We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel View Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel View Point
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Nagarkot
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Room Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

After a very winding road you will eventually arrive at this hotel, which has many different levels of room, each level heading up, up and up on narrowing stairs the higher you climbed. All rooms had partial views of the mountains.

Our small group of four were given the two rooms on the highest level, this room was small in size and contained 1 double bed and 1 single bed with just enough room to walk between the two, a clear view of the mountains could be seen through large windows on two sides, an old style TV that did not work and a self contained bathroom that did not have hot water. The quilts provided kept us warm, with two addition blankets stored in a cupboard.

As far as the mountain view, we were luck on arrival to be able to see the mountains clearly enough to take a few photos, but as the afternoon approached the view disappeared into a smoke haze making the sunset non-existent and on rising the next morning once again the sunrise was non-existent, which was very disappointing and not the fault of the hotel.

Meals you were given two options - self serve buffet (containing a very limited choice of food) or select form a menu. I would suggest ordering from the menu for money value. The restaurant staff service OK.

1 night at this hotel is enough as there was little else on offer.

Room Tip: When finding your own accommodation alway check you have hot water and a flushing toilet that does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    43
    35
    30
See reviews for
18
45
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I Stay in Hotel View point in Nagarkot last January 2014 with my family trips. Himalayan panoramic views from room fantastic. weather was wonderful evening and morning! hotel staff were very friendly. we had dinner and was excellent and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Pro tip: winter nights here are very cold and there is no heating, but we got hot water bottles when we asked. The room also had a thermos so you can bring some hot tea from the restaurant. Viewpoint was all right for one night just to see the sunrise, but the room was pretty basic and austere so I wouldn't choose it for a longer stay in Nagarkot. Had a nice little balcony though, not all rooms have them so you need to check this specifically. The little food we sampled was decent, the stuffed chicken fillet (the bestseller) was a hearty meal.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a balcony and ask to get one of the higher rooms overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowOwl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed 1 night here but was the worst stay amongst the 7 nights we have in Nepal.

We went there there on 21 February. The weather was not clear. We couldn't see clearly on the mountains from this hotel highest point. The next day we couldn't see the sunrise too as it was too foggy. As this hotel is the highest point of Nagarkot, many people walk in and walk out. I think the guests who stayed around the stairways to the peak will be annoying. I was staying in another block not facing the mountains, in a corner room and I can hear very clearly the people walking up and down from the staircase and their conversation.

The room is spacious but without coffee tea maker, shampoo and shower gel, hair dryer. Bath towel are grey colour. It is advisable to use your own bath towel. Their hot shower was a shock. We thought the shower heater gonna explode. After we have checked it out, we found out that it is a gas boiling shower heater. Hence, the water was not hot enough. We were shivering in the bathroom.

The food is not bad. But service is slow as not many people working in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Corner suites are noisy. Choose the block near the mountain but away from staircase. No swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The reason you stay in this hotel is for the views which are amazing. We stayed here at the end of our trekking holiday, so had a large variety of types of accommodation. Our tour guide arranged the room, but we ended up with room down stair, small, dam and uninviting. After a phone call to our guides and some negotiations we ended up with top room, as you will see from out picture. I would check what number room you have when booking and location of it lower rooms not the best. The rooms are dated and need attention. The food was great, staff ok.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 65carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

amazing view of the mountain from this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food were delicious. I woke up at 5.30am to see the sunrise and it was amazing. The view from this hotel was superb. highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

They have a excellent view of Himalayan's mountains. Good for sunset and sunrise.

The food is good (buffet) and abundant.

The room is good. The bed is very comfortable and was a very good night there.

The only things is that should take off the board saying that there is massage when they don't have (vacation or off season). Another thing is that there is no window in our bathroom, so is a kind of dangerous to take a shower with that gas without window to leave the place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnaAnibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.6 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#9 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel View Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel View Point

Property: Hotel View Point
Address: On the top of Nagarkot Hill, Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing