We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”
Review of Niva Niwa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Niva Niwa Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nagarkot
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were wow by the magnificent himalayan view just right infront of your very eyes. There is a platform catered to have a perfect himalayan view.

Not only is himalayan view fantastic, the hotel staff made our stay even better. They are friendly and provided a world class service which made me feel like home. The hotel staff are very attentive and constantly serve us hot tea to keep ourself warm during the winter and i really appreciate it.

Hotel food provided is fantastic! The hotel staff even set up a fire place to keep us warm and we were all around the fire place talking with each other it is really heart warming.

The hotel staff made our day when we they came to our room to informe us that electricity is available and they assisted to set up the radiator to keep us warm. They were thoughtful enough to provide us with a hot water bag to keep ourself warm.

Excellent service! Excellent himalayan view! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Siang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The distance from the bottom of Nagarkot to the lodge is about an hour, mountain roads and lots of sharp turns and bumpy road. Good to swallow some pills for the motion sickness before coming up. Upon arrival, we were invited with the himalayans view right in your eyes on the observation deck. Staff also got us some hot tea which is greatly appreciated for the cold weather! You can also go up to level 4 of the lodge and have a better view. Wifi is provided, but only when the electricity is on.

Dinner and breakfast menu are fixed, but very delicious! After dinner, the staff set up the fireplace for the guests to sit around and mingle. I think only 3 rooms (about 6 guests) were occupied that night, but they still went through the hassle to set up the fireplace for us.

The staff are so attentive! Whenever you are in the lobby, they will offer hot tea. During dinner, they kept asking if we need anything. When the electricity came on in the evening, one staff came up the room to inform us and helped us fix the radiator. The socket directly infront of our bed is faulty, so we had to move the radiator to the far side of the bed. The staff was afraid we might feel cold, so he came up with a hot water bag to keep us warm! The staff will come knocking on your door for "morning call" and also when the sun rise. This type of service is extremely impressive and personalized!!!

However, the room is very rundown. Bathing in winter can be a challenge! But with such impressive service, we could really make do with the room as it is at least clean and all rooms come with a balcony with chairs.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sharonleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Niva Niwa Lodge for one night in October 2012. The view from the lodge is incredible and can be enjoyed from the balcony in the room. They also have a nice terrace where you can enjoy the view while having a meal or some tea. Both breakfast and dinner were included and both were good with a nice selection of dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and had hot water. Overall we had a nice stay and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJML_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived to Nagarkot after many days spent on travelling and expected a quiet place with views and good bed to sleep. While the rooms themselves were quite simple and it was a bit cold , the observation deck was amazing. We spent two days there, resting, reading books, playing chess, chatting and enjoying the beautiful panorama of mountains. 6-star view in 3-star hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ania_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I travelled to Nagarkot and Niva Niwa lodge for both leisure-related and professional purposes, namely landscape photography with my family, and definitely was not disappointed by the magnificent views offered from the terraces of the hotel. The rooms were very spacious and the one I stayed in was a very large one, very nicely furnished according to local standards, large and full of light with a wonderful view. Everything was perfectly clean and the staff catered to all of our needs including vegan diet snacks and sandwiches for a hike through the mountains and down to Sankhu. The view alone is worth ten stars as is the friendliness and the cleanliness. The common areas such as the living room with a large aquarium are very comfortable and tea was graciously served there upon our arrival. We all were woken up early in the morning to experience the magnificent sunrise and even saw the high peaks of the Himalayas which I managed to capture. If you are a photographer, this probably is *the* place and we were several to photograph the area in a very serious manner, including some large format photographers with view cameras and focusing cloths. However one should know the place can get very cold at night and the breakfast is good and there is a lot of it, but not outstanding. The bath was quite fine but it is better to have your own personal care productsas there is only one simple bar of soap. You may also wish to ask for extra towels in the evening as there might not be enough if you are travelling in a group of several people. One should know the place can get very cold so warm clothes are called for at night and the breakfast is good and there is a lot of it, but it was not outstanding during my stay and got a bit cold before being served (watch for the new servings to arrive). If these minor details do not disturb you and especially if you like to capture images straight out of the Magic Mountain I warmly recommend Niva Niwa and would give four and a half stars were there such an option. I'll most certainly return to the are and I'm quite sure to come back here again.

Room Tip: Go for a large room if you can afford to pay a little bit of extra, you will not regret it ; the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anu Maarit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Views are exquisite, from all rooms...it sells the whole thing
You have to bring shampoo- body wash- soap...none provided ( would be a bit difficult for trekkers), if you are coming by car bring your sheets too!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms provide a large balcony with Himalayan range- sun rise view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to two hotels, the Mountain Peak and Niva Niwa to see both hotel rooms and decided this hotel, because of the view from the balcony; unblocked and open view of the Himalayas. The room in Mountain Peak were all booked and it didn't have a balcony thus deciding with Niva Niwa.

Services:

The service is OK OK only, nothing great and the room rate was USD50 after negotiating and checking the prices online. He was trying to get us into USD60 but we bargained with him. The dining tables in the common area are old, and the table cloth hadn't been changed, there were food stains all over it. Also, the lack of proper lighting made the place look older than it's 10-15 years.

Room:

Ok now, what you've all been waiting for. Our room was great, the toilet was good we had plenty of warm water, lights and all at NIGHT but after midnight everything was turned off and the only lights we had were the backup lights. The water heater was also turned off and while I had lukewarm water to shower with the next morning my fiancee had to make do with cold water. The rooms didn't come equipped with telephones or televisions but oddly our phones picked up their local service providers (we were both on roaming)

We had three layers of blankets and a small old radiator. All the windows were screened and you can open several of them at night or in the morning should you wish to get the fresh morning air. At night however, there were some huge bugs flying round the light outside our room so we had to finish our beers inside the room. Luckily the screen provided protection from them. Somehow two beetles managed to sneak in and we had fun time chasing them out. We also had someone come to the room with our dinner and it was too much for two persons to finish so we saved some for supper.

The breakfast was mediocre (half toasted bread, fresh butter, strawberry jam, tea and a plate of bean stalks, potato and tomatoes), we were told it is monsoon right now, because it was too foggy to take good shots of the Himalayas but at 5.30am when the sun was up, a guy went around knocking on everyone's doors to wake them up so we can all take pictures of the run rising behind Himalayas. The view was breathtakingly beautiful. We had noisy Korean neighbors, so we slept late till 10amish and had an even lazier day. The Visa machine at the reception was broken so we had to go downhill to the nearest town (the walk was nice!) and luckily there was an ATM there so we withdrew some rupees and paid the guy at the reception for the room and 4 bottles of beer (skip local beers, they taste nasty and it makes you fart alot!)

This hotel has a bit of cobbled lawn where you can sit and just look at the snow-white capped Himalayas and the lower green mountains below it. I utterly enjoyed the view, the dinner and when the electricity was running!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.3 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 16 in Nagarkot
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mystic Mountain
Hotel Mystic Mountain
#3 of 16 in Nagarkot
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#9 of 16 in Nagarkot
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niva Niwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niva Niwa Lodge

Address: P.O.Box 178, Naldum, Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range: $46 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Niva Niwa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay in a pretty medieval castle you have to visit Niva Niwa Lodge Nagarkot in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Niva Niwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niva Niwa Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing