We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location - Lovely Staff”
Review of Bendarroch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bendarroch House
Ranked #2 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Friendliest staff you could ask for. House is in a beautiful location. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcran27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 125 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

Everything seems to have been said in the previous positive reviews - this place is very well maintained, very clean, and set in beautifully cared for grounds. The River Tay runs at the foot of the hill, visible and audible from the dining room and front guest rooms, and there are good walks to be had along the banks. I didn't miss the TV in my room one bit, as the sheer peace of the hotel would have been spoiled. Not so sure about the lack of tea/coffee-making stuff in the rooms, though, as this would be an extra boon for anybody who just wanted to chill out alone (of course you can perfectly well make a cuppa in the lovely conservatory and take it back upstairs if you wish). That's a minor point, though, a bit quirky but no distraction from what's otherwise a very comfortable retreat in a delightful spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Bendarroch turned out to be a gem of a find. We were looking for an overnight stay in the Aberfeldy area close to Highland Safaris where we had booked a trip and we were delighted to come across this guest house.
Situated picturesquely in its own grounds on the banks of the Tay, Bendarroch resembles a small castle. Our room was huge, comfortable and tastefully furnished with anitique furniture and fittings complimenting the house perfectly.
Sadly for the owner, the other guests booked in for the same evening had cancelled, presumably concerned about pending bad weather. We thought ourselves very lucky to have our 'own castle' for the night.
A hearty breakfast and friendly host completed a perfect package - one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There are no TVs or coffe/tea facilties in the rooms but this is more than made up for by 2 very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrybeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Bendarroch House is an absolutely charming period property set in an idyllic Perthshire location close by the village of Grandtully. After discovering this guesthouse less than 6 months ago, I have been back twice. For me, a visit here provides true escapism.

The property is set a 2 minute walk from Grandtully in beautiful and expansive riverside grounds. Inside the property is decorated in period style and, as well as a dining room, there are 2 guest lounges and a conservatory, which is open during the summer months.

This would not be the ideal choice for those looking for modern, hotel-style facilities as there are no televisions, hairdryers or kettles in the rooms. However, there are tea and coffee-making facilities in the conservatory or lounge (season-dependant!) and a television for guest-use in one of the lounges. Wireless internet access is also available on request.

Breakfast is served at 9am in the dining room and is ordered the night before. The options range from a full cooked breakfast to pancakes, omelette or (my choice) smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

This is an ideal base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside and the house is such a tranquil and romantic setting. The only thing interrupting the perfect calm is the soothing sound of water from the nearby river. On each occasion I have visited the house has been extremely quiet and I have hardly been aware of other guests.

I find the hostess very friendly and accommodating and it was not an issue when I let her know that I would be arriving slightly after the published check-in time.

Bendarroch House is my first choice of accommodation when I need to recharge the batteries for a night or two and never fails to disappoint. I think the tariff is incredibly modest for the quality of accommodation on offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath5467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

What a lovely place to go to unwind. No tv in the rooms so no-one keeping you awake with it on loud next door! Comfy beds! Beautiful conservatory with biscuits, coffee, various teas & fresh milk for you to have when you want. Ample breakfast with good choice, even pancakes with syrup for overseas guests. Owner was lovely too, if you want a good old fashioned pleasant B & B thats gives value for money this is the place for you. If you want hotel facilities then go to one & pay hotel prices!

Room Tip: We had a front room with a view & sound of the flowing river. Bakc rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Upon arriving at the guest house, no-one appeared after I rang the bell. A walk round the (lovely) house was unfruitful, and so I had to phone the owners to let me in. Brigitte, the German hostess, showed me to my room and told me that breakfast was served at 9am. I needed to leave shortly after 8am and so this was too late for me. There was no flexibility. Never before have I been in a B&B where I was told what time to appear for breakfast!
The room was adequate, if slighly dated. There was no TV, nor tea making facilities, no mirror in the room for drying hair, and the toiletries from Lidl cheapened the room. On a plus side, I had one of the best nights sleep ever. The soothing noise from the river outside, and no streetlighting ensured that I slept like a baby.
Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the conservatory, so in the morning I made a coffee and had a couple of pre-packed biscuits. These were spat out as they were soft and well out of date.
Potentially, this could be a fantastic boutique hotel. The views and baronial building are fantastic, but the place needs upgrading, modernising, and better service. The hotel's own website is bilingual - English and German, and I noted that a lot of the guests in the register were German. This is possibly the market that the hosts are aiming for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
408 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,901 reviews
3.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
451 reviews
3.4 mi away
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendarroch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendarroch House

Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range: $71 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bendarroch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bendarroch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing