We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“offers 360 view, reasonable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“offers 360 view, reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Pros:
>Reasonable prices of food and lodging
>Good viewing deck allowing 360 degrees view of the surroundings from Nagarkot Hill

Cons:
>Very little to do in Nagarkot, aside from viewing the mountains

Tips:
When we visited, it was April 30, 2013 and it was very hazy and foggy that we were not able to see the Himalayas. Locals advised to visit November/December, when it is expected to have clearest skies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. At our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont, we are committed to consistently providing warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests and your positive appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. This gives us an energy, motivation and encouragement to provide excellent hospitality to our guests.

For your gentle reminder, there are plenty of actiive activities that you can engage in during your stay like Nature walk for 2 hours in a lush pine forests, walk to the view point tower, walk to the tamang heritage walk, walk to the changu narayan temple, etc.

Looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Best Regards,
Caron
Reservation executive
Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont
Nagarkot, Nepal
Hotel: +977-1-6680077
Tel: +977-9849423479
Web: www.peaceful-cottage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    143
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
55
116
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

On my arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, bringing the masala tea I had ordered to my room for me.I had a downstairs corner room which though it wasn't very cosy, did have lovely views down into the valley. The food here is excellent but very very overpriced, which you realise if you leave the hotel to eat elsewhere. the view at sunrise and sunset is spectacular from the patio area and even better is to climb up the metal steps which pass by the "sunrise" room(cool round room with 360 views) onto the roof of the hotel. It's so stunning from the roof, with groups of eagles flying over your head and the himalayas that it's quite breathtaking.
That said, the atmosphere was pretty impersonal with nowhere social to hang out which I prize as a solo traveller. One more thing, which I didn't mention to the staff while I was staying as I had already prepaid for the room and the views were stunning.was that there were worms in the bathroom. This was pretty disgusting to be honest and I found nothing like this anywhere else in Nepal, even in much cheaper places. I don't know if they were coming up from the drain or out of the taps but I spent a fair amount of time sluicing down the bathroom floor so i could shower without stepping on them.Yuck. It wasn't cosy and it was mainly peaceful apart from the generator which was fairly near my room. Also they are constructing a new building just below which isn't pretty. I recommend the "hot grog", a nice bedtime combination of honey lemon ginger and rum which took my mind off the worms...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. At our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont, we are committed to consistently providing warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests.

We are very sorry to hear that you had to encounter earthworms in the bathroom. We would like to inform you that we are one of the oldest resort in Nagarkot so, we will be renovating our rooms and bathrooms very soon in this low season to provide a great room and bathroom experience with new cosy and comfortable bedding. Also, we are upgrading our restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambience for the guests.

Looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Best Regards,
Caron
Reservation executive
Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont
Nagarkot, Nepal
Hotel: +977-1-6680077
Tel: +977-9849423479
Web: www.peaceful-cottage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We (a group of 8) have been here on last year October 2012. The scenery and environment here were good. The staff are helpful and polite. An excellent position to view sunrise in the morning .. overall, it was really enjoyable to stay at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont. Thanks for the hospitality provided .. really enjoy !! Thank you.

Room Tip: Available sufficient water supply ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We are committed to provide best hospitality with warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests. Our vision is to be the best place for customer service. Your words of encouragement means a lot to us.

Looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Best Regards,
Caron
Reservation executive
Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont
Nagarkot, Nepal
Hotel: +977-1-6680077
Tel: +977-9849423479
Web: www.peaceful-cottage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in February, which is unheard of as most people come up for one night to see the mountains and then head off again. And while it was really cold a couple of nights, the warmth of the staff made up for it. We had a corner room with spectacular views of the mountains from two sides. The room itself wasn't spectacular, but the bed was comfy and warm. There is a lovely deck upstairs to sit for breakfast and a roof top viewing point. And the views are magnificent! We enjoyed our days walking through this peaceful area and the hot ginger tea with honey and lemon each night was treat. As long as you don't mind waiting till about 5 pm for a hot shower (the water is solar heated) and you aren't looking for super posh, then this is a nice quiet, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. At our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont, we are committed to consistently providing warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests and your positive appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. This gives us an energy, motivation and encouragement to provide excellent hospitality to our guests.

For your gentle reminder, we are one of the oldest resort in Nagarkot and we are also realising that now is the time for renovation as the rooms and bathroom need quite renovation. This will be our top priority in this low season.

Looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Best Regards,
Caron
Reservation executive
Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont
Nagarkot, Nepal
Hotel: +977-1-6680077
Tel: +977-9849423479
Web: www.peaceful-cottage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What to say ? You are in Nepal and at 2000 m alt. so it is normal to have electricity 3h a day/night, it is normal not to get hot water, it is normal the room is not at all a 5 stars conditions, it is normal to get no water for a shower or just washing your face in the morning, mainly after a night of heavy rain. BUT the food, the service, the peacefulness of the hotel and most of all the view of the mountains in front of you (almost a 360deg view) with Everest view is just priceless. And will make you forget all the rest. And make you stay one more night or make you come back ..... In that hotel and nowhere else.....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanpaulcalderan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. At our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont, we are committed to consistently providing warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests and your positive appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

For your gentle reminder, the electricity black out is 12 hours a day. So, we have recently installed solar panels for electricity and also for hot water. As we try to be as eco friendly as possible, we do not have generator yet in our resort. So, for the guests, when there is no sunny day, we offer a hot bucket of hot water for the guests.

Looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Best Regards,
Caron
Reservation executive
Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont
Nagarkot, Nepal
Hotel: +977-1-6680077
Tel: +977-9849423479
Web: www.peaceful-cottage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There's no doubt the hotel is located in a beautiful area with stunning views. However, we were pretty shocked on arrival having read all the 4 & 5-star reviews. This place is extremely basic. The bedroom was reasonably clean but cold and shabby. It definitely wasn't new or modern. We were offered a heater which did eventually turn up but soon ran out of gas. There was no hot water, so on our first morning the staff arranged for two buckets of hot water, which took an hour and a half to arrive. There was no toilet seat on the loo and water from the sink tap didn't quite reach the sink but ran over the counter and floor. The one meal we had, sitting out on the terrace, wasn't great and they wouldn't let us go inside when it started raining as they were working on the dining room! So, we headed into town to eat the rest of the time. Sadly, we didn't enjoy it anywhere near as much as we'd hoped. It was neither comfortable or relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaeWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the perfect getaway from Kathmandu. The best part is the customer service and the hospitable team! We had guided trekking tours (also in french) during 2 full days and this made the stay at the Peace cottage one of the most exceptional places with exceptional people in the world. Thank you to Caron and the team for showing us the hills of Nagarkot and making the journey to Nepal unforgettable.
Merci a l'equipe :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine_Zaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Celine,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay in Nagarkot at our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont. Our top most priority is to provide excellent hospitality and friendly service so that our guests can have a great experience in our resort and also have a very good impression of our country.

We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and your appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Caron
Sales and Marketing Team
Mob: +977-9849423479
+977-9803614684
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.6 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
752 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 18 in Nagarkot
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#15 of 18 in Nagarkot
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont

Property: Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
Address: Nagarkot Hillstation | Naldum, Nagarkot 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Nagarkot, Peaceful Cottage & café du mont is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.Peaceful Cottage & café du mont offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invig ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe Du Mont Hotel Nagarkot
Peaceful Cottage And Cafe Du Mont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing