We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Resort Eco Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resort Eco Home
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nagarkot
A
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We were looking for a room and we visited there. it's not very clean . we didn't select it for accommodation.

Room Tip: if cleanliness has no importance for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semanta P, Owner at Resort Eco Home, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear traveler,

We are surprised that you are writing a review without being our guest.
And what you write is in contrary to many reliable reviews of people who
really stayed and experienced Eco Home.

So next time you are in Nagarkot we invite to come and stay with us
and really to experience. And if you will find us making a mistake we are ready
to pay your money back as our valuable guest working hard for your money.

Life is beautiful, keep smiling!

With best regards

Semanta and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
48
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed as a family in 2 rooms. Local materials are used for the decoration, adding much charm to it. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would really have like stay longer. We certainly hope to do it next time!
We had drinks around the fireplace before the dinner which was lovely but the service is slow. This is no criticism, all is explained on the menu but just make sure you order quickly if you are really hungry. Breakfast was delicious.
One thing: the mattresses are hard and cushions very firm - much more than you may be used to. We did wake up a few times during the night because of that.
We were advised to walk to the tower (1 hour walk) for Himalaya sunset views and did it but please note that it is not necessary to go to the top which is badly littered anyway. There is a small gazebo with seats at some point, across from a military camp entrance. No need to walk further, the view is just the same and it is a much quieter spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardenia014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

There are some pros and cons about this 'resort'. PRO: The place is clean and well managed. Rooms are a bit small but this seemed to keep them warmer on chilly winter nights. Dining area is sunlit and pleasantly decorated. There's a fireplace that helped keep us warm after dinner on cool nights. Eco Home has joint Nepali and German owners and this is reflected in the overall decor and feel of the place. The kitchen is open and guests can watch or even participate as their meals are cooked. Food was tasty and dinners were quite ample. Good value for the money. There's a rooftop terrace for some views but the best morning views are a short hike up a hill behind the resort. Staff is very friendly. CON: The double rooms are not cheap by Nepali standards, yet not even a rudimentary breakfast is included. Not even a cup of tea or a bottle of water. We thought this a bit stingy. Moreover, this isn't really an 'eco' resort: they served canned juice in the mornings and sell water in plastic bottles. No way to refill them to avoid contributing to the growing mountain of plastic trash. There's an ugly hotel right across the street. Some drunken Nepali youths had a noisy time of it there one night. Their party lasted until 3 a.m. and we heard every liquor-soaked minute of it. Finally, we didn't really like the area much. It's getting too overbuilt and it's just a step away from getting pretty trashy. Lots of tour groups go here for short stays. Next trip to Nepal, we'll skip Nagarkort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semanta P, Owner at Resort Eco Home, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thousand thanks for your nice review and lovely commend, we are happy that
you had a pleasant stay in our Eco home and we highly appreciate to get your suggestions.

We try to run our hotel according to ecological demands but it is also our goal to care our guests like in a home and to keep them healthy. So we are providing drinking water in sealed bottles and we are serving juice from cans as there is no other way till now in our mountain place in 2000 metres height, so that we serve branded imported juice in cans. But after reading your review we realize your highly appreciable suggestion. We will provide free drinking water bottle in the room and good morning tea after sun rise view.

Life is beautiful, keep smiling!

With best regards

Semanta and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The owner of this guest house is great - full of enthusiasm and joy.
Unfortunately the chef was not there the night we stayed but the kitchen staff rallied
round and presented a passable three course meal - only gripe was that we had to wait
some time for it - Nagarkot is not a place you can easily get decent fodder and we were
really hungary by the evening - my husband ate across the road at the chinese restaurant as there was only the option of curry of which he is not that fond.
Our room was pretty but basic - but then I think most people only go to Nargarkot to see
the sunrise and sunset over the mountains - would have been nice to have a tv in the room - there was one in the bar area. Very cloudy when we went so no views just cold & damp - check the weather before you go. Nargarkot itself is just a dirty little town with nothing going for it. I would say all in all that I would not stay here again - but it may suit some people.
My apologies to the staff as they were all great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

The minute I saw Semantha, I knew this guy has an amazing soul and an overwhelming positive energy to spread away. It was pouring, and he went down the street and welcomed us with an amazing smile.
The place is lovely, cosy and felt like home. The people there are amazing, the travelers met there are seemingly loving. Food is yum, fireplace is the place, and the roof top at night for a starry sky, out of this world.
Bed are a bit harsh, hot water would require some time, but hey, that's part of the pleasure. You will surely be happily surprised.. simply loved it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deuBleuDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I chose ECO HOME for the reviews i read.. well the experience was even better.
It's a very cozy place, with only 10 rooms where you feel like home and after a few hours you know everyone. The view is majestic from the roof, the rooms are clean, tidy and have a tibetan fee. The bed is a bit stiff but you forget everything in the morning with the yummy food and the big smiles of all the eco Home family.
Chatting with Semanta every night by the fire place made us refill with positive energy and we got back to Dubai with big smiles, just being around him allow you to feel the good.
If you have time to prepare check if he needs supplies or anything for the public school he helps.
enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: ask for hot water bags or hot water bucket in case it's cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hkg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Most friendly owners and staff. Rooms are cozy. Yummy food are cooked with love and joy by a beloved singing cook. We went for a lovely trekking tour out in the country with energetic staff Paksan. Though not able to see the sunrise, but we thoroughly enjoyed watching that beautiful sunset on both nights. The owners even drove us to our next destination. We just felt like home here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayu_531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.0 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#9 of 17 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Eco Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Eco Home

Property: Resort Eco Home
Address: 8 Naldum, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Resort Eco Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Home Resort is like a Nepali home for our visitors made from local materials like river stone, mountain stone, paper and pottery work, wood carvings of roots and many more to give you feelings of a Nepali home and Nagarkot. Come to experience,watch sunrise from our roof top, spend time at the fire place after sunset and enjoy your time with smile and feelings in our Eco-Home. Kindly note that 10% service charge goes to our staff who are caring you and 13% VAT is your kind contribution to the nation (Nepal), all it is inclusive in the mentioned rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Eco Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Eco Home Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing