We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not recommend enough!!”
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Bellerby B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a family, with an 8-year-old. Visiting Forbidden Corner, which was about 15 minute drive away from Cross Keys.

We had a lovely time there. Tom, the owner, is the nicest man and the best host you could hope for! The pub downstairs serves food cooked by Tom which is so tasty and cheap! The salads are garden fresh and I recommend his chips and burgers! All hand-made by Tom. The breakfast is great as well, everything you could possibly hope for in full english. Cereal option also available. Didn't need to eat again until tea time! My son wanted a bacon butty for breakfast and I was expecting to be told no, as we have in lots of other places ("not on menu, can't do it"-attitude), but not with Tom! I have a massive respect for him running the pub and the B&B all by himself! There is a quiz night on Mondays, which was great fun! Felt nice being included in with the locals. Don't forget to taste the local beers! Wensleydale brewery is local.

There are three bedrooms, all en-suite, clean, nicely decorated. The beds are super comfortable, king-size, good quality bedding. I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Room was absolutely pitch black so can't even complain about street lights or traffic noises! We were in room 1, which was at the front of the house, and heard no noises from the pub. Was impressed by that. You could hear people leaving at the end of the night, which didn't bother us, but it did cross my mind, that when he has people staying over, the locals could use the back door rather than the front. But like I said, it didn't bother us, wasn't loud at all.

Overall, extremely happy, and we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for The Cross Keys Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

At £25 for two belly busting main courses, a garlic bread starter and two drinks I can recommend the food to anyone that's hungry. Top value and top quality we only ate here so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

good beer and fine whisky and the best served breakfast i have ever had hot and full of quality we would recommend this for a weekend break to any one tom was the perfect host and nothing was a problem for him

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A return visit to our favourite part of England.And one of our favourite pubs.Tom continues to be Mine Host of the Year.Food excellent.Locals welcoming.
A bonus! The bedrooms have been redecorated -not quite so eccentric but more cosy and comfortable

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are quiet but the odd passing tractor might wake you if you're on the front
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have just returned from a 1 night stay and must say was excellent , Tom made us feel very welcone also a great cook , food was lovely and filling great ales , room was tastefully decorated breakfast was huge and kindly cooked me a veggie one certainly wasnt hungy till evening meal , would return .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snoopy196801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have just returned home from a fabulous stay. This is a very friendly pub, with a good choice of local ales, and lovely pub food, the breakfasts have got to be seen to be believed, and can be served at what ever time you require, don't forget to thank the free range hens in the garden for your eggs! It has a small beer garden immediately to the rear, with additional seating if required, in the paddock to the side, it also benefits from off street parking, which is hard to find. The Inn has 3 bedrooms, all with an ensuite, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer etc. and thank goodness no TV's. We stayed to visit relatives in nearby Middleham, but would make an ideal base to explore the Dales. So thank you Tom, Dawn, and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.....will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room at the back, which was very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last minute booking through Trip Adviser. Inns like this are a dying breed. A warm welcome from mine host and from the regulars who are into motorbikes. Good inexpensive food. Superb breakfast. Ideal for visiting the Yorkshire Dales. This Inn deserves to survive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. Very little traffic
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerby
11.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
12.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
417 reviews
9.4 mi away
Westfields Farm B&B
Westfields Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Bellerby
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
13.1 mi away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Inn

Address: Bellerby, Leyburn DL8 5QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Bellerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerby
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys Inn is a traditional country Village Pub situated on the edge of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, approx 1.5 miles from the beautiful Market Town of Leyburn. Our well appointed Bar is perfect for enjoying those cold Winter nights in front of the open fire and in Warmer months, enjoy our extensive Beer Garden with a drink from our extensive range of Internationally branded Lagers, Beers and Wines. A great range of Cask Ales are readily available And we are proud to permanently stock Beers from the award winning and local Wensleydale Brewery, as well as 2 guest ales. We offer a traditional home cooked Menu with all our products locally sourced where possible and all freshly prepared to order. 3 En suite Bedrooms are available complete with your choice of Breakfast, The Cross Keys Inn is the perfect base to explore the beautiful Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing