We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this enchanting museum”
Review of Mleeta

Mleeta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical place, war museum.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss this enchanting museum”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you hear the enchanter saying "I am the enchanter have been enchanted," then she must have visited this enchanting place. It is Mleeta Landmark and museum about the Lebanese resistance that fought the Israeli occupation and deterred it away from its homeland. The place is truly remarkable and enriched with the necessary information that will mirror the truth of what really happened in that region back in the nineties. The place is gigantic and takes 2-3 hours to finish visiting all its sections. Have you every visited a museum that was installed in the bosom of nature? If you did not, then this is a place for your. They even have a website, this is http://www.mleeta.com/mleeta/eng/index.html. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank arajeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“where the land speaks to heavens”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The experience of visiting Hezbollah theme park is beyond words. If one has to understand the present Lebanese history, then its a "must visit" site. It transports one back to the 80's when the Resistance forces fought with Israelis to push them out.
The thoughts and emotions that have gone in designing the place- be in architecture or in landscaping, is something one has to see to believe. I got goose bumps while listening to the war stories.
First we saw a small documentary on the war. I could not get the entire essence of the war ( while watching the film) as I had to read the subtitles. Our guide, Mr Mohammad was extremely well informed on the subject. We must have asked him hundreds of questions based on our knowledge acquired via media. Some of them definitely were uncomfortable for him. But, he was very patient in explaining to us each of the aspects. His narrative skills are such that it will move even the strongest opposition. Allah Yaatik Allafi!
My voice chocked, thinking that the resistance force did not have enough weapons to fight their enemy. Standing in front of the prayer room of a fighter or inside the bunker or in front of a shoot out point - the experience was just too overwhelming.
I feel this is a very intelligent way of telling the world - their stories. The version we get from media is usually biassed and one sided. We need to listen to both sides before passing any judgement.
I am thankful to Ministry of Tourism in Lebanon for having given the world a chance to listen to the other side of the war with Israel.
May truth prevail....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Top984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Old Hezbollah base- very unique”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was an eye opening site...and very informative. This basically used to be an old base for Hezbollah (as I understand it). You can see where the resistance fighters lived, slept, remnants of battle badges (Israeli tank, helmets, etc.). Words really can't do justice nor can photos. It was surreal visiting this place. We hired a private car in Beirut to drive us out here. It was not too expensive, couple hours driving and we were there. It was virtually empty when we got there...no people at all aside from a couple of workers. We eventually ran into a local family and the first thing they asked was "Do you like Israel? If you do, you cannot be here". Yep...

DO say thank you, this is great, very educational, etc.
DO NOT in any way, insult or question their beliefs, system, or history. You wouldn't do that at a war memorial in the U.S., so don't do it here either. Have some respect please.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank StilaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Do not miss this museum if you want to understand recent Lebanese history”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Mleeta is a brilliantly designed war museum depicting the history of of the resistance who fought against the Israeli army in southern Lebanon in 1982. The site is where the resistance fighters actually lived and fought, and you can look at the surrounding hills and imagine the battles that are depicted in the displays. There is a film shown in various languages and the volunteer guides also speak many languages. There are walkways showing bunkers and a collection of tanks and other remnants of war in a large sunken central display area. There are many areas for quiet contemplation and it is quite a spiritual place. Another building houses a restaurant. Make it a day trip and combine it with a walk through the Chouf Cedar Reserve.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mleeta also viewed

 
Byblos, Mount Lebanon Governorate
Barouk, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 

Been to Mleeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing