We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A pleasant getaway from the hassle and bustle city of Kathmandu, we received warm welcome from the staff on arrival, and welcome drink! Room was clean and neat with mountain view, a clear and bright sky on the day of our visit! I would like to suggest to have sitting area for rooms with mountain view. Room was freezing cold at night, and the owner really took his effort and took a heater to our room , very thankful to Caron and staff! The bathroom is also spacious and clean, only we have to suffer with no hot water in the morning, just lukewarm water. Hope the owner can upgrade or look into it soonest.

Cafe du Mont serves very nice foods; really miss their chow mein! We had very rich and tasty breakfast ~ sizzling breakfast set!! I highly recommend to all to dine there, they have friendly and good chefs around, even more, they work as a team to serve their guests the very best!

Congratulations from the heart, you all were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, General Manager at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about your experience at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du mont, Nagarkot.

Guest feedback is integral to our hotel and we are delighted that you found the hotel and its services to your satisfaction. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Caron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 439 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is situated way up to offer the best possible views of the mountains. We only stayed one night but it was well worth it. We stayed in some recently completed rooms and they were great. Mattresses on the floor, large modern washrooms complete with hot showers. There isn't much to do in the surrounding area unless you have a car so the evening is a quiet night in. Staff are friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank schnugchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay in Nagarkot at our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont. Our top most priority is to provide excellent hospitality and friendly service so that our guests can have a great experience in our resort and also have a very good impression of our country.

For your gentle reminder, there are plenty of active activities that you can do here in Nagarkot such as Nature
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Caron
Sales and Marketing Team
Mob: +977-9849423479
+977-9803614684

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

u just have to be there to see what it is...cant be expressed in words...overall an excellent experience...best part is the top terrace where u just have the mountains,clouds and eagles for your company...good place to refresh creative minds...a stay here for more than a day is definitely worth as you are bound to make some interesting discoveries into the surroundings...do visit the shiva temple on top of the small hill just behind the cottage....gr8 place to get a shift and change in the perspective with respect to the way we look at things...visitors wont be disappointed...100% peace guarantee !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, General Manager at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about your experience at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du mont, Nagarkot.

Guest feedback is integral to our hotel and we are delighted that you found the hotel and its services to your satisfaction. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Caron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It seems that the modern traveller is determined to take in as many experiences as possible, and that requires flitting from one destination to the next. If your objective is to experience the grandeur of the mountains, and you only stay one night, you may find that the mountains will not co-operate.

We stayed at Peaceful Cottage for six nights, and learned quite quickly that that was unusual. We also saw some of the many moods of the mountains, Their calming magnificence and their terrifying threat - at least imagining what it might be like for a climber caught there.

Being in Nagarkot for a while provided an opportunity to compare Peaceful Cottage with the other offerings.

During February at 2000m, Nagarkot gets cold at night. There is no heating, and with Nepal's unreliable electricity, the Peaceful Cottage relies on solar power. That means after a cold night, you may not be able to have a warm bath or shower. Having read some of the previous reviews prepared us, so the experience was not a bad one.

We sent a request to Caron, the manager, asking for a room with views of the mountains, and that's what he arranged. It was great, leaning out of bed at 5:30, and seeing whether it was necessary to put on the cold weather insulation, grab the camera equipment, and head up to the roof, or whether the mountains were sulking, and the warmth of bed was the sensible option.

People who want five star accommodation should spend a lot more, and consider staying somewhere other than Peaceful Cottage. People who want five star service - and even the five star places don't offer that - and great food should without doubt stay at Peaceful Garden.

Why didn't I give it five stars. That would presume perfection, and Caron will tell you, that's what he's still striving for. And I'm sure he'll get there.

We're already looking forward to our next visit to our new friends at Peaceful Cottage.

Room Tip: If you're looking for quiet, and don't want to get up early, stay away from the rooms with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phototraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

As our rooms are mostly north and east faced, so, it is normal that our rooms do not receive any sunshine. And as our resort is also very very old, it is normal that there is not any heat insulation. But having faced with lots of complaints and feedbacks from our guests, we are going to install room heating system in all our rooms which is our next agenda to be done within one year time frame.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Caron
Sales and Marketing Team
Mob: +977-9849423479
+977-9803614684

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I asked Caron, is it Heaven? I can never have imagined such a beautiful place on Earth.. Peaceful cottage provides if not the best, my favourite view in Nagarkot. As fate has it, the best room was reserved for me and my boyfriend. I can just stay on the bed and admire the full spread of spectacular snow capped mountains right before my eyes. Sunrise, sunset and the amazing night sky full of blinking stars in the sky moved me incredibly. I have never seen so many stars in the sky before - a galaxy spread before our eyes. Every few minutes, a shooting star flashes across the sky. To top it all up, we made fast friends with amazing people, Caron and his crew. The hospitality that we have experienced is top-notch. Honest, sincere and caring folks made our stay unforgettable. In fact, I love the place so much that I extended my stay and have to make last minute changes to my travelling plans. I told Caron, "I am someone who does not like to visit a place twice, as the world is so big and there are so many places that I haven't set foot on yet, but I'll come back one day." Simply Heavenly!!! ~Jen~

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen_Bryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Jen,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At our mountain resort Peaceful Cottage & cafe du mont, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and your appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Caron
Sales and Marketing Team
Mob: +977-9849423479
+977-9803614684

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The group of friendly crews made us feel at home. We were given rooms without good view last minutes although had booked much earlier through Booking.com. Our rooms were given away to other walk in guests. This was the only point we were not very happy with Caron & crews. Fantastic friendly atmosphere in the whole resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitnagarkot, Director of Sales at Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear aunitedoris,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

Next time, please do communicate us well in advance so that we can reserve our best rooms for your arrival in our resort.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Warm regards,
Caron
Sales and Marketing Team
Mob: +977-9849423479
+977-9803614684

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The cottage is located down a track once you drive through town and we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. The views are spectacular & we sat for hours after arriving until sunset & again the next morning from sunrise on the restaurant patio just taking in the view. We had a large balcony room with views of the mountain & the manager advised when the solar hot water was ready to use for the hot shower. The power at this hotel was much better than others we stayed at in Nepal. We had dinner & breakfast at the hotel & the staff are friendly. We took advantage of the hot water bottle offering at bedtime. This hotel is excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.6 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
774 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#6 of 16 in Nagarkot
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 16 in Nagarkot
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mystic Mountain
Hotel Mystic Mountain
#5 of 16 in Nagarkot
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont

Address: Nagarkot Hillstation | Naldum, Nagarkot 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nagarkot
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Nagarkot, Peaceful Cottage & café du mont is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.Peaceful Cottage & café du mont offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invig ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peaceful Cottage And Cafe Du Mont
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe Du Mont Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing