We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the Property is Fantastic, Nothing Else”
Review of The Fort Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fort Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Nagpur, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only the Property is Fantastic, Nothing Else”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location of the property is fantastic. I had spent some awesome time in this hotel. But there are three negative points:- 1. There is no generator backup which is required as there is severe problem of power failure 2. There is no room service 3. No television and wi-fi in rooms. If these facilities are there, it can be graded as a hotel not less than 5 star category. Also, I have noticed that the staff was more interested in attending and serving other foreign tourist as compared to the Indians. It was the worst part I noticed which people should consider before considering about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    80
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
33
69
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The main thing going for this hotel is definitely the location - without equal for both sunset and sunrise.

Rooms are huge but thankfully there is a gas heater that helps keeping it warm.

I have to say I was very impressed with the quality of the buffet dinner and breakfast even though there were two big Chinese groups staying. There was a very wide variety and really nicely cooked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was one of the best hotel I could experience in Nepal at the given rates. The rooms are world call star hotel category, location in unbeatable with view of Himalaya range from rooms and terrace or garden restaurants. No other location to match the views.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor rooms (304 if possible which is very big with better privacy) which has better m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best and only reason to stay here is that The Fort Resort offers an unobstructed view of the Himalayas - especially if you want to see the sunrise. We were able to get a good view from the balcony outside our cottage, and a perfect view from the roof of the hotel tower (which I shared with a crowd of Chinese photo-tourists). The other fun part was the drive up the hills to Nagarkot which offeres some beautiful views.

However, at The Fort Resort the cottages are rather antiquated and basic. Bed was not comfortable, bathroom was barely ok. I suppose that due to the above attraction, management feels they don't have to make much of an effort to upgrade. The cottages are reached by steep steps. The main tower hotel goes up 5 or 6 floors with no elevator. Of course, it is rare to find elevators/lifts in hotels in this region. But, if you have any mobility issues, be warned.

Service and friendliness was so-so... This is a place that people only stay for one night, so the staff are not that motivated. Food on the night we were there was rather awful Chinese buffet. The Chinese tourists seemed to like it. But, having been in deepest China, I can confirm that "westernised" Chinese food is way better than the authentic stuff. Adding insult to injury re the food was finding out afterwards that it cost us US$20 each. (There was no sign of the price beforehand - not that there was any choice.) That made it the most expensive meal we had in Nepal where you should be able to eat for a fraction of that.

You would have to live someplace where you never see a sunrise to find the sunrise experience here to be anything more than mediocre. I see far more glorious sunrises just about every day at home. Of course it's cool to have bragging rigjhts that one saw the sunrise over the Himalayas and Everest (which one really can't see from here).

So, yes it's an interesting experience and it's understandable why tourists come here for one night. But, never again...

Room Tip: Request a view of the mountains to the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. We were lucky to arrive on a clear day and so we decided to walk to the Nagarkot View Tower approx. 4-6 km away as our room was not ready yet. The sky was clear and the views were very nice but if you stay in this hotel you do not have to move that far to see the sunrise over the Himalaya.The position of the hotel is perfect. And the sunrise from its terraces or from its own view tower /roof is breathtaking. We stayed in one of the cottages and we were really sattisfied with our room and its cleanliness. We were expecting the night to be cold, but thanks to the central heating and warm /duvet?/ blankets we slept very well and warm. As for the food, it should be really better. We found some meals from the dinner buffet what we could eat but to enjoy the dinner is something different. Many of the meals were less than average, the dining room was small and overcrowded/especially by many Chinese/ and finally we decided to leave our table earlier to make it free for other waiting guests. So, if you want to have great Himalaya view from your hotel room and are prepared to excuse the less than average food you can come.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and while the room is large and well appointed it also has the most overpowering mouldy odour of any room I've ever been in! The whole building is full of mould! Not healthy! On the even lower note is the food! We had to pay 1000 npr for the buffet dinner but it is all Chinese food and extremely tasteless! We barely ate one plate, trying everything so if you are accustomed to decent food, stay away! The buffet breakfast was not much better with soggy toast and overly fatty bacon! We won't be back no matter how nice the view is! Thanks for the free wifi!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the Fort which (still) has the finest position in Nagarkot with stunning views to the mountains from the terraces and from many of the rooms in the hotel building itself. The building is fascinating and although the staff are very willing to help there seems to be an air of bewilderment about so many people being in the hotel at any one time. It is now a favourite with chinese tour groups .The food seems to be geared to them and nowadays is buffet style - the a la carte menu seemingly having been dispensed with - Gone are the days of the yak or chicken sizzlers which we used to enjoy. It is now , regrettably,very poor quality and frankly some dishes e.g. Tibetan style Chicken Lardo quite inedible ( small pieces of crispy skin with bits of bone included ). There could have been an excuse as we were there after the November election when all transport had been stopped, however sources of chicken must have been local so there was no excuse for this awful ( and potentially teeth-damaging dish), Breakfast was mediocre, the bacon very fatty, only boiled eggs and the toast kept warm over a pan of hot water hence not exactly crisp..
Our large room/suite was in a 2 storey side annexe with direct access from the reception area. It had super views and it was a simple walk outside to a sunrise viewing terrace. The main hotel is now centrally heated but other rooms use bottled gas heaters . Hotwater bottles are also provided and necessary . There was a plentiful supply of very hot water - a major improvement from the past . People's main attraction for staying in Nagarkot is to see the sunrise . This can be done from some rooms in the actual hotel and the tower annexe otherwise people congregate on the terraces or right upon the roof . It's very cold and coffee/tea is on offer but it's well worth the effort to see the first rays of the sun catch the mountains .

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms face the mountains but there are some very small ones in the main building which do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Entallyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#8 of 18 in Nagarkot
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Resort

Property: The Fort Resort
Address: Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fort Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A passionately built in the traditional architectural style, The Fort is an eco-friendly boutique resort with its unique charm and sense of destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fort Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Hotel Nagarkot
Fort Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing