We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, friendly with great view”
Review of Niva Niwa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Niva Niwa Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Homely, friendly with great view”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Solid 2 star hotel. Room was small but with lots of blankets, no TV, but of course, you're here for the view. Large sitting area inside and out and a very friendly staff. Breakfast was above average with a little bit of everything. It's very quiet a night. Didn't have hot water when I was there. Stroll over to the Country Villa next door. Even though it has gotten bad reviews for their rooms, the property is really nice and a great place to sit and have a hot chocolate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
22
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed here for a night on my way back to Kathmandu after several days at Nagarkot. Hotel was homely, and rooms were clean but cold at night, and the heater provided was inadequate. That said, toilet was large and spotless, beds were comfortable and the best part of all was the huge balcony that came with the room! It provided a spectacular view of the sunset and sunrise over the Himalayas.

Food was good too, buffet dinner and breakfast were provided. Hotel included a lounge area for some good reading and a beer or two after a day of trekking. This hotel also appears to be quite popular with tour and school groups.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksenofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

this resort is located at the hill top. Best view for sunrise at Nagarkot, Nepal and beautiful scenery for Annapurna mountains. Freezing during winter. Remember to bring along candles and torchlight while travelling to Nepal as you'll experience the load shedding (power off).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Well next hotel was booked so we moved to hotel next door. it was cheaper, room was the corner one at the second floor with big balcony and nice view, nice garden outside, rooms was big and basic.And they do have hot water just need to run a bit longer to come. has free wifi but slow. Nothing special. The room was cheaper so no complains. Breakfast and dinner nothing spectacular, recommend to try Nepalese tea as they call it, is masala tea but is home made so taste great, for eating next door in country villa definitely is better. Good place if you want to have good view and cheaper prices..

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is more like a bed and breakfast. Basic and simple, no frills, The rooms are quite spartan with very simple beds and no luxury. Bathroom is very basic. No heathing and no AC. Staff is friendly. The view is the selling point and quite amazing. All this nature is just spectacular and makes it special. Everu night there are power cuts neccesatating living by a candle and matchsticks. There should be Wi Fi but it was not working during our stay. Food was included and was simple but tasty. Conclusion nice stay for the natural surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The hotel is worth staying at for about 2 or 3 nights if you wish to catch a really good sight of a sunrise in the mountains! It is rather small and very simple inside. Since you check-in you start getting the feeling you are in a family. So friendly and helpful staff!

The territory of the hotel is not big but it has a pretty garden and a very nice terrace over the green hills and blue-and-white mountains with a really very good view of the Himalaya peaks. This terrace is a usual place where the guest gather early in the morning to catch a breathtaking sunrise over the hills and mountains.

I should say that this is the only activity you may expect in this place. The hotel stays in the village area. Some other small hotels with good views are around it. You can also use a library or just sit with a glass of wine in a calm and very friendly atmosphere of its hall. Live music or folklore show takes place here in the evenings (not every evening).
You can also enjoy watching lots of eagles flying over this area at the daytime.

The rooms are small but also have a balconies with good views on the mountains. The bathroom is very poor and small. Remember there is a contstant lack of water!

I liked this place very much! It is very-very calm, very-very friendly and very-very beautiful!
I came for the beauty and I got it there in full.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braganca79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My friend and I had very nice 3 night stay in this hotel (from total 13 nights in Nepal) , the rooms are well-appointed with bath tub, every room balconies have lovely view of the himalayas and valleys , we can see sunrise in any balconies and terraces in the hotel. very nice and friendly staff and boss. we had great nepali food there as well - i love Chapati (thin bread)
they are buiding a jungle way for a short trekking there, should be ready in the next few months. there are many places to volunteer in Nagarkot ;ie : health center, schools in villages , library
i will defenitely go back there for my next visit to Nagarkot *^_^*

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeryBydSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.0 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#15 of 18 in Nagarkot
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#6 of 18 in Nagarkot
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niva Niwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niva Niwa Lodge

Property: Niva Niwa Lodge
Address: P.O.Box 178, Naldum, Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Niva Niwa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay in a pretty medieval castle you have to visit Niva Niwa Lodge Nagarkot in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Niva Niwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niva Niwa Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing