We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Motorcycle Ride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Nebo State Park

Mount Nebo State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park on Mount Nebo is well equipped for camping.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Motorcycle Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Each year, we visit Arkansas in October to ride the scenic byways, and each year, we find another great place to ride. This is one of them, especially if you combine it with visits to other area state parks like Mt. Magazine and Petit Jean State Parks.

The road to the top of Mt. Nebo is short (under 2 miles) but incredibly twisty - lot of turns, many of them hairpin turns, and steep (18% grade.) Have a few miles under your belt, and a pretty good familiarity of the capabilities of your bike AND its handler before trying this one, as there's nowhere to turn around until you're quite close to the top.

Once we got to the top, there were plenty of deer right next to the roadway, who didn't spook as the bikes went by. The park contains a git shop and has cabins available for rent. We didn't plan far enough ahead to stay in one of the cabins, but will next time. Other riders we met who had just left Mt. Nebo suggested packing in everything you'll need, since supplies are limited at the top. (There are stores in Dardanelle that sell the stuff you'll need.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1031dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    39
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We visit here from our home in Michigan at least once a year for the last 10 year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views along the many well maintained trail systems all around the mountains perimeter. The park also has great camp sites set up all along the trails, if you're wanting to sleep out under the stars. It is not uncommon to walk up on large numbers of wildlife while hiking any one of the great trails. Or if your quiet in the evening you can often see a group of deer grazing just outside your cabin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank rdubb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great tent camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our favorite camping stop in Arkansas! In early September it was cool after the sun went down and I had to find my fleece vest. Definitely needed my sleeping bag! The stars were beautiful as was the sunset and sunrise. We had a beautiful view right from our tent campsite. There are great hiking trails. The drive up the mountain is steep and full of switchbacks and not suitable for large RV's or trailers. There were only a few campers while we were there midweek but I think the bathroom would be really crowded in the summer season with only two toilet stalls and one shower. It was SO peaceful at night listening to the cicadas, watching the stars come out and the lights come on in the valley below.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel2Pho2graph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We took a family Labor Day camping trip from the DFW area. Still very warm, even if supposedly cooler on the mountain. But other than the few hours in the afternoon when it's just hot, the trip was great. The park staff is super friendly, even had an ice cream social w homemade ice cream. The pool is a good alternative when it's really hot. Adults and kids enjoyed the slide. Must get up for the sunrise, few people and just beautiful. Don't hike to the waterfalls for actual water this time of year. The gnats were bad on the trails if you don't go super early. All in all beautiful scenery, nice park, will be back for fall colors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Drove up from Dallas and it was worth it. Amazing drive, beautiful scenic views and lot of hiking trails. It is a great place for a family weekend getaway with nice campsites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pr0d1gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Nebo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Nebo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing