We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfection”
Review of Riverwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything about Riverwood Strathtay is simply wonderful. You are greeted with the most scrumptious freshly baked scones and a warm welcome. Rooms are spacious with a fabulous view and huge comfortable bed. The shower in the bathroom was large and everything was spotlessly clean. Even the small things like bottled water, little chocolate bars and Scottish shortbread were given daily to accompany the tea/coffee making facilities, added to the charm of the property. The only small issue we had was with the wifi internet connection being incredibly slow and disconnecting frequently. We spent most of our time out and about though, so only ended up being a minor issue. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. It was a joy to stay there. Many Thanks Alf and Anne !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Absolutely wonderful facility in a park-like setting on the bank of the River Tay, just outside of Pitlochry. Alf and Ann were truly warm and welcoming and their sense of style and attention to detail showed throughout our stay. Our large room was immaculate, beautifully designed and furnished, and featured a small private patio overlooking the grounds. Breakfast was presented with care in a well appointed room with a view to the river. At Alf's recommendation we walked across the metal bridge for an enjoyable local dinner and the next morning hiked a scenic path into Pitlochry. Our experience at Riverwood helped to define our trip to Scotland and for that we are grateful. We highly recommended Riverwood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second visit to Riverwood. We stayed here in June having selected it after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed as the property and hospitality more than lived up to it's exemplary reputation. We certainly had no hesitation in returning and chose to spends two days here on our way to Elgin for our sons wedding. It was also my husbands birthday so we opted to take advantage of Ann's culinary expertise and reserved a table for our celebratory meal. We had been advised of the menu choices the day before and all the food was purchased locally and freshly prepared. There was a mouthwatering selection to chose from including for starters, smoked salmon fish cakes, smoked salmon salad, chicken liver pâté and haggis fritters. For our main course we chose sea bass, venison and lamb cutlets and for dessert fresh berry pavlova, profiteroles, cranachan and a cheese board. We have had the pleasure of enjoying some excellent cuisine in Scotland and Ann's skills are equal to any five star restaurant. If you are lucky enough to be staying on one of their gourmet evenings don't hesitate.

Strathtay is a beautiful area and if like us you enjoy a good walk Alf will be happy to direct you to the Rob Roy path over the hill to Pitloughry or in the other direction to Aberfeldy. He will even dry out your walking boots afterwards if the weather is inclement. Keep up the good work and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisburnDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having stayed at a variety of hotels and b&b's across our 10 day trip to Scotland, Riverwood was our favorite. We stayed for two nights on a weekend in August. The house is situated on the River Tay, near the town of Pitlochry. The views from the house are stunning, with a small path taking you down to the river. There was a small table outside of our room, with views across the lawn. We spent a great deal of time relaxing in that spot and were lucky enough to have observed red squirrels, a pheasent, jays and what appeared to by a porcupine. The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated, in soft, welcoming tones. The suite was spotlessly clean and the no shoe policy validated by the impeccable suite. The bathroom was spacious, modern with a large shower. The bed was really comfortable and invited lounging. Alf and Ann were incredibly welcoming and accomodating, helping with a great recommendation to the golf course in town and being understanding regarding our dietary restrictions. I could not recommend this bed and breakfeast more- it met and surpassed our expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli7isme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

So good you begin to consider being a B&B yourself, till you see how much Ann and Alf put themselves out for their guests; okay - being a guest is actually good!!! Cooking is excellent, occasionally also dinner available which is really superb, quality and variety a hallmark. Lovely atmosphere, the setting is unspoiled, the rooms a very high standard. To top it off a bijou of a golf course only 2 minutes walk away. Check out photos on website, they are a true picture of what awaits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Highly recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a high standard of accomodation in lovely, peaceful surroundings. Kind and thoughtful hosts yet professional and unobtrusive. We will go back- high recommendation from a very fussy customer!

Room Tip: Don't think there is an advantage with any as all seemed bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebell5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading fantastic reviews, we booked a night at Riverwood Strathtay as a treat for my husband's birthday. We had high expectations, based on what we had read, and were not at all disappointed. We could not fault the wonderful room or the amazing breakfast and the stunning setting of the hotel just added to our enjoyment. However, it was the friendliness of Ann and Alf and the effort they went to in catering for my gluten free needs which was the icing on the cake for us. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
444 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood

Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range: $126 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quiet, leafy little conservation village of Strathtay, in the very heart of Highland Perthshire, an enchanting experience awaits you. Riverwood Strathtay, a contemporary house in the Arts and Crafts style, is a luxury bed and breakfast. It sits in 4 acres of garden leading down to the River Tay.Just over 10 minutes drive from Pitlochry and Aberfeldy, we offer perhaps the best base of all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing