We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay.”
Review of Bendarroch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bendarroch House
Ranked #2 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A perfect stay.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We toured Scotland by motorcycly and picked Bendarroch House as our first stay. We arrived in the afternoon and were very friendly received.
The staff was very helpful, briliant location, nice and comfortable rooms!
Very good breakfast. An absolute recommendation when travelling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knarf237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
52
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can recommend Bendarroch House, which is about 8 miles from Pitlochry. It is a lovely country house in large well kept grounds situated in a quiet location by the river Tay. Rooms are spacious and unusually for B&B guests have sole use of a well furnished sitting room, a TV lounge and a huge conservatory.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elderfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Large rooms with bay windows and clean baths, a winter garden for mediterraneously relaxing even on rainy days, all surrounded by giant exotic pine trees of various types. Did Bonnie Prince Cherlie spend his last comfortable night here before meeting his troops at Glenfinnan? At least, you can feel like he would have felt if he did. With Loch Tay, Aberfeldy, Pitlochry and Blair Atholl only short drives away, this is a good base to explore Perthshire from. Breakfast is served in a short time slot (so don't be late), but it is very good and full of specialties.

Room Tip: Room #1 is definitely what you should go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertram H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Although we had a bad start, we had a very pleasant overall stay. When we arrived, no one was at home (and we weren't early), but the owners arrived pretty soon and were truly sorry. Then we had a mix up with the rooms, but everything was quickly solved to our satisfaction. The owners are really friendly and offer great service, excellent breakfast and a nice chat. The free wifi is more dead than alive and therefore really annoying (but at least it's free) and there is only one TV in a room for all guests, but the house also has a conservatory and you really feel like being in a small castle.
The beds are really excellent - the best sleep during our whole journey - and the little bathroom was nice and cozy. It was relaxing and comfortable. The furniture is a little outdated, but I feel this even gives a special atmosphere. Everything is clean.
We had a good time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Friendliest staff you could ask for. House is in a beautiful location. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcran27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Everything seems to have been said in the previous positive reviews - this place is very well maintained, very clean, and set in beautifully cared for grounds. The River Tay runs at the foot of the hill, visible and audible from the dining room and front guest rooms, and there are good walks to be had along the banks. I didn't miss the TV in my room one bit, as the sheer peace of the hotel would have been spoiled. Not so sure about the lack of tea/coffee-making stuff in the rooms, though, as this would be an extra boon for anybody who just wanted to chill out alone (of course you can perfectly well make a cuppa in the lovely conservatory and take it back upstairs if you wish). That's a minor point, though, a bit quirky but no distraction from what's otherwise a very comfortable retreat in a delightful spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Bendarroch turned out to be a gem of a find. We were looking for an overnight stay in the Aberfeldy area close to Highland Safaris where we had booked a trip and we were delighted to come across this guest house.
Situated picturesquely in its own grounds on the banks of the Tay, Bendarroch resembles a small castle. Our room was huge, comfortable and tastefully furnished with anitique furniture and fittings complimenting the house perfectly.
Sadly for the owner, the other guests booked in for the same evening had cancelled, presumably concerned about pending bad weather. We thought ourselves very lucky to have our 'own castle' for the night.
A hearty breakfast and friendly host completed a perfect package - one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There are no TVs or coffe/tea facilties in the rooms but this is more than made up for by 2 very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrybeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverwood
Riverwood
#1 of 3 in Strathtay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House
Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House
#29 of 66 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendarroch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendarroch House

Property: Bendarroch House
Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bendarroch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bendarroch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing