We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not always better than two in a bush”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Knowl Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a difficult hotel to review, not because it was uncomfortable, unfriendly or even inefficient, it was just, well ordinary, especially for the four star tag. But hey ho ordinary can be good for one night and we only chose the hotel because of the location anyway. A Premier inn might have been better had there been one nearby.

Moreover, the outdoor area seems to be used for parties and had we wished to have a quite hour before going out for the evening this would not have been impossible because a birthday party was raging outside, only feet from the room. One could hear raucous conversation and laughter; great for the party goers but not so good for residents wishing to rest.

May be check if there is a party on beforehand?

Room Tip: Try and be further away from the outdoor dining / drinking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Ordinary is not what we strive for and falling short of your expectations is disppointing for both you and us. Obviously you should have been advised of the party and i am looking into this. If you would like to discuss this further with me please do contact me on 01628826622.
Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 459 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location, good size car park, Very clean hotel overall, we were upgraded to a suite whih was a lovely surprise and the room was 5* - just excellent. Beautifully decorated with excellent facilities, seperate roll top bath and shower. Breakfast and staff were fantastic, felt very welcome and relaxed.The first impressions of the outside of the hotel is disappointing and doesnt do the inside of the hotel any justice. They should get rid of the pub style chalkboards and put some better signs up. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will get one, as some rooms have traffic noise from the front,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always interesting to get feedback from our guests. Your point is noted about the outside and in particular the chalk boards. I am pleased everything else about your stay was enjoyable.
Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a night as at a friends party. Plenty of parking and had a nice feel to it. Our room was a double but downstairs in the courtyard ground floor. So it was very cool and very comfortable, also very clean. The only problem was that is does state you can book in at 2pm, but our room wasn't ready till after 3pm. A staff member did say they would look into that as it should be 3pm not 2pm. A really nice breakfast and all staff very friendly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahphilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review us. I do apologise about the confusion over check in times and will ensure this is clarified.
Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently held my sons christening at the Bird and Hand Country Inn and I was very impressed! I booked the Bird in Hand without viewing it so I was slighty apprehensive about how the day would go but I shouldn't off been. When the party arrived we were all greeted by very friendly helpful staff who couldnt off done more and had smiles on thier faces all day, we were shown to the garden as I had booked a BBQ for 70. The food was beautiful and there was plenty off it and I had compliments about it from all my guests :-) I'm very pleased with the service I received and I would highly recommend the bird in hand to anyone considering holding an event.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for you lovely comments. Yes you were brave to book a christening with us without having viewed the venue- i am so pleased we did not disappoint.
Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Bird in Hand pub, a favourite of ours, has a warm old worldy feel and lovely welcoming staff. We always enjoy visiting here, particularly during the winter when it is nice to sit near the fire. There are plenty of parking spaces even though you can tell by the number of cars that this is a very popular place. Our last visit was to the restaurant for a special celebration meal. Food was good but we did feel the more formal atmosphere in the restaurant didn't quite live up to that in the more spacious and traditional bar area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ali966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments - it is always useful to have an objective point of view. Yes the restaurant is very different from the bar area which can be a little disconcerting. I am pleased you are still happy to come back.
Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Plenty of parking spaces, friendly welcoming staff, lovely rooms, powerfull shower, everything about this place is excellent, the breakfast is 10 out of 10. No complaints whatsoever, quality establishment with friendly staff, credit to whoever owns/runs it..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to me and my staff to get feed back from our guests ( good and bad). In this case your glowing review motivates us to continue to strive for perfection. Thanks You. Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Another pleasant stay at the Bird in Hand, slightly downgraded from my last stay for 2 reasons; firstly the rooms were extremely stuffy (admittedly on one of the hottest nights of the year) even with both Velux windows open and air conditioning would be a good addition, and secondly the breakfast plates were extremely dirty. Apart from that, everything is still good and we also ate in the bar this time, the food was delicious and very nicely presented. I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdInHandKnowlHill, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Poor you having to suffer on such a hot night. I will ensure that fans are put in the rooms next time. Unfortunately only the luxury rooms and suites have air conditioning at the moment. Point noted about the plates and I apologise for this. I hope we will see you again. Caroline Shone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowl Hill
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
4.4 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
633 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
2.5 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
99 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crazy Fox Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird In Hand Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Address: Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Knowl Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knowl Hill
Price Range: $77 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bird In Hand Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Country Hotel Reading
Reading Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing