We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Tent Camping”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bismarck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxury Tent Camping”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We tent camped in area "B". If you are one who wants a well lit, city-park like, well manacured grounds, then this is not the park for you. If however, you are one who wants a feeling of being out in the woods with great amenities, with sites that are spaced well apart from one another, then consider staying here. Yes there were bugs but, no mosquitos. Lots of posion ivy but, I could see some signs of attempted posion ivy control. There were little trails through the woods from many of the sites to the batroom. For the money, {$15}, I was very happy with this park. I have paid $25 to stay at parks with much worse Bathrooms, just as much posion ivy, more bugs, and they packed you in like a can-of-sardines. I've attached some pictures. We were very happy this park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank canoe_man_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
59
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, TX
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I just recently returned from a weekend stay at DeGray's. We had a wedding and a reunion there all in the same weekend.
Check in was quick and efficient. The place is gorgeous! Our room was a little on the small side. The you almost have to step into the tub to close the door. And the bed are too small for a tall person. But the rooms were clean and that was important.
This resort is a great place for a wedding and reception. Also for a reunion. There is plenty to do and see.
The dining hall has a lovely view of the lake. The food was good and so was the service.
I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

What a great experience. Fabulous resort! The lodge is very clean and up to date; the staff is friendly and very accommodating. There is something for everyone from fishing, hiking, antiquing, shopping, there is even a wonderful on-site spa and mini-gym. Plan to return with my family for a reunion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmboler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I just returned from Degray State Park Lodge. It was very peaceful and quiet this time of year and priced very reasonable. Every staff member that we encountered was extremely pleasant and eager to make our experience a great one. This is a rare find! Rooms a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Beautiful stone fireplace with a fire going most of the time in the main area of the lodge. Breathtaking view of the lake from the dining tables in the restaurant. (although the water level of the lake was pretty low this weekend it was still very beautifil) We were looking forward to enjoying the large hot tub but it was being maintenanced so it was closed during our visit. A little disappointed but nice to see that they were on top of maintaining there facilities. If you want a quiet, restful place to get away I HIGHLY recommend going in January. Oh and you owe it to yourself to go on the interpreter's service tour of the lake......we saw an eagle circle his afternoon snack from high, then swoop down claws first to snatch up his fish from the lake then fly off to a nearby snag to enjoy it. They provide good quality binoculars for the tour, its very reasonably priced and it lasts an hour or so. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I started our 3 night tour of Arkansas state parks with Degray Lake. Within easy driving distance of Dallas Texas, this place was a great start to our relaxing weekend.

We pulled up to the lodge and got our bearings. It was actually a little underwhelming at first as most the lodge was constructed to face the lakefront. We settled in our room and then hiked the Island trail before dinner. It's a pretty quick 1 mile hike, but you get to see a few nice views of the lake and beach.

Lunch and dinner in the dinning room were very good. Expect good comfort food style here. Chicken friend steak, hamburgers, pulled pork sandwitches were our first day's fare and it was pretty darn good! The wait staff were very friendly and helpful on what recommendations for both food and fun. They offered a dinner and breakfast buffet, but I don't think it's every available single night. All food was fresh and well prepared.

There are a lot of great events at degray. We went on the Sunset cruise and had a blast. Got to see 2 bald eagles along the way, and enjoy the stories and entertainment of the park interpreter/ranger. Seeing the sunset on the lake was our main attraction, but the entire event was fun for the whole family.

There were plenty of rooms and they were nicely maintained, if a tad bit small in the bathroom and sitting area. Nothing detrimental, especially since you really shouldn't be spending your waking hours indoors anyway! We did have a noisy A/C unit that seemed to cycle on and off all through the night. If we stayed another night it would have been something have checked out.

Overall, highly recommended staying here. I didn't come expecting the ultimate in luxury or cuisine at a state park, but we certainly were not disappointed!

After spending one night here, I would gladly go back again for another. There are probably enough of activites here to keep a couple or family busy for 2 solid days. If you enjoy golfing or lake boating then you will probably not have enough time to see it all. Good values all around!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhostMnemonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great place for a group, reunion, party, or other. We stayed here and traveled to Hot Springs, distance was about 30-45 minutes but worth it, drive was good. Hotel was very nice; rooms were a bit out of date but very clean and roomy. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the excellent, large hot tub. The pool was a bit to cold for me but the weather was a bit cold. There is a restaurant at the resort and even though the food was not what I would say as excellent, it was good, and the prices were very acceptable, especially for a Resort. The property is fantastic and an excellent place for camping, horseback riding, biking, or hiking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyw988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Fantastic RV camping! The facilities are clean and convenient. RV sites are well thought out and right on the lake. We had a great stay and will be back. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexRGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bismarck
13.1 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
887 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
#1 of 11 in Arkadelphia
443 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Arkadelphia - Caddo Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
105 reviews
19.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Arkadelphia
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge

Property: DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Address: 2027 State Park Maintenance Rd, Bismarck, AR 71929-7308
Location: United States > Arkansas > Bismarck
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 94 guest rooms is equipped with a flat panel television with satellite programming, complimentary Wi-Fi and hard-wire internet access, a mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron with ironing board. Additional amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (available seasonally), playground, sand volleyball court, bicycle rentals, horseshoe pit, gift shop, lighted walking path, and day-use courtesy dock. Explore the Island Trail which follows the western shoreline of the island. To further enhance your stay, the lodge includes a grand lobby with stone fireplace, indoor hot tub, business center,fitness center, conference center, the Shoreline Restaurant, and Blue Heron Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Degray Lake Hotel Bismarck
Degray Lake Resort
Degray Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing