We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Riverwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This place is the must! It is the best place we had in all our trip in Scotland.
Everything is new, done with taste. The room was big with a very confortable king size bed. The bathroom is amazing, with a xl size shower.
The breakfast was the best we had in Scotland. Everything soooo frish. Fruit salad with very good fresh fruits. And a very very very good porridge served with honey, whiskey and cream. I dream about it!
I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azurianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
184
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from a lovely peaceful and relaxing break at Riverwood. The location is stunning as is the house which has just recently opened and provides spacious luxurious accomodation.
Our junior suite was bright and airy with large en suite shower room and benefited from the addition of a small patio and private entrance.
Situated on the banks of the Tay the sound of the river is always with you and you are surrounded by a varied selection of wildlife,red squirrels,woodpeckers and wagtails which can be viewed while having breakfast in the comfortable dining room/lounge.
Large lawns and established woodlands surround the house giving the feeling of peace and isolation although the villages of Abefeldy ,Dunkeld and Pitlochry are a short drive away

Breakfast is a joy - attention to detail and an interesting and varied menu are both cooked and presented perfectly. The porridge is the best I have had anywhere!

We took advantage of the evening dinner menu and enjoyed a stunning three course meal which included a starter of haggis followed by ,lamb / venision and profiteroles made in heaven. Our coffee and mints in the lounge was shared with another couple and we enjoyed discussing and analysing
the set up in the house ,the wonderful location and the high standards of service we had both experienced during our stay.

Ann and Alf our resident hosts provide a special retreat in which you can chill out ,refresh your batteries and enjoy their wonderful hospitality they deserve every success in their new venture.
We will certainly be back

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldcastlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Thank you Ann and Alf for a most wonderful and warm welcome to your bed and breakfast. You set the standard to which we compared all our following accommodation which was then found lacking. From the welcoming scones and afternoon tea to the wonderful breakfast of eggs and your very special smoked salmon everything was superb. The recommendation of dinner in the East Haugh House hotel was well worth the little drive to get there. We only wish we could have stayed longer and could come to visit again.

Room Tip: Each room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I'm rarely compelled to write reviews but this is one special place and deserves a mention. Everything about it is 5 star. Thanks for the most relaxing little break I can remember and a special wee word of thanks to the lovely couple who swapped rooms to make life easier for my wife. I've stayed in guesthouses all over Scotland but this really will take some beating. Looking forward to August for a return visit!

Room Tip: Tullypowrie suite - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Words cannot describe what must be one of the best guest houses in Scotland.
Idyllic surroundings, spacious beautifully furnished bedrooms and a comfortable residents lounge/dining room.

Delicious, well thought out breakfast menu and an opportunity to experience Ann's dinner menu should not be missed.

Don't take anyone's word for this, try it for yourself!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishingvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay, for a weekend retreat or longer. A tree lined driveway with sloping grass banks blanketed with Forget-me-nots and bluebells leads one to a charming cream coloured house backing on to the river Tay. Walk through the woods to the freshly cut grassy river banks and enjoy your fishing (bring your fishing gear). For those who are golf inclined there is a golf course opened to visitors just a 3 minute walk away. For the walkers amongst you, there are numerous walks of varying lengths. One can make ones stay as busy, as strenuous or as relaxed as one desires. Riverwood is ideally located for quick drives to Pitlochry, Aberfeldy and Kenmore. Driving distance of an hour or so will take one to Fort William, Aviemore, Stirling, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. If one feels more adventurous, Oban, Inverness, Edinburgh and Glasgow are all within a two hours drive.

We arrived around 4pm and were given afternoon tea of home made scones with raspberry jam, clotted cream, miniature strawberry tartlets and pancakes. In the evening we decided to try out the dinner menu. I had Dunkeld Smoked Salmon as a starter followed by Pan fried Fillet of Perthshire Beef, with new boiled potatoes and an excellent tomato and lettuce salad. My wife had a starter of Deep fried haggis with a sweet chilli dipping sauce followed by Medallion of Perthshire Venison fillet with boiled new potatoes and green vegetable, all accompanied by fine Chilean wine, and finished off with coffee, chocolates and tablet.

The bedroom and the ensuite were spacious, simply furnished but tastefully decorated in soft warm colours. The ensuite had the added bonus that it had a window giving plenty of ventilation and natural lighting. The only downside to the actual accommodation was that the wardrobe was small as was the dressing table and there was no place to put ones suitcase on. Using the shower needed care as it could be slippery. Some form of rubber matting or nonslip surface would make the ensuite perfect. The TV reception for those wet evenings is excellent and I certainly enjoyed having free Wi Fi.

The breakfast and dinner menu, if one chose to dine in, would leave most hotels in shame. Watch the red squirrels, rabbit, woodpeckers, pigeons and Hamish the hedge hog, from the comfort of the dining room/lounge whilst having your breakfast or afternoon tea. The breakfast menu and quantity is varied to suit all tastes from a full Scottish breakfast that will see one through for the rest of the day to a simple bowl of porridge. The choice is up to ones desire.

Last but certainly not least, Alf and Ann are the perfect hosts and committed to attention to detail and cleanliness. They are the icing on the cake. They made us most welcomed and gave us a lot of information re the local walks of which there are many.

For location, hospitality, and food I would give each 10 points. For the bedroom accommodation I would give nine points.

Will we return? The answer is, definitely and without hesitation yes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JELNairnscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is quite simply the best guest house that we have stayed in. From the wonderfully peaceful setting, to the very warm welcome, and the excellent standard of accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,811 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,944 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood

Property: Riverwood
Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quiet, leafy little conservation village of Strathtay, in the very heart of Highland Perthshire, an enchanting experience awaits you. Riverwood Strathtay, a contemporary house in the Arts and Crafts style, is a luxury bed and breakfast. It sits in 4 acres of garden leading down to the River Tay.Just over 10 minutes drive from Pitlochry and Aberfeldy, we offer perhaps the best base of all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riverwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing