We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

In the heart of Patan, a block from Historic Durbar Square and 2 blocks from the Golden Temple, you get the true Nepal. Gorgeous restored building with wood carved balconies, friendly helpful staff, delicious food, clean comfortable rooms, expat favorite - book ahead. The staff went above and beyond to assist us with some computer needs and loved my daughter like one of their own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Traditional Homes Swotha is a hidden gem. We stayed in this boutique B&B for 2 nights in late September 2013, after staying in Lazimpat, Thamel and Bhaktapur and definitely think we left the best ‘til last! Throughout our stay, we received warm, professional and courteous service from the staff, particularly manager Shyam, who was so helpful and kind. The room very much exceeded expectations … comfortable bed, spacious and airy room, and modern bathroom (the reliable hot shower was much appreciated!). However it was the ‘boutique’ touches such as the cotton sheets, gorgeous lemongrass soap and funky terracotta cups that very much enhanced our stay. It was all so tasteful and a real indulgence for us at such a reasonable price.

The restaurant/café attached to the B&B rates well with good reason, and was a real bonus. We didn’t need to go any further for great food and attentive and respectful service. Café Swotha has a relaxed atmosphere of casual elegance, and it is easy to see why both travellers and local ex-pats become regulars here (we noted familiar faces in our short stay). We loved the Nepali dishes such as the vegetarian thali and Bhaktapur yogurt with nuts and fruit as much as the international dishes such as the excellent Spaghetti Swotha and roasted vegetable pita. The breakfast pancake was perfectly cooked and so good! The café is also a great place to read a book over a cup of tea or coffee – we never felt rushed here.

A brief word on the location in Patan… we thought this was such a pleasant area to stay in. Durbar Square Patan is blessed with beautifully restored buildings and an impressive museum. The B&B is less than a 5 minute walk from the square. The area contains a mix of locals and travellers, and is much quieter and less chaotic than Thamel and Lazimpat. Other parts of Kathmandu are an easy and cheap taxi ride away, so we think this is a good base for exploring the city.

If you are looking for somewhere refined, comfortable and special to stay in the Kathmandu area, we strongly recommend this B&B. Traditional Homes Swotha provides excellent value for money. It will be our first choice on repeat visits to this area.

Room Tip: Room 5 is spacious and airy with a nice balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandevette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place was great for us: pricey compared to most guesthouses in kathmandu, but you are paying for the cultural experience of staying in a newari house. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and we had a large private terrace. the ceilings are higher than some of the other 'traditional' homes in the area, which was a bonus for me. The place is wonderfully close to Patan durbar square, which is in my opinion a more beautiful, quieter and all-round nicer place to be than the centre of kathmandu, plus you get much more of an experience of nepal, rather than being surrounded by backpackers and touts. Patan does shut-down by 10pm though, so if you want bars and backpackers, you'd have to get a taxi to Thamel (about 15mins).
The food at the hotel for breakfast and dinner was a really unexpected bonus: the Thali i had for dinner was honestly one of the best i've ever had, and the breakfasts were a great mix of fresh nepali and continental tastes.
A couple of downsides are: there can be quite a smell of paraffin from the kitchen if you're staying on the first floor (i'd ask to be in a room as high in the building as possible), and if you're on a strict budget, this is a pricey option.
We'll be heading back in a year or 2 for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high in the building as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

In August we stayed for 3 nights in different rooms.( We booked with Agoda and accidently there was an overbooking. Both Agoda and Swotha solved it without any inconvenience for us, for one of the nights we were upgraded, without any extra costs to the attic room!). All rooms were beautiful and the traditional attic room was sublime.
All staff was very nice and helpful, just the best service! Great location.
They have a very good restaurant with very fresh and tasteful food. International and local food prepared by a real cook!
Overall we really enjoined this very best stay to finish our trip to Nepal.

Room Tip: allthe rooms are more or less similar with smaller and larger balconies, except the traditional att...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomSirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

- Old traditional house, beautiful renovation (professional owners)
- Very nice welcome by Shyam, the manager and all his team - very professional
- Beautiful rooms, very spacious and cleaned daily.
- Meals at anytime (3 cookers), organic orientated with variety
- Go to the terrasse... Beautiful view on the neighborhood and mountains.
- Some interruption of electricity (but light always works)
- Wifi
- Wake up with roosters, dogs and temple bells... Pleasure to leave in the neighborhood.
- 100 m. from Patan Durbar Square
- I staid 2 weeks... Perfect journey! Thx to all the team. See you in November...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yann-Cedric Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Swotha at the end of our 3 week vacation in Nepal. We are a family of 4 and wanted to stay in one room. The attic suite was occupied, but the staff was very helpful and added 2 extra beds to our beautiful room. It was very cozy and the beds were the most comfortable we had slept in in 3 weeks, real mattresses! The restaurant is very good and our last evening we drank wine on the roof terrace at sunset. It was magical!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Swotha for four nights and it was magical. The old house has been lovingly restored and is full of really beautiful details. We moved between three rooms, each of them spacious, comfortable, spotless, and with lots of character. The attic room led out onto a terrace with a view of Patan's rooftops. The other rooms all had balconies where we sat for hours watching everyday life in Patan. Swotha is literally a stone's throw from Darbar Square, and is the perfect base from which to explore Kathmandu, Patan and Bhaktapur. The cafe was delightful. I think my favorite meals in Patan/Kathmandu were eaten there. The breakfast is sumptuous and thoughtful. Our lunches and dinners there were delicious too.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Shyam, the manager, was incredibly friendly, patient, and solved any problem we had, no matter how large or small. Everyone else, whether in the kitchen or the cleaning staff, was also exceptional, smiling, genuinely interested in how our visit was going, and always ready to help. They made our trip truly wonderful. I will definitely stay only here on our next visit.
The hotel also recommended an excellent driver for our trips out into the countryside. His name is Rajkumar and he too was exceptional. Definitely ask for him if making any trips.
All in all, we cannot wait to return to Swotha. What a jewel of a place!

Room Tip: The attic room is beautiful, as is room number 6.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radhika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
1.1 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goodwill
Hotel Goodwill
#8 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
12.3 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Patan
The Inn Patan
#1 of 51 in Patan (Lalitpur)
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Homes - SWOTHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Homes - SWOTHA

Address: South East corner of Swotha Square . 50 meters away North from Patan Durbar Square, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range: $62 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traditional Homes - SWOTHA 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Homes- Swotha is a beautiful Boutique Bed and Breakfast nested in the heart of Patan Historical center, a few meters away from the magical Durbar Square. 5 intimate and spacious rooms with attached bathroom and an Attic Suite room. The furnishing is cosy though minimalist (iron and wood mainly) but very comfortable ( antique chair, cotton linen sheets, wool and hemp carpet, quality mattress, gas heater, hot shower, hand made soap, cotton curtains, selection of books in each rooms and powerful wifi!) to which you add a beautiful roof terrace, a wooden balcony for each room, a small garden and a nice restaurant serving fresh and organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Traditional Homes - SWOTHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing