We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of kar.ma COFFEE

kar.ma COFFEE
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: kar.ma coffee is Nepals first coffee boutique. we offer handcrafted filtercoffee made of best nepalese arabica beans, specialty teas from ilam and exclusive cookies and biscottis from 'the Larder'. while enjoying your cuppa and good conversation in a creative environment you can explore and select some coffee handbrewing equipment and gifts, from coffeepaper notebooks over coffee massage oil and lampshades made of recycled filters. we recycle pretty everything that is possible to recycle from coffee. come and join us or just pick your favorite freshly roasted coffee for home.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chilling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Karma Coffee is a small place out of the way, part of the Moksh complex. I've been in KTM for 10 months and have loved hanging out at Karma Coffee with Birgit, Matthew, Jamieson and the rest of the staff. There's really a nice, relaxed atmosphere, so you can bring your lap top and chill for a while. There's no food but excellent cookies - and of course excellent coffee and tea. I can recommend spending the morning with a yoga session at Pranamaya downstairs with coffee or tea at Karma Coffee afterwards. That's how I've spent my best mornings during my long stay in Kathmandu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found Karma in my second week in Kathmandu. It stands on the second floor of a patan complex, sharing the space with a rock venue, yoga rooms, cycle shop and a magnificent book shop. It is such a friendly and welcoming cafe that you will want to put your feet up with a book for an afternoon.

The showroom is full to the brim with 'Made in Nepal' products, many of which are made form coffee bi-products.

The coffee is among some of the best I have ever tasted anywhere in the world. Best of all you only pay what you feel is fair, by putting the money in the Karma Chicken. A most visit for anyone in Nepal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unusual and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love this place and their unusual and interesting idea - pay what you like for coffee. Went there a few times and each time the coffee tasted different. They do the pour over style and it is hard to make it strong enough for me, but their heart is in the right place so I don't care. Kind of bare bones and tiny place. Be nice it they served food. Not easy to find, on the third floor far in from the street, but everything is hard to find in Nepal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousSpirit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Coffee, Chilled Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stopped by this place on the owner's recommendation and really enjoyed it. Apart from excellent quality and tasty coffee, the positive and friendly vibe put us right as ease. A great community space for a friendly chat.
The owner is very creative and has designed and sells various products made from recycled coffee parts, including lamps made from used coffee filters. Very cool.
The coffee was so good I bought a bag to take home.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaCoffee, Owner at kar.ma COFFEE, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Ali, thanks for your review. I am very much looking forward to have you all three back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nepali Coffee, Tea ... and Karma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Even though I am not a "coffee drinker" but rather go for tea, I keep on getting stuck in this coffee shop since it opened a few months ago. It is run by an Austrian lady and she keeps on adding new products to her portofolio constantly. The place is coffee-shop and showroom at the same time, where you can not only drink coffee but also shop for locally produced, recycled or imported products related to coffee. Lucky for me, they have added tea to their menue some time ago, which is also grown in Nepal - like the coffee - and of outstanding quality.

The "kar.ma" in the name probably refers to the pricing system for the coffee specialities - there is no menue - you just pay what you think it's worth. Because of that it's not one of the many overpriced restaurants in the area where you usually only meet foreigners or rich Nepalis, but just about everyone that likes to have a coffee or tea once in a while. The coffee-shop has quickly developed into a meeting place for many ex-pats living in the area and people working in nearby offices. Many customers are also coming from the "Pranamaya Yoga Studio" below the place or the "Kathmandu Jazz Conservatory" right above. Interesting conversations and new friendships are nearly inevitable which makes it a perfect starting point if you are new to the area. If there is no one around to talk to, you can always use the free Wifi to surf the net until somebody interesting shows up. Be careful as this place is somehow addictive. For me and some of my friends it has become something like an external living room!

They don't have a food menue as such but sell various home-made organic cookies. As they cooperate with nearby restaurants, you can ask them to order sandwiches or other simple foods which are then delivered to the coffee-shop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Isilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaCoffee, Inhaber at kar.ma COFFEE, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Isilim, your review made my day! the way you describe the place is exactly what i aim to offer: a livingroom and creative hangout space outside your home. thanks for your words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kar.ma COFFEE also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to kar.ma COFFEE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing