We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation....”
Review of Club Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Himalaya
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate relaxation....”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Club Himalaya is an absolutely superb place to unwind and relax with commanding 180deg views of the Himalayas on a clear day!

The room was very spacious and well equipped with an excellent shower and no end of hot water! My room had its own balcony giving breath taking views to the mountains and down the valley.

Pre and post dinner drinks in the bar, warm and relaxed with the open log fire was the perfect start / finish to a very memorable evening.

The food was excellent with the prawn curry and fish dishes, the best I've had whilst in Nepal.

A great place to unwind, relax and see the mountains... A trip to Nepal is incomplete without a visit here.

Thank you Vikas and your team... A truly memorable stay and one I can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uro_Wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    293
    94
    38
    13
See reviews for
181
281
57
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel.we booked for deluxe room with good view.Room was clean and huge with private balcony.Dinner with the Nepali music it was fantastic,breakfast was not that bad.hotel also provides complimentary meditation and yoga class.we will definitely visit again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jliets w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

it is a great hotel with amazing view. Please make sure that you get a room with a view.
The dinning area doesn't have much view as the windows are super dirty but you can go up to the patio.
It is still a great hotel because of the location. and for the price, it is a good deal.

The only complain for me is that the room we had had a lot of problem. the lock was not working well, there was no shower glass in the bathroom but finally after much complaints, i was able to get a different room.

details in my blog at t4traveler. blogspot

T4traveler

Room Tip: most rooms are with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t4traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Q: What could be better than a room with a balcony that looks upon an unobscured view of the Himalaya?
A: Their friendly, attentive, informative and patient staff!!!

From the doorman, to the check in personal, bartender and wait staff. Add to that the hotel manager who took a personal interest in our visit to Nepal and a chef who gave us a detailed explanation of the menu.
Their food or drink permitted in the room policy added to the cleanliness of the room as there is nothing worse than food/drink stains/odor on carpet or bedding.
The lobby was very comfortable. Spent lot of time lingering at the fireplace near the bar or reading by the pool.
When my tablet malfunctioned I tried to use the free computer in the lobby. It was a bit slow, the counter clerk noticed and offered to let me use her PC! All without my asking.
To the negative reviewers: are you really serious? Is the weather really the fault of the hotel? Do you really think they should change the policies that 99.9% of their guests appreciate to accommodate your petty preferences?
If you are looking for a great place to relax after your trek or just want to get away from the hectic Kathmandu atmosphere than look no further and book a night at the Club Himalaya Resort. Or better yet 3 nights!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

At the top of an 8000ft hill you come across a fully equipped resort.
Reception is staffed by professional, fluent English speaking staff who are helpful, polite and friendly. Reception is in a rather grand circular dome that houses the reception, large seating area for the free wifi and a rather good restaurant with a sort of partial balcony overlooking the indoor swimming pool and panoramic windows across one half of the circle.
We stayed in a deluxe room which is a newer part of the building, the room was luxurious, large and totally modern with western TV, air con, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, room service, modern shower room, comfortable beds and crisp white bedding. The balcony is what this hotel is all about with panoramic views along the length of The Himalayas - amazing!!! Roof top terrace offers amazing 360 views all around!
Breakfast buffet was good with a reasonable selection, dinner was a reasonable curry buffet or a la carte. Restaurant staff were very competent and efficient and food good.
Hotel generator provided continous power when the mains cut out.
This hotel is totally recommended , in a unique location with full levels of service and comfort and an excellent to unwind and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were very modern, but ask for one in the centre of the block to avoid annoying tree bra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile


The balcony in the room allows the best view of sunrise over the Himalayan Mountains. Make sure to check for sunrise timing and set your alarm and camera.
Breakfast is quite good with a lot of choices for different nationalities.
Great experience, and very nice ambience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marichu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at Club Himalaya for about 6 nights; much longer than most people who come one night to view the Himalayas in the morning as I was conducting a 5 day workshop. The conference facilities were good and internet relatively good (though intermittent, I had no expectations that it would even work at all). The rooms are comfortable and all face the himalayas; the best part of this experience was waking up at dawn (very very very early) and watching the sunrise over the himalayas with fresh, hot chai tea delivered to your room. While it is an insanely early rise, the views are spectacular and depending on the time of year you are there, it may be the only time to see the mountain range from Nagarkot. The food is mediocre and not bad for one or two meals, but I dined at the buffet (only option) breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was always the same and very very bland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#6 of 18 in Nagarkot
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#15 of 18 in Nagarkot
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#8 of 18 in Nagarkot
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Himalaya

Property: Club Himalaya
Address: Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Himalaya 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in TIME Magazine (Liam McMillan, December 10, 2001) as a "Hot Spot" of the world, the Club Himalaya ( 32 kilometers East of Kathmandu) has earned local and international reputation. Superbly situated atop of a lush-green hill at a majestic elevation of 7200 ft, Club Himalaya offers an unrestricted 360˚ view of: Annapurna in the west to the mighty Everest in the East, Kathmandu valley and thick forests. Each room opens to a private balcony, where guests can enjoy the most splendid sunrise and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Club Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Himalaya Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing