We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Knowl Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed overnight for my boyfriends birthday,all the staff were very friendly and we had a fantastic meal in the bar by the open fire. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated throughout. We had a lovely time & would definately return and I will recommend to all my family & friends.

Room Tip: Go for a Luxury double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 432 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on a KGB break & had a lovely time.
The staff were all great, friendly and very efficient. Our room was very tastefully decorated and was clean and well presented - the bathroom was spotless. There was plenty of tea, coffee etc and the bottled waters welcome addition.
The bar is lovely and cosy, with a great selection of beers. We ate in on the first night, food was tasty and plentiful.
I would recommend upgrading to the full English breakfast as it is just what you need to set you up for the day.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Without a doubt one of the best restaurants in the area. Nothing is too much trouble, the food is great and really varied. We tend to visit when my daughter has been in the 'silver book' at school. We offer to take her out to lunch to celebrate and she always chooses to go to the Bird in Hand. I should say that my daughter is severely disabled and tube fed. And there are very, very few places where we are as accepted and as welcomed as we are here. To be honest, to us that alone might be enough to return to a place, but the food and the service at the Bird in Hand really is great too.

I have also been a guest at various meetings and those facilities are also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have have a great weekend staying here. We were tempted by a wowcher offer, but would certainly come again without one. The rooms are spacious, and modern. Good food in the pub and at breakfast, and exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. The only improvement I could ask for would be real butter at breakfast..but that is being picky! Oh! and a bigger win at Ascot would have been nice too ;)

Room Tip: There was some noise from a band in the function room - but they were so good it was really a plus p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Got the once in a blue moon chance for a night away by ourselves. Lunch, dinner and breakfast very good. Joined in the Sunday night pub quiz and was good entertainment. Rooms comfortable and warm, woke up to snow. Great beer choice, it's a warm and inviting hotel and would recommend. Also put the rugby on the big screen for us, nothing was a hassle for them. Staff friendly and helpful. Everything was as it should be.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoke18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

stayed for 2 nights on KGB deal. The hotel was larger than expected and we had a room in the annexe it was large with lovely touches such as mineral water and biscuits. The bed was comfy and we had a lovely comfortable nights sleep. The only disappointment was the shower wasn't very powerful. The pub was lovely and welcoming with a real fire and delicious food. We ate there both nights and had lovely steak, stuffed chicken, cheese board amongst other things. Service was friendly and knowledgable. Continental breakfast was included it needed "topping up" more regularly though was very enjoyable. We upgraded to a delicious full english on our second morning for £5. We spent a day in London £14.90 return from Maidenhead including a tube pass, £3.40 parking, Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We had room 2 lovely quiet and near the bar. on the ground floor nice and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rthereanyfreenames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As a business traveller needing to stay in the Reading area on a weekly basis, I had tried a number of hotels but always disappointed but did not give up and kept looking for that home from home feel which every business traveller needs. I could not believe my luck when I finally found the Bird in Hand, nothing is too much trouble in always making my stay very comfortable and welcoming. Spotlessly clean rooms, and most importantly a very comfy bed with a good shower! A great choice of food for both dinner and breakfast always cooked to a high standard and the friendly staff with a keen eye on customer service makes the whole experience one that you want to share with every business traveller in the area that has not found this little gem on the A4!!!! Also a great place to hire a meeting room for business meetings and to invite colleages/clients for an evening dinner in the restaurant. Thank you to all the staff for making my time away from home that little bit more bareable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowl Hill
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
5.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
718 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,347 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
5.4 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird In Hand Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Address: Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Knowl Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knowl Hill
Price Range: $107 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Bird In Hand Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Country Hotel Reading
Reading Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing