We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good place at a good price”
Review of Greens Cottage

Greens Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greens Cottage
Reviewed February 3, 2013

thought this is going to be a shabby place when my friend told me that he has booked a cottage at malakkappara...but to my surprise it was a well furnished, spacious and clean place with people to help us with our food etc, which was even better...so, what i feel is that this place, for people like us who have come to enjoy the forest, is a good place and this place also has a pretty good view of the lush green tea estate....so, i give this place an 8/10.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajukochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed many times and found the atmosphere cool, relaxing and calm. In Fort Kochi slang , its a 'cool place'. They will arrange the food if you order in advance and also there are nature tours. Valparai is just 20 Kms away..

Room Tip: There are just 3 bedrooms and suggest to take the front room which is near to the main door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davis_Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had booked Greens Cottage for three nights from 10 NOV 12, as I was impressed be the descriptions, pictures, feedbacks on Trip Advisor etc. and paid 50% as advance.
But once we reached there... it was really not worth anything but a workmens' settlement like building. A road side building not even wihout own parking area! not at all courteous care taker ans the so called cook! and a public place where in anyone passing by the Sholayar - Valparai Road can run in!!
Not much but we had to flee off the next morning!!.
All what said about Greens Cottage are False and Fake.
The Tariff does not justify, the facilities - NIL except the mattress which is bit comfortable, Amenities - NIL, Services - NIL, .......
Beware before booking this property.

Room Tip: The place is far off from Valparai and below average a property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zernaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is just an average place . We went to book this property purely based on Trip advisor reviews-but was totally disappointed .

We reached the place in the night . Only BSNL mobile has got range in this area and both of us do not use BSNL . so there was no way we could reach the cottage to let them know that we need dinner . Nevertheless, after we reached the caretaker managed to bring food from nearby hotel . But next day morning , though we told them in advance, the food was served very late. As there was no power and the cooking gas was over :) :) .finally the guy managed to get a kerosine stove to make breakfast
There are lots of beautiful places to explore . They would arrange a jeep (chargeable )

Good part : good views , good scenery, lot of unexplored nature around. Staff is courteous
Not so good part :
It is just a building with 3 bed rooms with no activity to do within the campus . Parking is only road side . They would cook food only if you ask . so if you plan to book this place, be very very specific on food and what time you need it to be served . The bath rooms are OK , Not very clean
Beware not to get fooled by people who would come to the property and would try to sell tea powder packets to you - IT IS TOTAL WASTE

Overall : It is an average property. It would be better if they have a professional cook arranged as there are no good hotels around . They can improve the property by providing some activities within the campus

Room Tip: No Tips as only 3 rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mraj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is indeed a good place, reasonably priced for one to just relax, relax and relax.
The amenities and facilities are minimum but wont affect or distract you.
the views are just amazing, the air is just fresh, and the mix matched music of the rain, wind, the birds.... just soothing.
So nice a place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKPalackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

it was an amazing experience for us. Only jungle and us. We enjoyed a lot. The jungle safari was too good. We enjoyed the nature sounds in the night. It was beyond words. The mountain view from their was so good.

Thanks greens cottage for the wonderful night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was a great stay at The Cottage.So cool So calm and so freshening.
Rooms are not that great. But service and the care taker was excellent.

Room Tip: Best Option for Sholayar, Athirappilly and or Valparai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DEC26IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparai
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saravana Grand
Hotel Saravana Grand
#1 of 2 in Valparai
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
0.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Briar Tea Bungalows - Valparai
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Break
Hotel Holiday Break
#4 of 17 in Valparai
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Family Guest House
Petra Family Guest House
#1 of 17 in Valparai
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greens Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greens Cottage

Address: Door No: 17 / 1214 Sholayar Nagar, Valparai, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Valparai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Valparai
Also Known As:
Greens Cottage Valparai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing