We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bismarck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Avery, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our daughter held her wedding there in May of 2013. Everything was so beautiful. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful and the views are spectacular. The rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and comfortable. The restaurant had good food and wonderful "hot water cornbread"!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamG418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    66
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
57
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The very best thing about DeGray Lake Resort is the employees. They were all so friendly and helpful - from the marina to the restaurant to housekeeping, front desk -everyone. We did not meet one grouchy employee.

The lodge is clean and well maintained. The rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable. The beds were good. There's so much to do, we spent very little time in our room. Each room has a refrigerator and a coffee pot. There was a common use microwave just outside the spa.

The restaurant in the lodge is fine, the food is average. The view from the restaurant is fantastic looking out over the lake.

There are only 2 picnic tables near the lodge. We wanted to picnic and even cookout and that wasn't possible at the lodge. There are places for that at the swimming beach.

We rented bikes for an hour and rode around the park. There were also nice walking trails.

We rented a ski boat and a pontoon (party barge). The marina people are great. They have a limited number of rental boats, so if a boat goes down you may find yourself in a jam. The lake is beautiful and not crowded at all.

We were there over the 4th of July. There were lots of planned activities throughout the day. Watermelon from Hog Heaven fruit stand was the best for the watermelon eating contest. We stopped and bought a few on the way home. They had fireworks that night which were really nice.

Arkadelphia is only about 10-15 minutes down the road. Several restaurants there (Cracker Barrel) and a Wal-Mart.

Great place to visit, would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuresinOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

wonderful view. staff is very helpful and fun and friendly the cleaning ladies are excellent! anything you need you can get it. defiantly stay here and help support the state park. only thing I didn't like was the prices of the food at the resteraunt, there are not to many places to eat outside of the lake area. & there was a muggy smell but not terrible. overall - awesome we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family has been holding our reunions here for many years but this is the first year that we have stayed in the resort. The rooms are beginning to show their age and ours had a musty smell that was coming from someplace, maybe the a/c unit. The bathroom is very small, so much so that you have to stand by the tub to close the door. The room was clean other than the smell. We were only there for two nights so it wasn't that big of a deal. The resort otherwise is beautiful with lots of hiking trails and the restaurant has some awesome food. Our waitress (Tylerann) for most of our stay was awesome in handling our large group. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We have our reunion booked there for the next two years so I know we will return.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view room be sure and get one above the 1st floor. We waited an additional 45 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momto2boys07
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the lodge for 3 days. The first night, there was a water leak in our room so we were moved to another room. The second day, the power was out for quite a while due to the storm. The third night, we lost power and had no a/c. When we checked out, the a/c was still not on. In spite of all the issues, we enjoyed our stay. The resort grounds are beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooms are very basic but they are kept clean and are sufficient. We didnt come to the lodge to stay in our room anyway!
We are planning to return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momto2boys07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Employees are friendly and helpful. stay away from spa. Worst and most expensive pedicure I have ever had! Aweful! They did redo the polish the next day but I gat better ones at Wal-Mart!!
Grounds are beautiful and very clean. Close to swimming, boating , etc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist III at DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding DeGray Lake Resort State Park. DeGray’s Lodge features sweeping views of DeGray Lake from its island setting. Amenities include a heated swimming pool, indoor hot tub, fitness room, and business center. The Lodge’s Shoreline Restaurant offers a full menu plus banquet services. Join our park interpreters for sunset cruises, snorkeling trips, and guided hikes. Outdoor workshops and special events are held throughout the year, Including the Eagles Et Cetera Weekend in January that celebrates the bald eagles that winter of DeGray Lake.
The Blue Heron Spa located on the first floor of The Lodge at DeGray Lake Resort State Park, offers massage treatments, facial treatments, body treatments, nail services, and waxing and beauty services. On behalf of Arkansas State Parks and DeGray Lake Resort State Park, we would like to apologize for your disappointing pedicure at the spa. We have spoken to the spa owner since this is a concessionaire service offered for our guest. She also has apologized for the unsatisfactory pedicure and will be working with her staff to improve and meet our guest’s expectations.
Thank you again for providing feedback on your experience, we hope you will plan your next vacation, getaway or event to DeGray, Arkansas’s resort state park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julatten, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having spent most of our times in cities it was refreshing to find this little piece of tranquillity. The rooms and resort are stunning and the only blemish on our stay was that the wait staff need more training. They were very polite and fun but brought out one dish when I hadn't finished my first, then brought the bill before I had ordered dessert, left all the plates on the table while I ate dessert and forgot one of my husband sides. Nothing major but the little things can take a good stay to great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bismarck
13.1 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
857 reviews
15.7 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
103 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
#1 of 11 in Arkadelphia
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Arkadelphia - Caddo Valley
19.0 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge

Property: DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Address: 2027 State Park Maintenance Rd, Bismarck, AR 71929-7308
Location: United States > Arkansas > Bismarck
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 94 guest rooms is equipped with a flat panel television with satellite programming, complimentary Wi-Fi and hard-wire internet access, a mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron with ironing board. Additional amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (available seasonally), playground, sand volleyball court, bicycle rentals, horseshoe pit, gift shop, lighted walking path, and day-use courtesy dock. Explore the Island Trail which follows the western shoreline of the island. To further enhance your stay, the lodge includes a grand lobby with stone fireplace, indoor hot tub, business center,fitness center, conference center, the Shoreline Restaurant, and Blue Heron Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Degray Lake Hotel Bismarck
Degray Lake Resort
Degray Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing