We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rooms, but amazing restaurant and peaceful oasis”
Review of Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summit Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Nepal, and we knew Kathmandu was going to be crazy so we wanted to splurge on a place to relax and hide from the madness as needed. We ended up staying 4 nights before our trek and 1 night afterwards.

And indeed, it was relaxing! Though nothing like the lush, tropical gardens of some resorts, the grounds are lovely and quiet. The patio areas are great for eating or drinking, and the pool was packed with families.

Lunch/dinner was generally excellent and reasonably priced for being an upmarket hotel; we ate the Kashmiri Chicken many times, and loved the lamb burger after our trek. We ate almost all of our meals at the hotel, and saw dozens of local expats hanging out there for food too. I think fondly back to our pleasant dinners on the atmospheric patio... super romantic and relaxing.

The rooms themselves are perhaps a bit dated, so you shouldn't expect too much luxury by international standards: they're clean, and built solidly, and there's copious hot water, all of which can't be said for many hotels and guesthouses we encountered in Nepal.

We're backpackers on a RTW trip and did not feel discriminated against; the front-desk staff were super friendly and helpful. Like elsewhere in Nepal, accurate reliable information is hard to find, particularly during a holiday period like Dasain, so we had to work a bit harder to find some things out.

I suspect some of the negative reviews might be from those who are passing through Kathmandu and not really appreciating what must be the enormous challenge of running a solid hotel in a crazy country. This is largely, I suspect, why their room prices are so high.

Also, I wouldn't personally spend extra on the Himalaya view rooms, as the view is generally non-existent. Even in October, post-monsoon, when skies are the clearest, the real mountains are usually impossible to see. You do get a nice view of the city and the first row of foothills, but not the real peaks, so be prepared accordingly. Maybe the Himalaya View Wing rooms are bigger or newer too?

We'd probably stay here again, and will absolutely eat here whenever we're in town!

Room Tip: The original garden rooms have good pool access and nice grounds outside your window, but are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gradientdescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have stayed at the Summit hotel the past few years in October, and know this is trekking season so make our reservations early. Although we wish we were trekking out we are working in the city...which makes staying at the Summit more enjoyable, as it is an oasis away from the noise/traffic/honking horns and dust of Kathmandu. Rudra is always so helpful with anything we would need, and it is easy to arrange everything in advance, including tickets for in-country flights and such. The staff is wonderful and they remember your name from year to year. We love the potential mountain views, though the mountains don't always come out to satisfy our need for scenery!
We do enjoy the morning breakfast spread, but it is extra for good cafe latte or masala tea (worth it). There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, but remember to bring a light for night journeys as these little back alleys are quite dark. The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable, the water is hot for showers, and the internet is available as ethernet or wireless (4euro per day).
We always look forward to returning, and must admit that I write this with mixed feelings as we love to give good reviews for our friends at the Summit, but don't want too many to crowd us out! It is quite nice not to be in the tourist district area.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

- little rooms for high price
- we booked twinbed get singles
- 1 bottle not tasty wine, twice snack, one beer and coffee: 70 euro
- wifi costs money, expensive taxis
- many older people,
- arrogant to backpackers
- they made folt in bill breakfast, i said this and they we're saying its a little difference ww don't change it! Doesnt matter! Has to be good!
- little swimmingpool
- very noisy
- bad location

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellenk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Only a 20 minute drive from touristy Thamel, this place is a world away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the Kathmandu. The Himalayan View rooms are spacious and comfortable, though mountain views not guaranteed in cloudy weather! The hotel is well maintained and polished looking and the luscious gardens offer peace and tranquility. The service is impeccable, as is the food and wine in the relaxed bar. The same menu also operates in the adjacent restaurant. A vegetable and homemade food market runs on Weds and Sats and has some crafts for souvenirs. Although away from immediate crowds, it is a 10min walk to the main road for fabulous fairtrade shopping and another 20min or so wander to Patan's Durbar Square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glasgowexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel, situated in Sanepa, Lalitpur (Patan) near Kathmandu is very good indeed. It was founded in 1978 and a group of Dutch people. Accommodation is in very pleasant rooms, in Nepali style and the food is top-class. There is a small swimming pool and a beautiful garden. The staff are friendly and well-trained and everything is clean and bright. From the terrace there is a wonderful view of Kathmandu and the Himalayan peaks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nepalwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The first look of this property is breathtaking, really wonderfull setting , great lawn, beutiful pool and amazing wooden balustrades throughout the balconies. Very well maintained. the staff are polite, helpful and efficient.
But,
the rooms are really small, not worth the price it charges. while it may seem cozy , it is not equipped with basic amenities one might expect at this price, say a simple in room kettle and complementary tea, coffee pouches!! not there! the food also is available till 10:30 PM only. If you go with a group then you might spend lot of time outdoor in the longe etc. which is really great experience , but inside the room is really gloomy, and not very comfortable.
NOT VALUE FOR MONEY.

Room Tip: there are primarily 2 floors in the main building, I found ground floor rooms are more spacious. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Staff members are excellent and very helpful. The location and gardens are also a nice break from the craziness in Kathmandu. Patan Durbar Square, more interesting I believe after Bhaktapur, can be walked from here. Try to go early in the morning before breakfast.

Why 4 stars then? The shower stall is on the small side. The beds are small as well, non-standard. The lights in the room are dim so don't expect to be able to do work/write while here. There's really no desk to work from. There's a bright enough overhead light by the bed however, so reading in bed is fine. The breakfast offerings are narrow and don't change from day to day (imagine if you have to stay for over a week). And you'll have to pay for everything here; nothing is included in the lodging rate. You'll have to pay premium extra for breakfast, wifi, laundry, etc. Of course these things cost extra in most hotels, but Summit is supposedly a boutique hotel - different from "mainstream" hotels. Prices for these I believe are on the high side, but then maybe normal for a western-run hotel.

Overall it is still a very good hotel and I would return, assuming I can get a booking. It's a very popular hotel among international development professionals and tour groups. The staff are well-trained and one cannot ask for better folks.

Room Tip: Try to book way in advance as the place is very popular and has lots of repeat customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoundFrequencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
0.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#4 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
38 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Godavari Village Resort
Godavari Village Resort
#6 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel

Address: Kupondol Heights, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range: $106 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Kathmandu
Kathmandu Summit
Summit Hotel Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing