We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a walk”
Review of Chasewater Railway

Chasewater Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chasewater Railway operates heritage steam and diesel trains on Sundays and Bank Holiday Mondays throughout the year, most Saturdays Easter to October and certain weekdays throughout the summer. The Railway is rapidly gaining recognition as one of the major visitor attractions within the Walsall, Lichfield & Cannock areas. With its policy of great value fares and membership fees, it offers an excellent day out for families, friends and railway enthusiasts as well as corporate and social hospitality. The Railway operates passenger trains from its headquarters at Brownhills West to Chasetown Church Street, with intermediate stations at Norton Lakeside and Chasewater Heaths. A round trip of nearly 4 miles takes about 45 minutes. Day Rover tickets offer unlimited travel on all trains operating on the day of issue.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice for a walk”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even in the English deep wid-winter of April, its a nice day out. We took the dogs, mainly for a bit of a walk, but we were quite surprised we could also take them on the train too, so we did. Its nice that its quite flat, but you can go off-path in some area's should you want to. The parking seems straightforward and organised and there are lots of refreshment facilities available should you want to. One word of caution; Google Maps navigation will try and take you to the boat house/marina where there isn't much parking. Instead, follow the signs off the A5 and you'll be in the right place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitalDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    44
    8
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great day out for very little cost”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went here to take my little boy to see the steam trains. He had a great time. The main train was not working as it was broke but we went on a mini mine train for only £1 each and then went on a smaller steam train for just a donation. They have a free small museum there and a toy shop. We had a great carvery for only £4.95 each they even gave us a plate for little one instead of us buying a whole kids meal.
After looking at all the trains we went down to the park and looked at the boats and ducks. This was a fab day out and we will def go again in the summer.

TIP - Steam trains only run on a sunday and bank hold accroding to web site

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amanda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Members of staff are terrible”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The cafe was full we got a table we got asked to leave because the dogs could be not in the area even through they was good and no problem the area were they was allowed was full the member of staff had no customer service skills she was shouting the whole of cafe was looking she tried to make u look that big it was an awful experience

Helpful?
2 Thank Walsallf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited a few times,very relaxing area, free parking and few cafes, wild life. Great for children too.What more can you ask on a sunny Sunday afternoon :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank izzy7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hykeham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My 21 months old daughter loves trains and this was such a perfect day for her. she had a ride on a steam train and look around the others after shopping for one in the souvenir shop. great price for a memorable day. she even had her own ticket :-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chasewater Railway also viewed

Burntwood, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Chasewater Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing