We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the "sometimes" smoking rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Suites Bentonville
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bentonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beware of the "sometimes" smoking rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A room is either smoking or non-smoking. It cannot be both.

I arrived late in the evening and noticed a stench in the room, but let it slide. The next night upon arriving back to the room, I noticed the same stench. And when I sat on the sofa, I saw a cigarette burn!

I called the front desk and they confirmed that this room was "sometimes" used as a smoking room. Sometimes? Apparently they crack a door and run a fan and call it good. They said they had no rooms to move me around.

Staff said they would note this on my account. Umm... it is on the profile from when the room was booked.

What if I was asthmatic? What if I had brought my kids? For $170/night I would like to have a room that doesn't smell like a late night at a bar.

The hotel was otherwise nice enough, no other complaints. Breakfast was fine. Dinner in the lounge was pretty good, if overpriced. Just be aware that if they send you down the hallway past the check-in, you are headed to "Sometimes" smoking rooms.

I likely won't have a choice where to stay on the next visit to town, but I guarantee you if I am stuck in a "sometimes smoking" room, I will demand a refund and find the next hotel on the street.

/end rant.

Room Tip: Make sure you specifically request, then confirm that you are getting a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilbret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I would like to apologize for the confusion with your reservation for a non-smoking room. We do at this time have six rooms in the hotel that are smoking rooms. In the event of a sell out we sometimes have to place non-smoking guests in smoking rooms. We do try to deodorize and ionize these rooms to the best of our ability prior to arrival. I would also like for you to know that as of 2013 the DoubleTree Suites Bentonville will become a 100% non-smoking hotel. We will of course have the six rooms that are currently smoking rooms deep cleaned and sanatized to include all bedding, fruniture, draperies, carpets, and bathrooms. We hope that should your travels bring you back to the area that you will once again choose our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    119
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
189
147
11
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I am a Platinum member with Marriott and I have a lot of options under the Marriott umbrella in the Bentonville area, but I choose to stay at this Hilton property instead.
The facility is still fairly new and has been kept up nicely. It is a great location near everything, but not in the middle of the more congested areas. It is easily accessible from the airport, local corporate offices of Wal-Mart and Sam's Club, and there is a Starbucks about a block away.
The concierge level is nice and the evening and morning offerings are a good option for a quick snack or basic breakfast but doesn't have a large assortment of fresh fruit which would be a nice addition. The breakfast served at the restaurant is good and convenient meeting spot if traveling with coworkers.
The exercise facility is not large, but adequate and the machines are in good shape. I like that there are two separate rooms - one for cardio equipment and one for weights. They are near the pool, but do not suffer from the same temperature control issues that many exercise facilities adjacent to pools experience.
The suites are very nice and spacious with decor that is not outdated. The seating area is completely separate from the sleeping room. In the seating area, you have a desk for work space, couch, chair and coffee table. There is also a mini fridge which makes it nice to be able to put some water or snacks.
The bed is comfortable but the separate rooms do make that space feel a bit tight, not bad if you are traveling alone. The bathroom is nice and spacious however and amenities are good.
I've had boxes shipped in prior to my arrival and they are always waiting for me when I arrive and it is little hassle to claim them.

Most notably at this location is the staff. I'm always welcomed warmly and any questions/concerns are quickly addressed. All of the other details are important, but this last note is what keeps me coming back to this specific Doubletree.

Room Tip: Hallways are long, so you may want to request near an elevator if you have a lot to carry or do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are dong. We appreciate your continued business. As a brief follow up I wanted to let you know the our cardio equipment will be updated by the end of this year which will help to maintain our fitness center and keep it up to date. I will also address our fresh fruit offerings in our executive lounge in hopes to add additional variety. We truly appreciate you feedback and hope that you will continue to allow us to fulfill your lodging needs here at DoubleTree Suites in Bentonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

If you're staying in Bentonville you won't find a better hotel than the Doubletree. Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms and convenient location. What more could you ask for? Breakfast was delicious as well..

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for taking the time to respond and share your experience here at the DoubleTree. I hope that should you travel to the Bentonville area in the future you will choose our hotel for your stay! We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here many times for work. Came to the area for a wedding and stayed at different hotel due to group rate. Checked out of that hotel due to severe cleanliness issues and came back to the place I can always trust to be clean, quiet, and comfortable - Doubletree!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormygirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. It is good to hear that we are providing you with the accomodations and hospitality that gives you reason to return. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed one night in a King suite. Very clean, beautiful and well maintained property. Very friendly and helpful employees. Convenient to airport and Crystal bridges museum. Breakfast buffet excellent. This was our second visit and we plan to return. We have also stayed at the Embassy Suites down the road which is nice as well, but we will likely return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know how we are doing at the DoubleTree Bentonville. We truly appreciate your continued support and business when you travel to the Bentonville area. We hope that we can be of service to you again should your travels bring you back to Northwest Arkansas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in this Doubletree Hotel because he had a business meeting in the hotel. We had a suite with a large bathroom. The only complaint was that to have 2 rooms both were very small. The living room had a couch and flat screened TV. It also had a desk and chair. We had a refrigerator and micro wave. It would be good for a long business trip. Everything was very clean and the hotel appeared to be new. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslieh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello,
I wanted to personally thank you for your comments. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you should travel to the Bentonville area again we hope that the DoubleTree Suites will be your hotel of choice.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very clean and well appointed. Always great service from all departments. Restaurant has a very good breakfast. My company has individuals that have specific dietary needs that require them to bring thier own food. The hotel is very accomodating and heats it for them. The list is long of things we have requested and they have happily obliged.

Room Tip: Street noise not much of a problem. Always good to stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkybob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Doubletree Suites Bentonville, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We truly appreciate your comments and your continued business. We hope that you will continue to choose the DoubleTree Bentonville for your future hotel needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentonville hotels
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Bentonville
21c Museum Hotel Bentonville
#1 of 22 in Bentonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castlerock Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bentonville
Hilton Garden Inn Bentonville
#4 of 22 in Bentonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal Bridges -- Bentonville
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bentonville
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bentonville
Comfort Suites Bentonville
#6 of 22 in Bentonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Suites Bentonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Suites Bentonville

Property: Doubletree Suites Bentonville
Address: 301 SE Walton Boulevard, Bentonville, AR 72712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Bentonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bentonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Suites Bentonville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Bentonville is Arkansas' premier facility in Bentonville. Our hotel offers convenient and easy access to I-540.Our facility offers easy access to Walmart Headquarters, just 2 miles away! Other corporate offices nearby include Tyson Chicken and J.B. Hunt! If you are here for leisure, attractions such as the Crystal Bridges Museum, Pea Ridge National Military Park, Beaver Lake, and Walton's 5&10 are nearby!Our hotel offers two-room suites with separate bedroom and living areas, downtime in our indoor pool and whirlpool, dining and beverage options at Bistro 301 and 3ZERO1 Lounge, and a warm signature DoubleTree cookie anytime your heart desires. Come stay with us at the DoubleTree Bentonville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Suites Bentonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing