We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bismarck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are not 5-star but good enough. However what impressed me the most was the staff. The staff here is just awesome. They are courteous, very helpful, always cheerful & I can without hesitation state that they have been the best amongst all hotels I have ever stayed. We will definitely stay here again when we visit DeGray Lake again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank bondj303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to get away for a couple of days and relax but have some recreational things to do. Pictures of this place are very pretty and seeing it in person didn't disappoint us. You can rent any kind of boat. you can play golf,swim,ride horses,ride bikes,camp or just do nothing! We stayed in the lodge but they have cabins and yurts also. Property is very well maintained. It is perfect to bring the whole family. They offer things to do for every age.

Room Tip: If you stay in the lodge, get there early, like noon, to get a room with a lake view, even though yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our family reunion has been held at DeGray Lodge since 1983. While I have great memories of DeGray -- skiing, playing golf, fishing, swimming, biking and more, I have never been fond of the lodge restaurant or its waitstaff... until this year. Ashley was our waitress last weekend (July 24-27, 2014) and she was johnny, er...joanie-on-the-spot; not to mention, she was delightful, courteous and cute. I found myself looking forward to eating at the lodge restaurant -- first time in 31 years! Thank you, Ashley, for adding more joy to our reunion weekend. I would be remissed if I did not give a shoutout to the cook...the chicken strips were some of the best I've ever had. As well as, the chocolate cake (I don't remember the name, but it had a "cheesecake" consistency, with chocolate and vanilla whipped cream on the side) -- get a piece...you'll be glad you did. Thanks DeGray for a great, all-around experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd_from_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist III at DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this delightful review on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to DeGray Resort Lodge and the Shoreline Restaurant! We’re glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we certainly appreciate the opportunity to host your family reunion for all of these years. Thanks too, for the kind remarks about our server, Ashley, and our cooking staff. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the Shoreline signature dessert, “Kahlua Kayak”, and we encourage you to try the “Eagle’s Nest” signature dessert during your next visit. We’re pretty confident that you’ll love it, as well. Thanks again for sharing the highlights of your experience, and we look forward to seeing you and your family again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family reunion has been held at Degray for the past 24 years. It is a perfect place for us with a beautiful lodge, great golf course (in awesome shape) terrific marina with great boats for rent, horseback riding,picnic pavilions, camping sites, fishing and this year they've added a disc golf course. Some years have been better than others, but this year was the BEST we've ever had. The remodeled rooms, the new menu and quality of the food in the restaurant and the service were all exceptional. I hate to mention certain employees, for fear of leaving some out, but I have to say that in the restaurant Jay (our favorite waiter for the last 7 years), Linda and Shelly were terrific. Our family is not the easiest to keep up with - coming and going - adding to tables and moving to other tables when other family members arrive. The wait staff felt like they were part of our family (Jay practically is) and took great care of us.
Jackie left a sweet note for us when she cleaned our room. Darla and her fellow staff members behind the desk were as friendly as any folks you'll find. The one staff member who shone the brightest was Samantha. She was the most courteous, considerate person as she cleaned the facility and kept smiling at us.
We were booked already for 2015 and this morning I booked us for 2016! Can't wait to be back with my family enjoying this awesome place!

Room Tip: 329, 330 and 331 may have the best view of the lake (and fireworks show if you want to see it from i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mercyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past 2 years. It's a very well kept lodge. The location is beautiful. Arkansas State Parks are some of the best parks I've been to. They have activities daily for all ages. A dock. Dinning room is nice. Staff is so friendly!!! You can rent bikes and ride the trails. There are quite a few boat ramps to unload. Very clean. In the Summer evenings take a walk around the property, the fire flies are amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blondiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our group of 5 seniors (2 American, 3 British) recently completed a two-week roadtrip of the southern states. Our route took us through Arkansas on our way to Branson. We decided to experience staying in a state park accommodation for the first-ever time. Were we ever surprised! It was a wonderful stay at an exceptional lodge, right on the water's edge. Nice and quiet as we like it, the rooms were immaculate and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We asked for - and got - three rooms facing the lake. After a day of traveling we were all ready for the pool. The water was clean and sparkling, and we had the pool all to ourselves that evening. This is a very relaxing spot, indeed. Be sure to check out the lovely carved mantel in the lobby when you arrive. We elected to have our breakfast on the road, and were spoiled for choice when we headed back to the interstate. We would definitely stay here again - for a longer period.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 16smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff is extremely nice. The rooms are clean, the beds are a bit hard and the hotel is a bit older so the rooms can be a bit loud from hallway noise at times. Pool is nice and clean. The restaurant is very slow but also very good and always wonderful waitstaff. The swim beaches and the marina are great ways to spend the day. This is a wonderful park and one of my favorite places in Arkansas.

Room Tip: There are only 9 true lake view rooms and they are first come first serve so plan to check in early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcwifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bismarck
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
#1 of 11 in Arkadelphia
465 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
921 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Arkadelphia
178 reviews
15.7 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
106 reviews
13 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge

Address: 2027 State Park Maintenance Rd, Bismarck, AR 71929-7308
Location: United States > Arkansas > Bismarck
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 94 guest rooms is equipped with a flat panel television with satellite programming, complimentary Wi-Fi and hard-wire internet access, a mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron with ironing board. Additional amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (available seasonally), playground, sand volleyball court, bicycle rentals, horseshoe pit, gift shop, lighted walking path, and day-use courtesy dock. Explore the Island Trail which follows the western shoreline of the island. To further enhance your stay, the lodge includes a grand lobby with stone fireplace, indoor hot tub, business center,fitness center, conference center, the Shoreline Restaurant, and Blue Heron Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Degray Lake Hotel Bismarck
Degray Lake Resort
Degray Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing