We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Riverwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A warm welcome, a peaceful and lovely setting, contemporary and superclean rooms and bathrooms, beautiful lounge/dining room, great views of the river, trees and the garden all round. All of it has already been said really, but I endorse all of the superlatives! Hugely competent owners who know how to run a business with style and taste and it shows in every aspect, plus a very friendly and helpful attitude to their guests. This is a place to relax, unwind, enjoy the beauty of the location and forget work and home hassles. Book in advance!

Room Tip: Any of their 5 (soon to be 6) rooms/suites are paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stercks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

It would be a waste to view Riverwood simply as a B&B it is a Tranquil and Relaxing Experience! Perfect for a break away to shut out the rest of the world. But not isolated as you can walk and have coffee / food locally. Riverwood is a lovely house as you'll see from pics. But for us the Star attractions are the Food and the owners themselves. Ann is an amazing (if humble cook) Best meal I've ever eaten. Mmmm. Dinner isn't offered routinely but ask if will be on during your stay as it's well worth it. Alf is great fun. Would love them to start doing cookery weekends (no pressure)
Loved watching the squirrels and being beside the river. And if the weather were to be bad there is a great selection of dvd's. Our room was Tay 2 and it is massive with a large window overlooking the garden (river) Well stocked Welcome tray, the only thing I would have liked in this establishement of this calibre would be filter coffee. Annnd ever the practical girl airfreshner in the bathroom. (maybe I missed it).
Several of the other guests have been following Ann and Alf around the B&B circuit for Years. You definitely added another couple to the list. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slimsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've stayed with Alf and Ann for one night. Their hospitality was 1st class, the place itself amazing, with the room and bathroom both as new. The best part was the breakfast with the view of the green lawn and the river, while red squirrels were playing just at the windows

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNeptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owners Alf and Ann are very welcoming of guests into their home. We were welcomed by the very funny Alf and his wife Ann into a brilliantly immaculate hallway with with a very homely feel. Our suite was beautiful with amazing views of the river Tay and red squirrels running around in the 2 acres of gardens!!!! Breakfast was gorgeous with my husband having potato rosti with bacon and brie which he said was delicious, i had a traditional scottish breakfast which i can easily say was the best i have ever eaten. This is now going to be our hideaway from the world.This is easily a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautifully simple and elegant with corridoors to your own bathroom but there are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davispoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The most stunning B&B imaginable! Everything about it is just perfect. Fabulous setting, fabulous rooms, delicious food and run by a lovely couple, Anne and Alf. We can't recommend it highly enough. Also close to many local attractions.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in Riverwood as our last destination on our 15 day road trip through Scotland. We were really glad to have saved this for the last. The property is set on the backdrop of river Tay and provides an extremely good location to be away from the town.

The property is newly done and absolutely fresh. Very spacious lounge and sitting areas. The bedrooms are extremely spacious and would put any 5 star hotel to shame. The bathrooms are also extremely well done and spacious. I have personally stayed at Sheraton, Caledonian, Missoni and Marriott in Edinburgh and none of them even come close to this.

The hosts Alf and Ann are extremely warm and friendly and it was an absolute pleasure to converse with them. Alf especially is very jovial and full of humour. Their helpful advise on our itenary proved worthwhile.

The breakfast spread was extremely lavish. Ann is a very good chef and her Rosti for breakfast is to die for! I experimented a bit with her Rosti and she sweetly named it the 'Rookie Rosti'.

Kelly and Rookie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rukshad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Rebecca and I stayed at the Riverwood Strathtay from the 26th to the 30th of August 2012 and I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed it. How much did we enjoy it? Well having travelled to some of the most exotic and luxurious places across the globe this is our first review of any venue. We have never been moved enough to comment however in this instance we both felt strongly enough to spend some time giving our honest feedback. Well what can we say about Strathtay that hasn’t been said? The venue was beautiful. The location was exceptional [the website pictures does not do it justice]. We visited Edinburgh Castle, Fort William, Blair Castle, and Ben Nevis during our stay and we loved every minute of it. We considered the overall cost good value for money. However what made this venue truly special was the people and by people I mean Alf and Ann. Their friendliness, attention to detail, enthusiasm, and general good nature provided a tranquil atmosphere that you could fall in love with. This place should be held as a constant reminder that there is a world, a much better world, beyond the constant hustle and bustle and the incessant demands of city life. A world where everything slows down; one that offers you an alternative perspective on the things that are truly important in life. I think that we all need to be reminded every now and then that beyond life’s ever growing clutter people and our interaction with each other is what makes life worth living.

As the great man once said:

“Only a life lived for others is worth living”
-Albert Einstein

Dwayne & Rebecca

Room Tip: Stop Thinking. Just enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwayned217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
636 reviews
3.6 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.2 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
456 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood

Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range: $146 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quiet, leafy little conservation village of Strathtay, in the very heart of Highland Perthshire, an enchanting experience awaits you. Riverwood Strathtay, a contemporary house in the Arts and Crafts style, is a luxury bed and breakfast. It sits in 4 acres of garden leading down to the River Tay.Just over 10 minutes drive from Pitlochry and Aberfeldy, we offer perhaps the best base of all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing