We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I are our 2 kids stayed at SWOTHA in October as we attended a friend's wedding in KTM. Our trip included 4 countries and seven different hotels. My 10-year old son still says "My favorite place we stayed on the whole trip was SWOTHA!" The staff is amazing. Camille, Ram, Ram and Saroj made us feel like members of the family during our week there. Camille helped us navigate the city, advised us on what was reasonable to pay for taxi rides, and shared her favorite eating and shopping spots with us. The food at the cafe is fantastic. Breakfast is generous and delicious. The dinners include homemade pasta and "the best cheesecake in KTM!" The guesthouse is located 1/2 block from Durbar Square which is part of the Unesco KTM Momument World Heritage site. It's just an amazing area. If you have questions, email Camille and she'll get back to you. If you're tall, try to get the attic room. We wouldn't have traded our experience at SWOTHA for anything! (We miss you guys!)

Room Tip: The guesthouse is an actual Newari home, so the ceilings are kind of low. If you are tall, book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
72
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was beautifully decorated. As a traveler, I appreciate the attempt in saving an old building close to a historic area. This kind of action helps the growth and maintenance of any historic area. The location is great to the Patan Durbar square. One thing that was unexpected, was the help the owner Camille has provided us. Our hotel in our next destination in Chitwan cancelled our reservation less than 36 hours before our arrival to Chitwan. We got the cancallation email while getting ready to fly to Kathmandu. There was just not enough time to try to rebook a place in Chitwan and it was high season also. Right before we got on the plane to Kathmandu, our of desperation I emailed Camille the owner to see if she could help us. She did more than help us. She found out the reason why the hotel in Chitwan cancelled on us, and she called many other hotels around Chitwan to see if they have available rooms for us. She provided us wonderful help. It is more than any traveler can ask for. I urge fellow travelers to consider staying in this hotel for it offers authenicity, attempts to save an old beautiful building from falling into ruin and truly cares for its travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boazleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have always been fascinated with the character of Patan, espcially the alleys around the Durbar square. Staying at Swotha allowed me to enjoy the atmosphere of Patan to the fullest. The restored Newari house itself is a treasure, but the friendly and cooperative staff, especially Camille the manageress, add huge value to an already great property.
Rooms are comfortable, sparsely but tastefully decorated to bring out the best features of the old house. Bathrooms are tiny but so functional its unbelievable. Rooftop patio is great, especially accessing it through the steep and narrow old stairs. Breakfast was OK. The restaurant needed to have a better selection of dishes for dinner, espcially as they made delicious food. Enjoy Swotha and the uniqueness of staying in the heart of Patan.

Room Tip: I was told that the suite room is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tharuka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a great few days in this guesthouse. The food is great and the private yoga class on the roof was exactly what we needed.
The staff was very helpful. They explained the best places for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ideal location close to Patan Durbar sqaure in a quiet street. Great accommodation in a renovated Newari house with chic modern touches to the rooms and the retaurant. Unfailingly helpful and cheerful staff. The first rate website gives an accurate impression of the high quality of the hotel which manages to retain a family atmosphere and a traditional ambience. E-mail contact for arrangements prior to the visit was straightforward with a very rapid response from Camille Hanesse who has relocated to Kathmandu from the Alsace who exudes charm and efficiency.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parnell_family_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed for a few nights of August in Traditional Homes - SWOTHA and I must really say that if I ever need a hotel in Kathmandu / Patan again - that's the place to go.

The rooms are wonderfully designed, a fusion of the traditional Newari architecture and modern materials which perfectly fit together. The staff is very nice, helpful and trustworthy, the management absolutely professional.

The food in the restaurant is limited to only a few dishes, but all of them are of exceptional quality and freshness.

I've been on and off in Nepal for the past 12 years and I must say that this is the best place I've stayed in so far. Of course I haven't tried the five star hotels but I guess I would still choose Swotha in favour of them because of the unique design in a traditional Newar house and the truly dedicated people working there.

The Hotel is located very close to Patan Durbar Square (only 50 meters) and this is the place where the traditional Newar culture can be experienced at its best. It's somewhat in the cultural hub of Patan old town. I've spent several years of my life in Nepal, but it was only while staying here - in these surroundings, that I really experienced the essence of Newar culture in the Kathmandu valley for the first time.

Room Tip: There is a very beautiful suite room on the top floor, it's next to the terrace with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband, our three year old son and I stayed eight nights at Traditional Homes - Swotha, in July - we were living in the best room, which is the Attic Suite with an attached communal terrace and a private balcony. This room is quite a climb up the narrow hundred year old restored beauty. Reaching Swotha after a flight and the hectic Kathmandu drive, is a relief. At first glance it is cozy, simple, tasteful and clean. After eight nights, it became our comfort zone - an enriching space with an amazing dynamic of the guests and staff, who are now all friends.

During our stay at Swotha, we had several memorable experiences, one of them was when we hosted a party up on the terrace for our Kathmandu friends. The kitchen team, made us a special order of fresh momos, something that is common for Nepal but not on the Swotha Caf'e menu. The team at Swotha is ready to serve and accomodate all the guests needs, considering we have a very spirited three year old, the stay at Swotha was smooth, as they all embraced all son's presence and were incredibly friendly and warm towards him. I can confidently say that Swotha is absolutely child-friendly. The only thing to watch out for with toddlers is the design of some of the spaces; terrace railings, third floor stairs etc. We did communicate these to the management when they asked for tips on hosting children at Swotha.

Cafe Swotha is a very vibrant part of the B&B. It is where everyone gathers for the fabulous breakfast everyone morning, this is where friends are made, where deals are struck and where one can truly enjoy a rustic, clean and comforting meal. The choices are limited, but the staff is ready to make changes and additions.

There is lots to say about Swotha. Considering it is a new establishment, it is doing quite well, there are no communication glitches, staff is alert and considerate, humble and accepting. The building is stunning, the rooms are comfortable, the woodwork is solid, the beds are soft, the company unmatched and there is always hot water! I cannot be as poetic about the electricity, but then again it is Nepal, and it was only a few hours in the afternoon that the fans would go off. In the Attic Suite we did not need air-conditioning even in July as it was cool at night and they had provided us with an extra fan. The Wi-Fi was being improved during our stay, and that surely was a positive change.

The Swotha management are committed to running a very good B&B, that has its own individual aesthetic and intelligent design - unlike most of touristy South Asia, that has lost its individual mark by adopting 'pseudo zen design' borrowed from the orient but ruined by lack of cultural relevance. Same goes for the guests and the conversations found at Swotha, fantastic.

A special space, not meant for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
1.2 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
324 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 201 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Patan
The Inn Patan
#1 of 50 in Patan (Lalitpur)
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Life Story Resort
The Life Story Resort
#2 of 50 in Patan (Lalitpur)
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Homes - SWOTHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Homes - SWOTHA

Property: Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Address: South East corner of Swotha Square (opposite to Radha Krishna temple). 50 meters away North from Patan Durbar Square, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Traditional Homes - SWOTHA 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Homes- Swotha is a beautiful Boutique Bed and Breakfast nested in the heart of Patan Historical center, a few meters away from the magical Durbar Square. 5 intimate and spacious rooms with attached bathroom and an Attic Suite room. The furnishing is cosy though minimalist (iron and wood mainly) but very comfortable ( antique chair, cotton linen sheets, wool and hemp carpet, quality mattress, gas heater, hot shower, hand made soap, cotton curtains, selection of books in each rooms and powerful wifi!) to which you add a beautiful roof terrace, a wooden balcony for each room, a small garden and a nice restaurant serving fresh and organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Traditional Homes - SWOTHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing