We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible 2 Weeks in Nepal Thanks to the Shaligram!”
Review of Shaligram Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaligram Hotel
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Incredible 2 Weeks in Nepal Thanks to the Shaligram!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I arrived in Nepal a couple weeks ago and am departing tomorrow for India. When I had first arrived, getting to the hotel was so great as the hotel had already arranged a pick up and they were waiting on time at the airport with my name on a sign (bucketlist, check!)

My stay at the Shaligram was wonderful. I was originally hesitant to stay in Patan instead of Thamel. I am 22 and don't get me wrong, I love going out and exploring the busy streets but after a couple of days exploring Thamel, I was so happy to be staying in Patan. Patan Durbar Square is much more beautiful I think and it's walking distance to the Zoo, restaurant road and the Tibetan Refugee Camp.

The staff at the Shaligram were so sweet, they all speak english so well and work extremely hard!

Manny's is affordable and delicious - they have western, Indian and Nepalese food.

My favorite part... Nirvana Wellness Centre. I had a wonderful massage and an incredible time at Zumba. Even if you aren't staying in the area, you have to come for Zumba! 4 days a week and only 300 Nepalese rupees.

Thank you so much to Manisha, Rana and the rest of the staff for such an incredible and relaxing stay in Nepal! I can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: - JUDDHA-Villa is great for solo and young Traveler's with shared accommodations you can easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Marketing & Sales at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and also the magnificent Patan area. We hope to see you again in the future. Do enjoy the rest of your travels.

Manisha K.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
7
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Addis Abeba, Ethiopia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at Shaligram apartments for a few days in Kathmandu. It is not the typical area for tourists, which makes it also nice. It is within walking distance to great shops, restaurant, Moksh (for yoga classes, Karma Coffee..) - I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Marketing & Reservations at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to write this excellent review of Shaligram. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed living in the calmer Patan Area of the Valley.

Namaste & Best Regards,

Manisha K.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have been 3 times to Nepal and this is one of the best Hotels I stayed in.
I stayed at Shaligram for few days only, I had one of the apartment rooms, it had a little garden outside, a beautiful little porch to have some peaceful quite times away from the crazy busy life of Kathmandu.

The rooms were the cleanest I've been to in all of Nepal! Hot water available around the clock, very comfortable beds and friendly for sure :)

The only downside to it is that its far away from the most popular tourist attractions, so it will be costing quite a bit to pay for transportation around.

Totally worth the stay if you dont mind the distance from the touristic area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby_Faqir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Marketing & Reservations at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Faquir,

Thank you for taking time to write this excellent review. We are glad you liked your stay at our Juddha Villa. Although we are about 5 km away from downtown Kathmandu (and it's traffic), we do have the Patan Durbar square and all it's wonders in our neighbourhood, and just a walking distance from us. We hope next time you will find time to explore Patan at your leisure.

Namaste & Best Regards,

Manisha K.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have stayed at other 5 star hotels and we had an awesome stay at Shaligram.
The Wifi is super fast and you don't get charged, which is great with children and many devices.
The venue is close to Patan and the Tibetan village.
Definitely choose this place.

Room Tip: Preferred the older suites and they have gym, pool which we did not use since we were there in winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Reservations & Marketing at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Madame,

I thank you for your review and appreciate you giving a special mention to our free wi-fi, which we have been working on to improve time and again.


Namaste & Best Regards,

Manisha K.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel because it has apt suites that are new. We loved that the suites were well decoded and modern. The cost was cheaper than one bedroom rooms at other hotels .
We loved that it was quite and away from the constant traffic noise of hotels in Durban square. Also the hotel has amazing wifi that's free with your stay, and better than other accommodations.

Room Tip: We loved the new modern suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Reservations & Marketing at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to write this excellent review. We truely appreciate it and hope to welcome you back to Patan and Nepal in the future,

Namaste & Best regards,

Manisha K.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here a week in one of the very nice suites, with bedroom, sitting room and kitchen facilities. The location is walking distance from Patan Durbar Square, but for the city centre and other areas you will need to arrange transportation (e.g. taxi, which is relatively cheap). The food was good, despite a slightly odd receipt process for the included breakfast. The wifi strength varied, making skype calls and online work difficult, but otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Marketing & Reservations at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to write this review. We highly appreciate all the feedback. We have been working very hard on getting the best wi-fi possible to all our guests. Due to your feedback we will remove the pre-programmed time-outs on the usernames, so that there are no more automatic log outs. For work purposes though, we do recommend & provide USB data packages which are more reliable at any time, and is charged according to the size of the data you prefer. On the other hand, the Wi-Fi is dependent on the number of users at any one time, but is provided free of cost to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am normally wish to stay at the main square of the city but stayed here dues to work. This place is more for people with some sort transportation - or who doesn't mind taking a taxi all the time. That being said, Patan Durbar Square is within walking distance.

Friendly staff, nice and quiet location retracted a bit from a busy street, electricity during load shedding. Had a roof-top room with a nice fresh morning air outside.

Very quite in the nights - apart from barking dogs in the neighbourhood

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PoulAlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahsasia, Marketing & Reservations at Shaligram Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking some time to write this review of our hotel. We are also pleased that you chose the Patan side of the valley for your visit this time.

Namaste & Best regards,

Manisha K.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
1.0 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarion
Hotel Clarion
#4 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Goodwill
Hotel Goodwill
#8 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
43 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaligram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaligram Hotel

Property: Shaligram Hotel
Address: Jawalakhel 4 / 139 | Shaligram Village, Patan (Lalitpur) 4/139, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shaligram Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaligram Hotel*** is a two acre property in the centre of the city with three wings (Heritage,Residence & Juddha Villa wings) comprising of apartments, suites and rooms. They cater to singles, couples and families located inside the Shaligram village. The units are serviced and all have digital personal safes & several have equipped kitchens. Short or long term stays are available. Daily rates include complimentary breakfast.Complimentary wi-fi, daily newspaper, 24/7 power back-up, 24 hours reception, 24 hour security & with CCTV cameras in public areas. We accept VISA, MasterCard, AMEX & JCB cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Shaligram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaligram Hotel Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing