We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine temples”
Review of Patan Museum

Patan Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
4-Hour Swayambhunath and Patan Durbar Square Tour from Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It takes all three floors of the meticulously restored royal palace to cover thirteen centuries of Nepal’s religious art history; easily Nepal’s leading museum.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine temples”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The place is indeed a living museum. It is a nice blend of Hinduism and Buddhism. The temples surrounding the museum area are mesmerizing. A must visit if you are in Kathmandu - find time for Patan. Could have been 5 stars if it was a little bit cleaner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank robtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    91
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best place to understand better about Hinduism and Buddhism.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Patan Museum is in a fantastic big house from the 15th century. It has a big and lovely countyard. But the best of the museum is the detailed information about hindu deities, buddhism and the awesome masterpieces. Really worth going.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“insight to art in Patan”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a quiet and well-maintained museum. There are examples of different types of statues and art with good explanations alongside them. The building itself is nice and you can have a rest on the window benches overlooking Durbar square. Admission is 250 rs for foreigners.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chandni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I am a local”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was born and raised in Patan. I live in US now. But, I still have a house nearby. This place has a lot of history and it is always buzzing with locals and tourists. My grandfather used to be the head of the museum long time back. I have great memories in this Durbar Square. A must visit for anyone visiting Kathmandu Valley.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ayush753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I experienced history which I never knew before”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Be careful in staircase. There was sudden power cut and everything was dark. I hated it. Beside, I loved everything about this museum.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patan Museum also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Patan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing