We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE outstanding downtown Bentonville hotel location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Bentonville
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bentonville
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE outstanding downtown Bentonville hotel location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

An excellent upscale hotel in downtown Bentonville, The location is PERFECT for visiting this community. Two outstanding lunchtime food wagons are situated just outside the entrance. The enjoyable wooded trail to Crystal Bridges Museum is nearby, as is the downtown square area which continues to attract fine development. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Courteous staff abound. Valet parking is available, but you can park on the street or on one level of the garage on your own at no cost. Enjoy the quirky art and "friendly" green penguins.

One negative in my opinion is the restaurant. The menu is limited for dinner and rather pricey. The breakfast offerings are few and grossly overpriced, although the quality of the food is fine.
They seem to have a satisfactory kitchen, so the slim pickings are a bit of a mystery. There is a diner on the nearby square that serves breakfast, but we didn't happen to try it. The Pressroom restaurant is not far away, but also offers a very limited and rather expensive alternative. I really think the hotel should examine its breakfast fare and offer a better experience. That would have made it truly a five-star experience.

Room Tip: Second floor room was spacious, but view non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-ace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear travel-ace1,
A "PERFECT location, quirky art, courteous staff, and well-appointed rooms" are all part of the 21c experience at our unique boutique hotel in the heart of Downtown Bentonville! Our team is very proud to be a part of this growing art and culinary community, and we truly thank you for your terrific compliments to our operation. We are always striving to improve, and we appreciate your sharing your thoughts on ways we can enhance our offerings. Once again, on behalf of our Bentonville team and "friendly" green penguins, thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    92
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
282
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I am a hotel snob. What a surprise to find such a clever hotel in Arkansas. The hotel has a sense of humor and fun. There is an energy about the hotel. The room well thought out. Amazingly comfortable. Well lighted especially the night light. Clean. My only complaint I could hear hallway sounds while trying to sleep. I do not think it was The Penguins!

I very much enjoyed being able to walk to the spectacular Crystal Bridges Art Museum Bentonville is really nice. It is worth a trip to visit this hotel.

The Hive was also enjoyable and nice to be able to escape the chain restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4seasons50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear 4seasons50,
"The hotel has a sense of humor and fun" is exactly the atmosphere we want to provide at 21c, and from your post it sounds like you found just that! We greatly appreciate your 5 star review, and agree that our downtown location and unique proximity to Crystal Bridges make us the perfect place to discover all of our city's attractions. From our entire team and roving green penguins, we thank you again for your generous comments and for choosing to stay with us. We all hope you will honor us with another visit anytime you may be in the Bentonville area.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We found this hotel to be the perfect place to stay for a visit to the Crystal Bridges Museum. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and provided the utmost in service. The room was large, comfortable and just fun to be in. The hotel is an art museum on it's own. Really an attractive and fun place to spend some time.

The location is great and provides the opportunity to stroll the short distance through the woods and gardens to Crystal Bridges. This approach far exceeds driving into the parking lot at the main entrance. The small town is charming with a bustling farmer's market in progress as we arrived on a Saturday. And then there are the food trucks across the street....not to be missed!

We booked a Dine with Art package which I would recommend. The Hive was wonderful and the package is a good value. We had a dinner, breakfast, and also ate off the bar menu. We enjoyed it all.

The only minor complaint we had was, oddly enough, the water pressure. The shower pressure was so high that it was rather uncomfortable to shower. Unfortunate, as the shower was great! Guess it saves water as you aren't inclined to spend too much time. At the other end, I would like to compliment the management on empowering the staff to solve problems. After we left, I realized there was a discrepancy in the rate we were charged. I made a phone call, and the first person I talked to resolved it immediately. The staff is largely young, but certainly professional and well trained in hospitality service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear PSapphire,
"We were made to feel welcome and provided the utmost in service" is the highest praise our 21c team can receive, and makes us exceedingly proud of what we do each day! Your compliments about our comfortable rooms, amazing art, and perfect location within walking distance to Crystal Bridges are truly appreciated. We agree that our Dine With Art package is a great way to sample The Hive's culinary creativity that showcases the local products of our area, and we are glad you were able to visit the Farmer's Market where these wonderful items are featured. Thank you so much for sharing such a gracious review, and please let us welcome you again should you return to Northwest Arkansas.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
421 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

There's a reason this place is voted the #1 hottest hotel in the US, and it has to do with the green penguins migrating throughout the place.

I don't think a person working there is older than 30, and everyone is knowledgeable and professional, friendly and interested. I mentioned when I reserved the room that I was arriving early morning and asked if I could check in early during the day if the room was ready. However, when I showed up very early in the morning I never expected the room the be ready. "we have you down as an early arrival, and your room has been ready," I was told. Wow. I hadn't even made a big thing about the early arrival, just mentioned it offhandedly. That's service.

Check-in and check-out are great. The restaurant serves tasty food, reasonably priced (portions tend to be big, and be prepared for the emerald-hued cotton candy at the end!). Everyone in the place is friendly and attentive, without exception. The place is clean and modern with a trendy touch to the design (minimalist décor but pillows with donkeys and roosters on them, probably to go with the ccpy of Modern Farmer in the room). All the amenities expected are there - Wi-Fi, flat screen t.v., coffee maker, mini bar, upscale toiletries, comfy bed, rubber duck in the shower, hair dryer better than the one I own...

The big difference is when you open the door, one of the penguin army might be there. They're in the restaurant, on the roof, in the elevators...it's fun.

The museum part is not a code for "a few paintings in the lobby". There are galleries, and what is in the lobby and on each floor, and as much of the art is comprised of movies or other installments it takes time to view it. It is worth it to check it out, as some of it is quite interesting, even if not what you'd want in your living room.

It is worth it to stay here for clean, comfortable lodging, but when you can also have good food, intellectual stimulation and a central location a literal stone's throw from the historic square, it clinches it. And let's not forget about the penguins.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms which cost less are not much smaller than the "luxury" rooms, but eviden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear sullific,
Our green penguins are indeed important 21c team members who are here to welcome, entertain, and embody our fun sense of modern hospitality. They and the rest of us cannot thank you enough for your very detailed and thoughtful review of so many aspects of our property. We greatly appreciate your sharing your personal experiences with our team that reconfirm our commitment to providing exceptional service to each of our guests, and your ultimate compliment that "everyone is knowledgeable, professional, friendly and interested". Giving you such an enjoyable and memorable stay thrills us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Bentonville, not high on everyone's radar, has clearly worked to make itself a delightful destination. Crystal Bridges is bringing them in and this hotel gave us a wonderful place to stay. Comfortable and quiet rooms and the art exhibited made our whole visit one to remember and recommend. We got the Pedal package and biked around every day. The restaurant and bar are must do's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Mark C,
Reading that 21c "made our whole visit one to remember and recommend" makes our team smile from ear or ear! Thank you so much for taking the time to add your thoughts about our great rooms, culinary creativity, and world class contemporary art collection. We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our Pedal Power Package to enjoy all of the amazing bike friendly amenities our area has to offer. Please visit us again in the fall when our new art exhibit and the changing leaves will provide a different indoor and outdoor experience.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I spent a weekend at 21c to attend a wedding in a nearby venue. We loved our stay! The reception/concierge employees were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed tasty drinks in The Hive. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Lastly, checkin and checkout were quick. We enjoyed viewing the artwork throughout the hotel and enjoyed the penguins moving about as the weekend progressed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sylviaroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear sylviahoke,
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us during your special wedding weekend, and we thank you for choosing our hotel. Your gracious comments about our comfortable rooms, friendly team, museum quality art, and roving green penguins help to sum up what 21c is all about. We are proud to know that you "loved our stay" and " would recommend this hotel to anyone", and we greatly appreciate such nice sentiments. Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to our area.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

If a four feet high green penguin in the elevator is not your thing, stay clear of 21c Museum Hotel in Bentonville. The art throughout the hotel is intriguing, unusual, appealing, pretentious - pick your adjective, but one thing it is not is boring. And the rest of the hotel lives up the sensory alertness that you suddenly find yourself in on arrival. The rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped with enough quirky touches to remind the jaded business traveler that your are NOT in a cookie cutter chain. The small touches abound - a doggie patterned cushion, a plug-in old style phone handset for your iPhone etc.
The Hive restaurant and bar on the ground floor could be in New York or Paris and, oddly enough, you are steps away from the Pleasantville doppelganger layout perfection of Bentonville's town square - home of Sam Walton's original and restored 5 and Dime store that went on to become the world's largest retailer.
If you find yourself on a compulsory business trip or, better, on a visit to the incredible Crystal Bridges Museum around the corner, do yourself a big favor and book into the never to be forgotten 21c Museum Hotel.
Bravo to them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel G, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear jcwaller,
"Vive le difference" and "never to be forgotten" are super ways to embody the experience and sense of whimsy that are found at 21c! Our goal is to combine amazing art, outstanding service, excellent location, with modern, well-designed rooms, and at the same time have some fun along the way. It is a great pleasure to know that you truly appreciated our unique concept and had such a great time during your visit. Our entire team, along with our flock of roving green penguins, heartily thank you for your recommendation to "do yourself a big favor and book", and we all hope that you too will return for another visit.
Emmanuel Gardinier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentonville hotels
2.6 mi away
Doubletree Suites Bentonville
Doubletree Suites Bentonville
#2 of 22 in Bentonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal Bridges -- Bentonville
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castlerock Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bentonville
Hilton Garden Inn Bentonville
#4 of 22 in Bentonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bentonville
1.2 mi away
South Walton Suites Hotel
South Walton Suites Hotel
#15 of 22 in Bentonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville
Address: 200 NE a St, Bentonville, AR 72712-5360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Bentonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bentonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northeast corner of the Bentonville town square and a short walk to Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville is a 104-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, cultural civic center, and home to The Hive restaurant. Stay with us and the iconic Green Penguins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Bentonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing