We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Hotel Friedrichs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friedrichs
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gemund
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in Gemund at a time-share which was quite nice, however we wanted to eat our meals in restaurants. We tried several in town and Hotel Friedrichs was the best. We ate there twice and highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area. The staff does speak English, and they are attentive. The food was great. Highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank naumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
27
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Always enjoy staying at this hotel. Have continued to stay here for over 10 years. Gemund village is a great base in the Northrhine region. Hotel Frederichs has comfortable beds with a great breakfast. The renovated restaurant is great for those long European evenings out on the deck with a Kolsch. Cheers!

Room Tip: Great day trips close by, especially Monschau & Vogelsang
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My daughter, two grandsons and I ate at Friedrichs in August this year, and we all enjoyed our meal very much. We came hungry, after a day of hiking in the beautiful hills and forests of the Eifel area. We ate outside on the terrace overlooking the lovely river and the village center of Gemund. The service, by our friendly and helpful server, a young woman who cheerfully told us about herself and the town in both English and German, was super. We sampled some of the local beer and had an elegantly arranged entre of pork medallions and spatsle. We were entirely satisfied by the food and the atmosphere. A look inside suggested that dining indoors would be equally pleasant. We would definitely choose this restaurant again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donn112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed for one night during a 4 day hike of the eifel. Well presented hotel with friendly staff, good restaurant and good breakfast. Dogs welcome and a welcoming Sauna in the basement. Excellent price/value ratio. booked via booking.com

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed for a week-end workshop in this hotel. Our room was simple but nice. The restaurant is very good and the staff is very nice. There is also a small spa area in the cellar. You have to let reception know when you would like to use it since they only switch it on when there is a request. You need a car to move around in this area so the hotel is a good starting point for hikes or a visit of the natural park (Wildgehege Hellenthal).

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travel-expert71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gemund
0.3 mi away
Kurparkhotel im Nationalpark Eifel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haus Salzberg
Hotel Haus Salzberg
#3 of 3 in Gemund
19 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Paulushof
Hotel Paulushof
#1 of 3 in Simmerath
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Steakhaus Buffel
Steakhaus Buffel
#2 of 4 in Heimbach
23 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Seemowe
Hotel Seemowe
#3 of 3 in Simmerath
73 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friedrichs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friedrichs

Property: Hotel Friedrichs
Address: Alte Bahnhofstr. 16, 53937 Gemund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Akzent Hotel Friedrichs)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gemund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gemund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Friedrichs 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Friedrichs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing