We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

traditional homestays in the heart of old patan city world heritage site. Nice traditional decor with clean rooms and very friendly staff. Mr. Shyam Talukdar the general manager was very helpful, professional and made our stay excellent. He has all the info and assistance anyone needs at the hotel. Breakfast was great and nepali thali is to die for! Will come back for more! Thank you Shyam.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

The people who run Swotha make the experience what it is - they are lovely. The accommodation is comfortable, the food delicious, and the environs incredible. It's a little oasis in the busyness of Patan.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 665JFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas holiday at Swotha. We stayed for 6 nights. The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff is great and the restaurant serves excellent meals. There is a strong French flair to the meals, which we really enjoyed. We stayed in the attic room and it is well worth the extra money if you can get it. It has a bit of a French feel to the décor and the ceilings are high, unlike the other rooms.

Because we had such a wonderful time, we gave a 5 ratings, but there are a few areas we would have rated lower, the room was very cold. We used the heater, but not during the night (not allowed). The windows do not have any insulation around them so the cold air blows in. The restaurant was also very cold. We wore coats every morning and night when we ate. The city had rotating blackouts for 9 hours at a time. This is not the hotels fault, but something you need to be aware of if you visit during the winter months. During the blackout which was from early morning to early evening, the shower was only lukewarm (Shower was wonderful when regular power was on).
And if you have any issues with stairs, this would not be a hotel for you.
BUT even with these slight problems, we had a fabulous time at the Swotha!

Room Tip: attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I guess I don't need to say how great this place is. It speaks for itself. But, I really have to say one thing about how helpful Shyam Tandukar (the General Manager) was when (literally) at the last minute, my friend and I had to cancel a car booking (and later rebook it) because my friend was sick. He made sure that it was done without any hassle at all. I'm so grateful for his help and the hospitality at Traditional Homes.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeNW549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Swotha Home for 3 days at the beginning and 3 days at the end of our trip through Nepal. With 3 people we booked the attic suite and were absolutely thrilled by it. It was like coming home when we entered our room for the first time, especially after the slightly exhausting trip from the airport. It's one of those places you definitely want to visit again. The room was quiet with an occasional interruption by the neighbour's dog (pretty much unavoidable in Nepal). We had an amazing view from the roof terrace over the old city centre of Patan (Durbar Square). The room(s) are comfortable and very uniquely equipped, with everything a western tourist would expect, but still keeping the traditional flair and atmosphere of a Newari house. It is the perfect spot to roam the streets of Patan and come back to relax and enjoy delicious food.

Room Tip: For three people the attic suite is definitely advisable. For people with stair climbing difficultie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Kathmandu can be overwhelming to the senses, so we were glad to have this great Home to retreat to after a day out. Perfect location, tasteful decor and impeccable service. We just loved the breakfast served in our sunlit room each morning. The heater provided is fine for sleeping, but shower is not hot enough for winter nights. As part of our Nepali experience it's well worth the price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank umfridus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

In my 9 day in Kathmandu. Me and my friend travelled in and around the Kathmandu Valley and stayed one or two nights in different guest houses. Among the places we stayed, this Traditional Homes was the most superb of them all. Too bad we only got in for one night. The hotel manager, Sham, said we are actually lucky enough to get in because with only six rooms that they have, they are fully booked most of the time. The rooms are just wonderful. And the toilet is pretty cute.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joseph G C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
0.9 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
246 reviews
2.5 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#1 of 210 in Kathmandu
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Inn Patan
The Inn Patan
#1 of 55 in Patan (Lalitpur)
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Life Story Resort
The Life Story Resort
#3 of 55 in Patan (Lalitpur)
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shakya House
Shakya House
#7 of 55 in Patan (Lalitpur)
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Homes - SWOTHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Homes - SWOTHA

Address: South East corner of Swotha Square . 50 meters away North from Patan Durbar Square, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traditional Homes - SWOTHA 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Homes- Swotha is a beautiful Boutique Bed and Breakfast nested in the heart of Patan Historical center, a few meters away from the magical Durbar Square. 5 intimate and spacious rooms with attached bathroom and an Attic Suite room. The furnishing is cosy though minimalist (iron and wood mainly) but very comfortable ( antique chair, cotton linen sheets, wool and hemp carpet, quality mattress, gas heater, hot shower, hand made soap, cotton curtains, selection of books in each rooms and powerful wifi!) to which you add a beautiful roof terrace, a wooden balcony for each room, a small garden and a nice restaurant serving fresh and organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Traditional Homes - SWOTHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing