We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful period house bed&breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daybrook House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daybrook House
Ranked #1 of 4 Powick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful period house bed&breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The 17th century house is beautifully maintained with many period pieces of furniture dotted around it. The welcome on arrival from the owner Jackie, couldn't have been warmer and more friendly, she really made us feel at home. The room was at the top of 2 flights of stairs in the house under the eves but was spacious, well appointed and the bed was so comfortable !
Breakfasts were cooked to order and were delicious. We will certainly go back again. Its one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at. It's location is great for visits to Malvern and Worcester alike so an ideal venue for a w/e holiday break. Great value for money a real gem.

Room Tip: If you have a difficulty with climbing stairs, the top rooms might not be your best option, so cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fabulous place to stay with loads of character and precise detailing . With a nice friendly welcome form jackie( the owner) . In the house there is a warm atmosphere and cosy bedrooms . All in all its a lush place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dblocksidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked into Daybrook House for 1 night, to break a return trip from Sidmouth, to our home further north. What a unique experience it was.

This lovely historic house is situated within a lovely, well tended garden. Despite being close to a main road, we found it very quiet inside the house. In fact from entering the property we felt as if we were stepping back in time, into a beautifully furnished and decorated 'old english' house and garden. We planned travel times badly and arrived earlier than expected - however the charming owner Jackie, welcomed us graciously and gave us a choice of rooms.

What can I say about the house and rooms apart from fabulous, - if you like beautiful antiques, wooden beams and staircases, tasteful well planned rooms and lovely comfortable beds/bed linen, this is a must visit. We had the use of a charming living room and wi-fi/ lap top was available. It was so quiet and restful, we felt as though we had rented a whole house to ourselves.The cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious and the strawberries and yoghurt unusual, but very moreish. Jackie was very helpful providing information re both Worcester and more local place to visit/eat. Thank you Jackie, we will definitely be back, with friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I don't know if this is in Sawdey's guide, but it ought to be. It's a high quality, characterful B & B dripping in interesting collectables and antiques. The breakfast was top notch, really, really good ingredients well cooked. I am not normally a breakfast person, but I tucked in here with a will to things like strawberries and yoghurt, home made Seville marmalade, the sweetest, best seasoned fried tomatoes I've had for years. The downside? It's on a very busy road, but there is good double glazing and a high wall round the pretty garden, besides which nothing stops me sleeping. Also, I don't think the rooms needed to be so heavily furnished. Our attic room, for example, had two armchairs that we didn't need and we were squeezing past them to get round the bed. For an evening meal, we found the pub, just a stroll up the road, served good value bar food. All in all it was a great B&B if you love antiques and all things old and quaint, if you care about value for money and you want a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: Lovely characterful attic room, but shower room is pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thoughtful100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daybrookhouse, Owner at Daybrook House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I agree with you about the arm chairs. Originally I had just the one chair. A number of guests said that they would appreciate two chairs. I am going to remove the single bed in October, when the last of the bookings for that room as a twin room are finished. That will free up much more space. Unfortunately the house being what it is, I cannot make the shower rooms any larger. Kind regards, Jackie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this BB a year ago and enjoyed my stay so much I returned for a second visit. House full of history and character. Gardens are lovely and owner Jackie is very friendly and welcoming. She cooks a good English Breakfast. Excellent value for money. Have recommended this BB to all my North American friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We wanted a 2 night stay while visiting a show at The Three Counties Showground, and picked Daybrook House from quite a large choice, and oh wow, we were so delighted! Staying here was like going back in time - a beautiful 300 year-old house with old oak staircases and inglenook fireplace, all sympathetically furnished and maintained. Although near quite a busy road, there was no traffic noise in our room, as all the rooms are having oak inner windows fitted behind the original windows. The garden was just the icing on the cake, with gravel seating areas catching the sun, amid lush planting. Superb, and Jackie, our hostess, couldn't have been more helpful. Seriously underpriced!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Friendly and helpful owner, on arrival greeted by coffee, clean and comfortable room, very good breakfast. Lovely listed house, tastefully furnished. Handy for traveling in area and a good centre for Malvern and Worchester

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powick
5.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daybrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daybrook House

Property: Daybrook House
Address: 1 Kings End Road, Powick WR2 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Powick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Worcester Bed and Breakfast: Accommodation, at Daybrook House Guest House. . The house Is of the queen Ann Period, Built during the 1700s. Thankfully It now has the benefit of 20th century central heating & plumbing together with a television In each en-suite bed room. The house & garden have been featured in a number of monthly publications. Verdict A Great Bed & Breakfast Guest House near Worcester.We are situated 2 miles from junction 7, on the M5, approx., 2 miles from the Worcester city center, making us well situated for visiting such places as The Malvern Hills, home of the Tolkien stories. Worcester Cricket Ground, The Three Counties Show Ground, Elgar'S Birth Place, Worcester Race Course, The Very Lovely Spetchley Gardens & Worcester Rugby club, Plus many more places of interest. Go ahead book bed and breakfast at Daybrook House. Worcester a great place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Daybrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing