We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to rest and find quiet”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Never pick any other hotel. Quiet, great rooms, super staff, fine and spacious rooms. A place of grace, quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMarkES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 357 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Himalaya. The location was perfect with walking distance to most places. The breakfast was good and the overall a great value for money without compromising on quality. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt_mandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The hotel was of high quality with high level service and stylish property. we got an upgrade to a brand new room which was very very chic and stylish. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben_321y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Well situated and not too far from the airport. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Pretty much everthing was working in my room but no fridge. Hotel was being renovated (upgraded I think) at time of visit but did not adversily affect the experience. Road ouside a nightmare to cross at peak times.... don't even think about it.
Overall a mid range comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pande67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I planned this trip to the Himalayas,months in advance. I chose Himalaya Hotel for a good price -4 starr level, also they told me it was being renovated,so everything would be new. The only thing new, was the lobby.They out right lied. The room was filthy,dirty, moldy and smelly. It was so bad ,we slept in our clothes, and I,m a camper!! The next morning I booked a room at the Hyatt Regency Hotel ,which was excellent. I contacted the Hotel manager3or4 times since our stay, NO REPLY. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jomboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel has a very spacious lobby, very kind staff and a nice garden if you do not want to have your meals indoors.

The breakfast was also good. The rooms were nice and clean.

The shops in the lobby have some very different items you can not find in Thamel especially some of the silver pendants were very nice and much different than the outside shops and more pricey of course..

It is not very near to main tourist area Thamel and located in Patan however there are plenty of taxis and it costs around 2 USD to go to Thamel. (there is a 2 storey shop just across the hotel which supports fair trade, I advise you check there as well)

The only problem is that the hotel is old and now it is under construction. They are refurbishing all rooms and also they are building a totally new floor with new 25 rooms. So during day time, there is a constant noise due to construction.

After they finish all contruction, I think it will be a much better hotel. I do not recommend this hotel anyone till the constuction finishes. (but after the hotels we stayed in India, it was like an oasis)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aysem_duygu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for the ICFP conference which was held on the 1st week of June 2009. The room was spacious enough for two people. The lunch and breakfast were really good. I like the service of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldiebhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
0.5 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Clarion
Hotel Clarion
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#1 of 210 in Kathmandu
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#4 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Address: Box 2141 | Sahid Sukra Marg, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range: $99 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Himalaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Patan Lalitpur
Hotel Himalaya Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing