We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westfields Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellerby B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just stayed at Westfields Farm, and the previous reviews are spot on! The rooms were very comfortable and importantly spotlessly clean. Tea and cakes on arrival was a pleasant surprise, and very welcome. A good hearty breakfast left very little room for lunch. Chris and Peter are doing a wonderful job, we wouldn`t hesitate to return. Pub in Bellerby worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words its nice to know we are getting it right.

I have noticed I had not posted a reply to the last few reviews it as been such a busy summer
the days rush by. But Peter and I thank you all very much we love getting good feed back from guests.

We are planning a holiday for ourselves and we use Trip Advisor to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Westfields Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a family break for 2 nights based on previous reviews and certainly not disappointed! Wonderful, friendly hosts, with tea and cake on arrival. We had booked the 2 rooms in Tumbledown with shared kitchen area and it made a homely place to stay. The children were delighted to collect eggs from the chickens and the property is in the most beautiful countryside. The breakfasts were fabulous and left us all needing little for lunch. The specials board is a lovely idea. When in this area again, we will definitely use. So good, that it has tempted me into my first ever review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macdid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Westfields Farm and I can confirm this is one of the best BB's we have ever stayed at. Chris and Peter are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home the second you get out of the car. We were welcomed with a lovely pot of Yorkshire tea and lemon drizzle cake. Our room in Tumblestones Barn was immaculately clean as was the en-suite shower room. Breakfast was amazing, Chris is a great cook and Peter was just brilliant in his role of breakfast waiter. Together they make a great team. Our spaniel dog Jack was made equally welcome and his "gift" of a juicy sausage from Chris at breakfast time ensured Chris & Peter are his favourite hosts of all time. We brought home some of the farms free range eggs which were truly delicious with a rich yellow yoke.

Westfields is located on the edge of Bellerby Village which is beautifully picturesque. We thoroughly enjoyed walking our dog through the village and chatting to the local people who were very friendly. Chris & Peter have been welcoming holiday makers to their home for many years and their friendly approach coupled with a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude, wonderful food and accommodation makes this BB one of the best in the Yorkshire Dales. We will certainly be heading back there later in the year to enjoy breakfast by the wood burning stove in the lovely dining room. Thank you Chris and Peter for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Tumblestones Barn cosy, quiet & private
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two dogs for four nights in June. We slept in the Bridge room which is part of the main house but has French doors onto the rear car park/court yard. It was ideal for us as the dogs had direct access to the outside and use of the field at the rear, which also housed sheep and chickens. The room itself was very clean with tv, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. A shared fridge was in the hallway directly outside of our room which was ideal for fresh milk and a couple of bottles of wine! Breakfast was ample with fresh fruit, cereal, toast, homemade muffins and a full English breakfast, all of which were of a very high quality ... especially the eggs which were fresh as could be and soooo tasty. The B&B itself is approx 2 miles outside of Leyburn and is in a great location for visiting nearby Richmond, Bedale, Hawes and Barnard Castle all of which are highly recommended and worth a visit. Now for our hosts, Chris and Peter .. they were great hosts and offered us a tray of tea and homemade cakes upon our arrival which we were able to enjoy sat outside in their beautiful garden. They made a good double act at breakfast, Peter was front of house taking the orders whilst Chris cooked the food (and yet she still managed to pop out to talk to us, asking where we'd been the day before and offering helpful advice on where to go during the day ahead). All in all a great stay enjoyed by us and our dogs. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and would have no hesitation in recommending this to people who want a real home from home feel. Well done Chris and Peter, keep doing what you do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caramac282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

As part of our first trip to Europe, my wife, daughter and I spent six night at Westfields Farm B&B and Herriot Country Tours. My wife has been a fan of "All Creatures Great and Small" since childhood, and she hooked me on the series after we were married. We took the train from King's Cross into Thirsk, which served as the town of Darrowby in the series. Peter Chilton met us at the station and took us on a narrated tour of the Yorkshire Dales as we made our way to Westfields Farm. Magnificent! The Dales are both foreboding and inviting; their stark beauty absolutely mesmerizing. Peter took us through areas that appeared in the television series, making us feel like we were living our own James Herriot adventure. Arriving at Westfields Farm, we were met by Peter's wife, Chris, who was just coming out from visiting "the girls"; her chickens. She was carrying a container with the most lovely brown eggs you could imagine.

For the next five days we enjoyed the most delicious home made breakfasts, from Chris' own granola with fresh fruits, to the freshest eggs, Masham sausages and local bacon. Our accommodation in their Tumblestones Barn (roofed with more than 11,000 pounds of Yorkshire slate!) was a home-away-from home for us. Two spacious bedrooms and bathrooms with a sitting area and small kitchen. Comfortable and absolutely stunning. Peter was our chauffeur and tour guide through the town in the Dales, the castles, the abbeys and right up to the town of Whitby on the North Sea.

Peter and Chris are consummate hosts. They make you feel like family. The accommodations are five star. Chris' breakfasts are at least six stars. And Peter gets at least ten stars!!! I have no doubt we will make it back to Yorkshire one day, and when we do we'll be staying with Chris and Peter at Westfields Farm and Herriot Country Tours!

Room Tip: Tumblestones Barn is ideal for a family stay!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffWoytach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here in February and had a wonderful few days. We booked 2 rooms and stayed in the barn, which is set back a little from the main house and has it's own little living room and basic kitchen. It was beautifully decorated, clean and very homely.
We were immediately made to feel welcome and throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts in the morning were a joy... once one was over, we started looking forward to the next one! The atmosphere at breakfast was also very relaxed and the owners were a great team in the kitchen! The surrounding area is beautiful with so many great walks to choose from. Thank you again for such a fabulous holiday!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily12145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night in June with my 3 year old son and it was excellent! We had a room with a single and double bed in that was beautifully decorated and clean, it had double doors opening out onto some decking with views of the fields. We spent two hours in the garden upon arrival just soaking up the sun and eating home made cakes. Chris and Peter were very welcoming and chatted away with my son. After a very good nights sleep we went to to a large array of food for breakfast. I was glad to see quorn sausages on the menu and my son enjoyed his requested dippy egg which came with soldiers! The spare toast we didn't eat we were allowed to feed the chickens with which he enjoyed. We can't wait to stay again and hopefully will be doing this summer if not fully booked. It was like a home from home, except my house is not as nicely decorated as theirs!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaVonElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SADIE436, Owner at Westfields Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review I enjoyed meeting your son and my chickens where happy with the toast he saved for them.
We have just been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from trip advisor for the 2nd year running.
Hope we will see you again in the Summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerby
6.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.6 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
4.3 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westfields Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westfields Farm B&B

Address: Westfields Farm Moor Road, Bellerby, Leyburn DL8 5QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Bellerby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerby
Price Range: $102 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run luxury B&B, sitting in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales just 1.5 Miles from Leyburn market town in beautiful Wensleydale. We have 2 en-suite bedrooms - 1 double and 1 flexible. Both rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and their own TVs. You are also welcome to relax in the guest living area or enjoy the sunshine out in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westfields Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing