We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling Stop over at the Cross Keys”
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Bellerby B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Landlord Tom Balls welcomed us at this traditional pub in the heart of the Dales with great ales, homecooked fare and plenty of stories. For the last two years my mates and I have been up for a weekend of cycling ending up at Tan Hill for lunch as part of a circular route, starting and ending at the Cross Keys. The locals are as friendly a group you could want for and the rooms are very well appointed. Cant wait for my next trip up there.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the twin, which was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markedwardfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for The Cross Keys Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We would like to thank Tom Balls for a wonderful relaxing holiday at his Pub. Cross Keys at Bellerby is a real gem, situated in the perfect location to be the 'base' for trips out to the magical Yorkshire Dales.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed. The meals are delicious and Breakfasts a real treat using fresh locally sourced produce.The Pub has perfect real Ales and the locals are warm and friendly. We are refreshed and revived. Thankyou. We will make this a regular break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we had a lovely overnight stay at the puyb after along day of driving South!! the evening meal was good and the beeer enjoyed too.Nice friendly atmosphere..also quiz night which we were welcomed to join in .The bedroom was comfortable and the bed (think we got the super king size!!) was huge and so comfortable.Breakfast was delicious and ample and served by Tom the very welcoming owner....and YES Tom you was right ...we DIDNT need to eat again til evening ..Thanks!!

Room Tip: Room to the front of the pub great ...lovely watching the comings and goings outside!!!..
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highburylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Prebooked this after a long search for a pub prior to a Wensleydale Railway trip. Was not disappointed. Good food and ale (4 handpumps if you like real ale!) The breakfast will set you up for the day! Can only endorse previous reviews regarding Tom, mine host. Even went out of his way to return my wife's jacket left behind. Fortunately the family also in the pub were going on the same train as us but from Leyburn so jacket retrieved (we drove to Leeming Bar to do the full train run). Only 3 rooms but would have no hesitation in staying here again when in the area. Plus the Wensleydale Brewery is round the corner so brought home some 'Gamekeeper' best bitter..also excellent!

Room Tip: It's on their website but rooms 2 & 3 have either twin or double. The other is a family room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcstadium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a family, with an 8-year-old. Visiting Forbidden Corner, which was about 15 minute drive away from Cross Keys.

We had a lovely time there. Tom, the owner, is the nicest man and the best host you could hope for! The pub downstairs serves food cooked by Tom which is so tasty and cheap! The salads are garden fresh and I recommend his chips and burgers! All hand-made by Tom. The breakfast is great as well, everything you could possibly hope for in full english. Cereal option also available. Didn't need to eat again until tea time! My son wanted a bacon butty for breakfast and I was expecting to be told no, as we have in lots of other places ("not on menu, can't do it"-attitude), but not with Tom! I have a massive respect for him running the pub and the B&B all by himself! There is a quiz night on Mondays, which was great fun! Felt nice being included in with the locals. Don't forget to taste the local beers! Wensleydale brewery is local.

There are three bedrooms, all en-suite, clean, nicely decorated. The beds are super comfortable, king-size, good quality bedding. I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Room was absolutely pitch black so can't even complain about street lights or traffic noises! We were in room 1, which was at the front of the house, and heard no noises from the pub. Was impressed by that. You could hear people leaving at the end of the night, which didn't bother us, but it did cross my mind, that when he has people staying over, the locals could use the back door rather than the front. But like I said, it didn't bother us, wasn't loud at all.

Overall, extremely happy, and we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

At £25 for two belly busting main courses, a garlic bread starter and two drinks I can recommend the food to anyone that's hungry. Top value and top quality we only ate here so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

good beer and fine whisky and the best served breakfast i have ever had hot and full of quality we would recommend this for a weekend break to any one tom was the perfect host and nothing was a problem for him

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerby
11.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
12.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
419 reviews
9.4 mi away
Westfields Farm B&B
Westfields Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Bellerby
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
13.1 mi away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Inn

Address: Bellerby, Leyburn DL8 5QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Bellerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerby
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys Inn is a traditional country Village Pub situated on the edge of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, approx 1.5 miles from the beautiful Market Town of Leyburn. Our well appointed Bar is perfect for enjoying those cold Winter nights in front of the open fire and in Warmer months, enjoy our extensive Beer Garden with a drink from our extensive range of Internationally branded Lagers, Beers and Wines. A great range of Cask Ales are readily available And we are proud to permanently stock Beers from the award winning and local Wensleydale Brewery, as well as 2 guest ales. We offer a traditional home cooked Menu with all our products locally sourced where possible and all freshly prepared to order. 3 En suite Bedrooms are available complete with your choice of Breakfast, The Cross Keys Inn is the perfect base to explore the beautiful Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing