We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be more B&B like this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westfields Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellerby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should be more B&B like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The owners were so helpful and breakfast was out this world would return to tomorrow but work calling Stayed with 2 dogs in a room that had double door to go out side so handy when just nipping out late at night

Room Tip: bridge room 100% perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186356Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
90
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent a few nights staying at Westfields Farm Bed & breakfast. Some of the rooms are dog friendly and Aoife, our little Welsh terrier was made very welcome. The farm is on the outskirts of the village and run by Chris and Peter Chilton. The accommodation is very comfortable, we had a large room with king size bed in the outbuilding to the rear of the main house. Chris and Peter are very welcoming (tea and home made cake on arrival!) and have lots of good advice for enjoying the surrounding area. Breakfast was excellent and with lots of choices including some daily specials.

The farm is just 5 minutes walk from the local pub, The Cross Keys run by the gregarious landlord Tom. The pub welcomes dogs, and serves good traditional pub grub. It has a good selection of beers, but our favourite, Bellerby Bitter, is brewed just a few hundred yards away at the small Wensleydale Brewery. The locals were very friendly and we enjoyed participating in the regular Monday night quiz.

There are lots of good walks in the immediate area around the farmland surrounding Bellerby and it was fantastic to spot birds such as Curlews and Lapwings who were visiting their nesting grounds.

We also enjoyed trips along the main valley of Wensleydale which is the longest in the Yorkshire dales. Hawes is the highest altitude market town in Yorkshire and home to the Wensleydale Creamery where we sampled some lovely cheese in their tasting room. Aoife was disappointed that dogs were not allowed in! The next stop on our day trip was at the Green Dragon Inn for some brief refreshment before a short and easy stroll up to Hardaw Force, where a small beck leaps off a high limestone cliff to form the highest waterfall in England. We then took a very scenic drive across the “Buttertubs” pass over to Swaledale. The “Buttertubs” are some unusual limestone rock formations that were apparently used by famers to store butter on their way to market.

There are lots of interesting and picturesque little towns and villages in Wensleydale and we enjoyed a trip to Masham and the Black Sheep brewery- although dogs are not allowed into the brewery and restaurant there is a pleasant beer garden.

Aoife particularly enjoyed a visit to Middleham Castle where Richard III was brought up in the 15th century. The ruins are full of dark nooks and crannies to keep a curious terrier occupied for hours!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am 90 and have stayed in many B&B's in my time - but never one as good as this. Very friendly hosts, splendid breakfast, wonderfully comfortable bed and great farm ambience. As a disabled person I also found everywhere access friendly. Elizabeth and I cannot wait to return. Why did we not find Westfields Farm earlier.
Richard Stokes, Slough

Room Tip: Every room is an excellent, spacious room with a comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I am glad you found us and I hope we will see more of you next year
Chickens are doing fine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights with our young family and had a fabulous time at this lovely B&B. The room was spotless and large, with the added benefit of a small kitchen/sitting room next to it. This worked perfectly for our needs. Our children loved the farm animals nearby and the breakfast is to die for - simply the best. My hubbie loved the attention to detail at breakfast and in the experience overall. Simply one of the best B&B experiences we have had and I very much hope to return again. Chris and Peter have exactly the right balance of being hosts but also letting you get on with your time away. My only issue is that the kids got use to such a lovely breakfast they were disappointed when we got home !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGillbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We enjoyed meeting your family and your review was lovely.
It makes us try harder but most importantly it makes us feel we are doing a good job ,from
the Ladies who help me twice a week to Peter and I we are a team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay. The hosts Chris and Peter could not have been more welcoming with coffee and cake on arrival.
We had the room at the back of the main house, with patio doors out onto the back, with views over the farm and fields.
The breakfasts were great.

Overall it would be a fabulous choice, with an excellent locals pub in the village serving great home cooked food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtsmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We enjoyed meeting you sometimes a one night this year turns into a longer stay next time
Regards to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just stayed at Westfields Farm, and the previous reviews are spot on! The rooms were very comfortable and importantly spotlessly clean. Tea and cakes on arrival was a pleasant surprise, and very welcome. A good hearty breakfast left very little room for lunch. Chris and Peter are doing a wonderful job, we wouldn`t hesitate to return. Pub in Bellerby worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words its nice to know we are getting it right.

I have noticed I had not posted a reply to the last few reviews it as been such a busy summer
the days rush by. But Peter and I thank you all very much we love getting good feed back from guests.

We are planning a holiday for ourselves and we use Trip Advisor to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a family break for 2 nights based on previous reviews and certainly not disappointed! Wonderful, friendly hosts, with tea and cake on arrival. We had booked the 2 rooms in Tumbledown with shared kitchen area and it made a homely place to stay. The children were delighted to collect eggs from the chickens and the property is in the most beautiful countryside. The breakfasts were fabulous and left us all needing little for lunch. The specials board is a lovely idea. When in this area again, we will definitely use. So good, that it has tempted me into my first ever review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerby
6.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westfields Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westfields Farm B&B

Property: Westfields Farm B&B
Address: Westfields Farm Moor Road, Bellerby, Leyburn DL8 5QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Bellerby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run luxury B&B, sitting in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales just 1.5 Miles from Leyburn market town in beautiful Wensleydale. We have 2 en-suite bedrooms - 1 double and 1 flexible. Both rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and their own TVs. You are also welcome to relax in the guest living area or enjoy the sunshine out in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Westfields Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing