We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, superb staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe de Patan

Cafe de Patan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patan (Lalitpur)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe de Patan
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money, superb staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent 5 weeks in Cafe De Patan guesthouse. Room was very basic and shower and toilet were in the corridor, but for the money i paid, it was reasonable. Restaurant serves good food, staff is very polite and friendly, service is maybe best i have ever had. Owners are very helpful and try to fulfill wishes. Thank you one more time too all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a lovely little guesthouse in a beautiful historical building, just a stone throw from Patan's Durbar Square and, if you getr the right rooms, offering some truly nice views, too!
The staff was kind and very welcoming and the room was simple but modern & very clean, with possibly the best bathroom we have found during our whole stay in Nepal (one and half month!).
The cafè makes a great cappuccino! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownFromThisDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean but a little sad. We were close to the kitchen, with all the smells and noise in the morning. But as said by one of the reviewers, it's quite good for Nepal.

Good point : the restaurant is very nice and serves good food, wifi connection is very good. Patan's Durbar Square is close by feet so you can stay there in the late evening to enjoy the atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VinhGuyait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

While our hotel experience at Cafe de Patan was nothing spectacular the restaurant is good quality with a really delicious dahl baht on offer. The rooms are simple, small and old, but clean enough. The beds were really hard and in the room where we stayed the clanging kitchen noise was a rude awakening, but when doing a comparison with other hotels in the area we discovered the average conditions were in line with their average price, which was much cheaper than other hotels in the area. So if you're on a budget, this place is a good option despite everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I didn't became the room because the guesthouse was full booked but i have seen the rooms and they are ok, some with bathroom in common and the price-quality is onestly. The guesthouse is located in a perfect position in the centre, nearby all! But the best thing is the reastaurant: good food, good quality, and the workers are very kind and professional

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipinajff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you are planning to just hop for a night in Patan, Kathmandu, this is the place to be!

The room with attached bathroom is available at cheap rates and the Guest House is located in the midst of Durbar square.

The restaurant with the guest house is popular in the area.

No Intercom or Wifi but a comfortable night's sleep.

Room Tip: Go only for the rooms with attached bathroom. They are a little pricy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V1VEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

As soon as we walked into Cafe de Patan, we noticed the lovely, welcoming vibe. It seemed very much like a family-run operation and everyone did their best to make sure our stay was a good one, which it was! The location is 2nd to none, as it's basically on Durbar square. A courtyard restaurant downstairs serves delicious food and the views from the roof were postcard-worthy. Despite staying in peak season, the price was very reasonable. Definitely recommended!

(*Had to mark Cafe de Patan down on sleep quality because we stayed there during the Hindu festival of Dasain, when the bell in the square rang all night*)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriviaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patan (Lalitpur) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Life Story Resort
The Life Story Resort
#2 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Guest House
Golden Temple Guest House
#15 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lalit Heritage Home
Lalit Heritage Home
#6 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Temple House
Temple House
#12 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newa Chen
Newa Chen
#9 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
#3 of 49 in Patan (Lalitpur)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe de Patan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe de Patan

Property: Cafe de Patan
Address: Durbar Square Patan, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Also Known As:
Cafe De Patan Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing