We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel With A Character”
Review of Newa Chen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newa Chen
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Hotel With A Character”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at Newa-Chen with my wife and 3yr old kid from 13th Oct, 2012 to 16th Oct, 2012. I must say that I will cherish the memories of Newa-Chen for a long time. While I have stayed at costlier hotels and have experienced better room service I have never stayed at any hotel which had as much character as Newa-Chen. The building is few hundred years old and is of a typical Newa architecture. Living in one of its rooms gives you a feeling that you are staying in a museum rather than a hotel. The place is family run but is very professionally run. But again, it has the personal touch of Mr. Devendra's family. The staff comprising of Rashita and Sarina are wonderful and pay genuine interest to their guest's needs. Mr. Devendra also helped a lot with the car bookings which I found to be cheap and comfortable.
The booking was done over the phone and email. The interaction was mostly with Sarina and Rashita. We were really delighted with the room that we were provided. It was the costliest and perhaps the best room overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The staircase is a bit narrow and you should mind your head. The elderly should choose a room in the lower floors. The room was impeccably clean and the decor matched the heritage feel of the building. Overall, we liked the mattresses on the floor, the low tables and the entire decor. The attached toilet was as clean as it could be. As pointed out by many, the ceiling height is low, but for my 5feet 11inches I did not experience too much discomfort.
The location is simply the best in Patan. It is a 4 mins walk from the Patan square towards the Bagalamukhi temple. The Patan square is a place which can fascinate you for hours if not days. There are shady no alleys or by-alleys. At the same time it is not crowded like Kathmandu. We loved Patan and we loved Newa-Chen.
The breakfast at Newa-Chen is complimentary. The breakfast is wholesome, tasty and freshly cooked. It is served in the little open courtyard while you sit on elevated concrete slabs with jute mats laid out. The place will make you realise that there are better options than a chair and a table to have your food. Newa-Chen does not have a restaurant but that there are several excellent restaurants around it, particularly in the Patan Square.
I must mention that my child was ill when we arrived at Newa-Chen. We got whatever support we expected from the hotel. They took the pains to store the medicine in their refrigerator and took it out whenever we asked for. We also appreciated the bottled water in our rooms and the fruit basket.
Check-in and check-out experience was a breeze. The billing was transparent and proper bill was provided on check-out.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for its ambience, decor, character and hospitality. The only downside might be the narrow wooden staircase which leads to the rooms. Otherwise, we could hardly find any other faults.
A big thanks to Mr. Devendra and team for running this wonderful place professionally and for their impeccable hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sku26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
70
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Newa Chen for one night, and really, really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is practically a Newari history museum with all kinds of fascinating (and, historically relevant) architecture and interior design pieces. The room was very comfortable and spacious. I really liked the loaded fruit basket in our room too.

Patan is a great place to explore as well - even better in the evenings once the day-trip crowds leave. Newa Chen is just a quick walk away from the main square.

Beautiful historical small hotel, great location, good price - all adding up to a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really one of the most memorable places I stayed in Nepal. The traditional rooms is something to experience even if you are tall. The location is great. Just off the square a few minutes away. The staff is friendly and the hotel is well run. I stayed in all three room types and would opt for a standard double as ere is not much difference except a bit of a nicer bathroom from the deluxe. The only thing that people may find inconvenient is having to be be back by 930 pm as the doors lock. However most things do close early in patan. Breakfast is yummy and changes daily (there is a set schedule). Tea and coffee are complimentary throughout the day. The courtyard of the building is a lovely oasis to escape the crowds and relax with a book. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makaiward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Newa Chen before and after our trip to Langtang National Park. The place was incredibly well restored and a real unique Nepalese experience. Patan is a lovely place to stay, but if you're looking for the "action" area of Kathmandu, I suggest staying around the Thamel area. However, like others have said, the breakfast is great, the location can't be beat in Patan (2 blocks from Patan Durbar Sq), and the staff is incredibly friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here based on the recommendations of other travellers....they were correct. This is a charming and friendlyt place just off Durbar Square and within walking distance to many of Patan's interesting spots. It's only 30 mins walk from the UN and enbassy belt of Kupendole.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable in a traditional style..so get used to sitting on the floor and remember to keep your head down...the ceiling's are low!
Staff were really friendly and helpful. A lovely touch, as I departed, was a parting git of an etched metal & wood picture of Newa Chen which now sits on my desk at home.
The courtyard is a haven.

Room Tip: You can choose between the older traditional rooms in the original house or newer rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

• Stunning building, full of character with relaxed atmosphere
• Beautifully decorated interiors, with great attention to details
• Tasty breakfast (different for each day of the week)
• Great Hospitality

Truly unique place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful house. The rooms are decorated in traditional Newar style with modern conveniences and even a bath tub! very rare in Nepal.
The staff couldn't have done more for us, booking tickets, suprising us with hot water bottles on a chilly night, and getting up early to make us breakfast when we had to leave at the crack of dawn for a bus.
This was our first stop in Nepal and they set the bar too high for anyone else to reach.
Very special.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good - it is a very small place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
1.1 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
#2 of 50 in Patan (Lalitpur)
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Life Story Resort
The Life Story Resort
#3 of 50 in Patan (Lalitpur)
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lalit Heritage Home
Lalit Heritage Home
#6 of 50 in Patan (Lalitpur)
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newa Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newa Chen

Property: Newa Chen
Address: Kulimha, Kobahal-9, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newa Chen is a traditional Newari house about 350 years old, that has been restored and converted into tourist accommodation under a UNESCO project. It offers people a chance to experience traditional Newari lifestyle and values that are different from the modern materialistic world. A Newari house is characterized by the use of natural materials, the intricate wood carving and brickwork, low ceilings and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Newa Chen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newa Chen Hotel Patan (Lalitpur)
Newa Chen Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing