We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must come when in Camden”
Review of Postmasters Grill

Postmasters Grill
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Camden, the Old Camden Post Office has been reborn as Postmasters Grill. The restaurant has an amazing selection of appetizers, salads, and extraordinary contemporary American Cuisine. Chef Scott's focus is bringing you only the finest and freshest ingredients. Postmasters Grill is the perfect spot for a romantic evening, business engagement or a relaxed dinner in our dining room, bar or garden!
Panama City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must come when in Camden”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited during lunch and ate in the bar in the basement. All the food was excellent and the waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly. The large crème brulee custard has a wonderful caramel flavor and with fresh berries and whipped cream on top. The quiche my sister got was the best she ever tasted. I had the blue cheese grilled chicken sandwich which I loved and I'm not a fan of blue cheese. The lunch menu is very inexpensive especially compared to other restaurants of its type. I didn't notice a kids menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A disappointing visit, considering other diner's reports.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

First, this is a great restoration of a historical treasure for the city. The wait-staff was attentive and efficient, but something was amiss in the kitchen. Considering that there were few other diners in the restaurant, it took an exceedingly long time to deliver our orders. One order was undercooked and two others were served without the sauce listed. Overall, I must report that this was an un-inspired and lackluster performance for the prices charged.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Davetewx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Fun! This restaurant offers upscale dining in a small town. My sister-in-law took me here because she knows I love neat finds. This is a gem. They were all decked out for Christmas. We ate in the pub downstairs which is quite nice. This is an old post office they converted into a restaurant. The food is a Big City twist on Southern and Cajun. We had a great time. The food, art and atmosphere will make for great memories.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Americanflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting Restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant. There is a more formal dining room upstairs and a bar / pub style eatery in the basement. Arrived with my co-worker and asked the two ladies at the front desk for a table for 2. We were asked if we had reservations and we said no. They then advised us that the dining room was quite formal with white table clothes and it was open by reservation only. Uuuuuuuh? However, we were welcome to eat downstairs. Now, we didn't show up in jeans and boots which seems to be the standard dress in Camden. We were both wearing suit pants, dress shoes, and dress shirts. Just no ties or jackets.

Went downstairs and got a table. I liked the decor. Service was okay, not great, but not bad. Food was very good - in fact the French Onion soup was some of the best that I have had in years.

So, not sure what the whole deal with reservations for white table clothes is, but the food in the basement was good and the atmosphere was quite casual.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent, surprising find in a small rural town.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We finally got a chance to come here after friends have been coming and raving about it. We decided to eat downstairs and we loved the vibe! Sadly we were so intrigued by all the small plates and tastings that we never moved to the main entrees. We had a great time here and some great food! Highly recommend coming here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmasters Grill also viewed

 

Been to Postmasters Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing