We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal---In a class of its own!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cotter B&B and Inns
Covington, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phenominal---In a class of its own!”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The White River Inn is without question the quintessential total vacation experience. My words cannot capture and convey what my eyes have seen and enjoyed at the Lodge. It is in a league of its own. The sensational beauty of the lodge and its environment is only eclipsed by the warmth and hospitality of its owners, Moose and Tina Watson. And the trout fishing was "off the charts" good. 30 plus fish on the fly a day was the norm over the course of 5 days. You simply will not believe this place. The construction of the Lodge left nothing without detailed thought. Though you will have your own private bedroom, which is a marvel of its own, you will also have full run of the entire and expansive Lodge. The views of the White River and Ozark foothills are magnificient. Hand-made furniture graces every room. Museum quality animal mounts adorn various rooms. Everywhere you look there is something sensationally gorgeous to behold. The mutiple facets of the Lodge and its surroundings allow for total relaxation. If you have any thought of fishing the White River do not look at any other place. Call Moose, book your trip, and let him take care of everything for you. He will not steer you wrong in any respect. You will not be disappointed in The White River Inn, Moose or Tina. My wife and I arrived as their guests but left as their friends. We will be back regularly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjcollettjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
37
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Second trip to this wonderfully relaxing, amazing retreat overlooking the White River. The back porch/verandah alone is worth the trip. Moose and Tina Watson have a wonderfully relaxing place for enjoying the beauty of the Ozarks and the best trout fishing in the U. S.. They make you feel right at home.

Breakfast was a different treat each morning - the puffed pancakes were a particular favorite. The rooms are large, with amenities like you'd expect at a Four Seasons resort - 600 t.c. sheets, huge living areas, stoves for a romantic touch if you bring your wife.

It's a place that even a confirmed city girl would say, "Thanks for taking me fishing". ANd the fishing was great - lots of rainbows, several good-sized browns. All in all, our group had a fantastic time just hanging out with each other , resting restoring our spirits and lovin' the fishin'. I've recommended this place to both family and friends and have not yet heard anything but glowing reviews. This is the only place to which I've ever given straight 5's.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deep_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The service we experienced at the White River in was exceptional. From the warm welcome of Moose and Tina, to Moose taking us to the local fishing shop to acquire licenses, everything was centered around us, making sure we felt comfortable in their home. Our room was great. In addition to the comfortable beds and large shower was the beautiful sunrise over the White River. Breakfast was delicious and again Moose and Tina made our morning all about us making sure we were enjoying ourselves. We have stayed in many different places all over the World, the White River Inn surely ranks as one of the best homes away from home, and this is primarily thanks to Moose and Tina who really felt like family and not proprietors.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eubadend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I won a fly fishing trip to the White river with Dave and Emily Whitlock . We took my wife's Sister and her husband. The Lodging was the White River Inn. This is probably the finest lodging I have ever had. It is a beautiful log cabin style lodge but do not think you will be roughing it. The furniture is all handmade. The linens are of the highest quality. The beds are extremely comfortable. It is exceptionally clean. The breakfasts are delicious. From the moment you arrive the owners Moose and Tina, Bella (the dog) Cinco (the cat) are gratious and make you feel like one of their family. The views from the back deck are exceptional. I only hope I can go back soon.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wakedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Upon our arrival, we were not only greeted by this breath-takingly beautiful Bed and Breakfast, but also by 2 wonderful people, Moose and Tina Watson. They have created such a warm, relaxing and inviting atmosphere for people to come and experience peace, tranquility and relaxation. The accomodations and hospitality are exquisite, and surpassed our expectations. We will definitely recommend The White River Inn to any and everyone. We feel blessed to have been guests in such a wonderful place. It's a "must experience".... We will be back, time and again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacydyanturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The White River Inn, in Cotter Arkansas is the best bed & breakfast anywhere! The lodge is set at the top of a secluded mountain in the Ozarks. The view is incredible, as is the ambiance and food. The hosts – Moose and Tina are the nicest and most friendly people in the world. Other highlights include: new impeccable furnishings, luxury bath products, oversize rooms and top notch linens. The fly fishing guide that was provided was super experienced and very personable. We caught tons of rainbow trout and can’t wait to return! PS – I am a very picky traveler and this truly is one of the best “high-end” lodges in the country.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATXBambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I recently stayed at The White River Inn, Cotter Arkansas and it was OUTSTANDING ! The Inn is amazing and the large trophy rooms and common areas create comfortable space and atmosphere for conversation, relaxing or just taking in the view of the White River. My guest room are impeccable with a huge bathroom and shower. Bedding, linens, towels as well as the the breakfast and dinner were better than any premium hotel. What made it even better was the warm hospitality offered by the hosts Tina and Moose. This is a great place for getaway and also an excellent venue for an Executive Team retreat. Truely world class accommodations and hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkontheRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotter
8.7 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
280 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
320 reviews
17.3 mi away
Norfork Lake Ozark Mountain Lodge
4.6 mi away
Brass Door Motel
Brass Door Motel
#1 of 1 in Gassville
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White River Inn

Property: The White River Inn
Address: 924 County Road 174, Cotter, AR 72626-9217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Cotter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cotter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White River Inn is an all inclusive Orvis Endorsed Trout fishing lodge. The lodge is warm and luxurious with five large suites.All are appointed with custom made furnishings in the mission style, 600 threadcount linens and leather sofas. 31 wildlife rich acres provide guaranteed privacy as well as spectacular views. The 130 ft back deck is a birdwatchers paradise where bald eagles and other birds of prey are seen daily.There are also a plethora of well fed song birds and hummingbirds to be viewed closely at our feeders. Wonderful food, spectacular trout fishing and southern hospitality are what keep guests coming to stay again and again. We cater to upscale travelers, families, and fly fishermen, as well as spin fishermen looking for one of the finest trout fishing experiences in North America. The lodge is a perfect location for corporate retreats and team building, or family getaways. Come relax and enjoy The White River Inn experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White River Hotel Cotter
The White River Inn Cotter, Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing