared to others. Like all the old temples here, it's a beautiful temple.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

During my exploration of Patan Durbar Square, I had the opportunity to visit Taleju Mandir Temple. This was a real highlight during my time in Patan. Upon walking through the gate leading to the courtyard, I was taken back into time with the sight of the gilded shrine in the middle of the courtyard. The shrine was well maintained with great detail. Even more ornate were the doorway and arches at the Temple. As I looked closer at the center arch/doorway, I saw something hanging from the arch and spatters of something against the nearby wall. I was informed that entrails from a water buffalo were hanging from the arch as part of a sacrifice. The spatters were blood from the same water buffalo.

A part of the Taleju Mandir Temple complex was the Sundari Cok. This was a smaller courtyard, the centerpiece of which was a inground pool type area that was circled by ornate carvings with a very detailed gilded statue in the front center of the “pool.’ It was inspiring to see how well much of this temple, including Sundari Cok withstood the impact of the 2015 earthquake.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jonahNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Temple is located within the courtyard of the durbar square. Partly damaged by earthquake. Doors were not open when we visited.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank nik_0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017

The second Taleju Temple within the valley is located in the center courtyard of Patan Durbar Square which is culturally important among newari community.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Smartnepaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Like at Kathmandu and Bhaktapur, even Patan's Durbar Square has a temple dedicated to Taleju Devi, who is the Patron Goddess of the erstwhile Royal Family of Nepal. Our guide explained that when the princes separated and built their own legacies separately in these three areas, each one built their own temples to Goddess Taleju. Patan's temple was commissioned by the youngest of those princes, and is as lovely all the others.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Shridhar_Jaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews